Food prices up by 42% in one year

Re: Food prices up by 42% in one year

but the GDP is superb! we have more Cellular users now than ever! :@:

cell phone users going boom boom like boom boom afridi but price of food also going boom boom afridi!!

musharraf is a military dictator. the only way to remove him is to either (i) assassinate him or (ii) bring people out in the streets. if inflation was 40% as claimed in the article, i would bet it would very, very easy to overthrow musharraf which is exactly what jamatis, imran khan and lawyers have been trying to do without any success for a very long time. also yes, people did not come out on the streets against bb or ns. but importantly, no one paid any attention when democratic govts were overthrown either. so why did the awam not come out on the streets when democratically elected govts were dismissed by the army?

as for food crises, following links from dawn from 1990’s talks about couple of such instances:

http://www.lib.virginia.edu/area-studies/SouthAsia/SAserials/Dawn/1997/19Jul97.html

"…The wheat crisis suffered by the country during the year was also reflected
in the trade figures as the import of unmilled wheat increased from $444
million to $477 million. Interestingly, the import of dry fruits also
increased from $33.5 million to $35.48 million

http://www.lib.virginia.edu/area-studies/SouthAsia/SAserials/Dawn/1995/18My95B.html

“…The increase in the Sensitive Price Index covers items of daily use and
reflects more fully the impact of inflation on the common man. In the
past 12 months, the price of atta has increased by 40% rice by 60%,
vegetable ghee by 40% and sugar by 22%. Price of pulses have increased
by 15-20% and those of chillies, pototoes and onions, by 50 to 70%.
Prices of beef and mutton have also gone up by 40-45%. People with fixed
incomes, like civil servants and pensioners, have been hit even more
severely by this price hike…”

care to explain what was causing such crises in 1990’s when commodity prices were not rising as has been the case over the last couple of years?

Most of the people who support the dictator are themselves immune to the inflation problem as most of them are probably very well off... They are the biggest and only beneficiaries of this "economic boom."

The problem of inflation really effects the poor and lower middle class.

I have some relatives and friends who are really struggling these days...
In Pindi, a Nan apparently costs almost 6 Rs, and Atta from what I hear is also out of control...
These rich snobs who support this dictator should go live with the poor for a day to see how much this inflation really effects them.

Oh bhai… Let the people VOTE! Let Musharaf go to the people for support…

And regardless of how much inflation really is, the fact remains, and ground reality is that prices are out of control and MANY poor people are really struggling to feed themselves nd their families.

Try actually going to see for yourself!
Your talking stats and numbers, but 15 percent or 40 percent is irrelevant to someone who hardly makes enough to support his family even without taking inflation into account! :rolleyes:

LOL. PPP supporters talking about voting. :hehe:

lol so now pakpatriots been termed a PPP supporter? :hehe: wasnt he termed a NS supporter uptil a few days ago?

Maybe he is flip-flopping like NS. :hehe:

Tell me where the money comes from to put Altafs face in London -> your pocket

Actually we were talking about mehngai which you think is controlled by Altaf. :smiley:

BB’s party was ruling Pakistan for a total of almost 4 years, enough to horde money to last a lifetime. And the landlord business you are so proud of is built on the backs of indentured servants. Altaf is a pharmacist by education, and he doesn’t live in palaces or mansions like your favorite “democratic” leaders.

Tell me where the money comes to sustain Punjab and it's economy - the pockets of sindhis, mohajirs, balochs, and pashtuns.

Will the food prices go down if Zardari comes in power? :hmmm:

Just curious.

There won’t be any food available when he comes to power.

blah, blah blah
All I here is an ethnic terrorist supporter crying. Is your idol Mushy a Punjabi? I dont think so. You MQM wallas cant cry about Punjab any more because your party is bent over and taking it hard from the "evil Punjabi establishment" you were crying about for so long. Only reason you are doing it now is because one of your own is in charge. :) I love the hyopcrasy of it now. Before all Punjabis were bad, the center and army were bad. Now that Mush has cut a deal with your Quaid you all love the army and him. If a Punjabi were in charge and not Mush the MQM and people like you would be crying at the top of your luings and we all know the truth.
So criticize the army and center now (AND MUSH AS WELL) if you are'nt a hypocite because ordinary Punjabis are doing it at the top of their lungs right now and dont talk about Punjab because today the MQM and its black quaid are the only group in the country that support the tyrants. The MQM is Mushys only vote bank and only real support.

LOL, yaar tum bhi na bas! :D

So what you are saying is that since democratic goverments have been such a failure economically thats why nobody came out to protest? Pray tell how many people came out for Zia, Yahya or Ayub? To my knowledge not even a 10 people and thats despite Ayub Khans double digit economic growth and Zias 6% growth rate.

As far as Musharraf being a democratic dictator is concerned ..quite a few posters here seem to be convinced he is a civilian democratic leader :snooty:

As far as the correlation between economic success and the lack of protests in a military dictatorship are concerned ..the thought never occurred to me ..and here I was wondering why the protests fizzled out in Burma. It was the economic success and not the use of the military! :halo:

food increases..NOT shortages..to my knowledge shrotages are something unique to military rulers like Musharraf and Ayub.

Chalo phir shroo kar di larai.

Koi haal nahi. :smack:

**BTW. my parents migrated from India to Pakistan, and sacrificed a lot! I mean really a lot. I live in Punjab, do I qualify as a mohajir?

LOL... Get over yourself...

Zak, there is a reason why people dont protest under dictators that these people dont realize…

It almost like saying Stalin was massivly popular just because the Russians didnt protest…

lol... No Altaf hides in England, from where he issues his decrees.

And I think you forgot to add Altaf BHAI in his title.. He might have you erased for such a mistake...:D