Food vs Culture

I remember back in the days in Karachi, we had different food items tied to different cultures. If you are going out to eat something specific, then the most desired place would be to go to this restaurant with specific ethnic ties.

Like for tea, your choices were Irani Café, Malbari hotel or Pathan ka hotel. If you want to buy mithai, you either go to a Bengali sweet shop or Sindhi shop. For Nihari, it has to be Delhi based restaurant.

I wonder if its something specific to a metro like Karachi or its common every where.

Re: Food vs Culture

why people prefer going to Phajje da dhaba for having payaas in Lahore?

I think Pathan's chai is popular all over Pakistan.

Muqa, do you remember Malbari hotels? I dont think they are still there. They used to have lingo like double meetha (double sugar of course) and KhaRa Chamcha (tea with so much malaa'i that spoon keeps standing).

I like to believe that phajjay de paye are famous more for the taste than for the location.

Irani chai in hyderabad,udupi restaurant all over india for south indian dishes like dosa,idli(udupi is city of karnataka)

I never got a chance to visit Malabari hotels. I think they are in old areas like RanchoR line.

Someone told me that on Highways, truck drivers demand tea according to kilo meters / mileage of their journey. The tea gets stronger with the increase in mileage.

dhaka sweets :blush:
javed nihari (dilli) :wub:
patahn ki chai :smiley:

I heard that in Mumbai, Karachi style biryani is quite famous. Is that true?

Lol, that makes sense

WTz karachi style...?

i had seen kalyani biryani is famous in mumbai..i.e. beef biryani

The one that has rice and gosht, both.

Thats available in every city of india..i think....

Busreeeeeeeeeee

there is no need to use vulgar language

:hehe: in sindhi, meetha paratha is called busre

Sta bhai Ki post read Karen :emmy:

Busrii is Sindhi famous traditional paratha :snooty:

Its Busri (Be ke ooper Pesh), not....... :p

In India there are many versions of Biryani - Hyderyabadi, South Indian/Sri Lankan(hottest), Delhi, Awadhi etc

Busri Ki koi aur meaning bhi hai kiya? :bummer:

no. But a variation of that makes it something vulgar in Urdu

same here. We have karachi style and then sindhi and then memoni biryani

Don't forget Shan ki biryani.