Food to freeze

My baby’s due in less than 6 weeks inshallah, and I want to fill the freezer with food so that its one less thing to worry about with a newborn.

My hubby doesn’t always want to eat desi khanna, so what would you recommend? I would like a mixture of cuisines.

So far I have:

A bucket load of bolognese (for use either with Spaghetti or to make lasagne with)
Chilli con carne
Chicken strips pre-marinaded with fajita spice
Tandoori chicken ready to go in the oven
Seekh kebabs
Aloo tikkis

I was also going to freeze the following:

Shepherds pie
Moussaaka

What else freezes well, what other desi khanna can I add to the list? I’d like to mainly freeze food cooked that’s fully cooked and can be reheated, as it’ll be quicker and easier to handle.

Re: Food to freeze

If problem is all due to hubby’s food, tu instead of food, hubby ko freeze ker doo. Wo ziada aasan hai

OK..OK…On serious note: Freeze multiple packs of bhuna howa gosht (1 pack for each time), Kachey qeemey k kabab, marinated chicken etc

1. Lasagne

2. Homemade pizzas (although given the effort for those, might as well get take-out or frozen pizzas)

3. Bolognese sauce - heat and add to boiled pasta

4. Haleem

she already said that- didn't you read her post?

chicken karahi freezes pretty well

dal

also- you can make the meat masala part of biryani and freeze- just mix the rice in on the day you want to eat it

^ she said her husband don't like always desi khana.

i know how to read, do you?

^Oh wow lets calm down no need to be rude

Lolll :rotfl:…I think syhrysh know how to read too:D

i wasn't trying to be rude- more like funny- it's hard to sense a tone on a chat so my bad

just showing that i was "corrected" for no reason

let's allow others to reply to the OPs question now

Oh okay, my apologies then :flower1:

It just came off that way but yes I know it is very hard to tell a person’s tone online

Thanks for the suggestions. To clarify Im not against desi khanna nor is my husband. But i figured our parents will send food occasionally so if i cooked something different it would make a nice change.

Lol.

OP- you have a good list already of foods that can be frozen and made easily and quickly. The only addition Id make is a deep fry menu? Unless you're wanting to stay away from umhealthy food. In which case precooked chicken breasts in a light marinade which can be grilled quickly.

Deli meat always helps out for quick lunches and such.

Chicken salad - although I've never frozen the stuff

Burgers and hot dogs

i made chicken breasts...cooked them fully then wrapped them up in aluminium foil in a zlip bag. I just take them out on a lazy day, microwave them and they taste fresh like i just made them. did the same thing with chapli kababs...you can do ti with any kind of kababs u want. other khana i made was desi so you might not be interested. but i made lots of palao yakhni and froze it. anytime i feel like eating palao i just take out the yakhni, put the rice in and dum it. anytime i am hungry and dont have time or husband dearest is in instant need of food, already cooked chicken breasts and kababs were the most handy ones i'd say. good luck