^ not always... it can be quite unhealthy
Which one is healthy then.
^ not always... it can be quite unhealthy
I don't remember the first thing I made for hubby after marriage. But I do remember cooking really delicious, rich foods for him that first year. All his favorites. Alas, still couldn't compete with MIL. But it's all good. Now she cooks all the rich food and I cook the healthy food.
Syani on competing with MIL i remember this joke my mom used to tell that a newly wed wife cooked for the first time n when the husband ate he said"its good but ahh jo baat ammi k haath ki thee"the wife got laal peeli.Next time she would try harder n harder.She tried each n every possible recipe,spent tons of hrs in kitchen but each time ended with same compliment"per jo baat Allah rekhay ammi k haath ki thee"finally she gav upthinking she could never compete her MIL n never win her husband's heart.One day she was quite sick.She made some rotis but they got burnt.She didn't care much n served them as is and kept waiting for some negative remarks.that day the husband had those burnt rotis,took a loud burp n with a deep smile on his fce said"Waah aaj tu bus ammi ki yaad aa gayee"
Re: FOOD for the loved one
^ Such a cute story!
You LUCKY girl!! Please tell me you make him cook classic french fare for you. Your mention of mille-feuille reminds me of a lovely french bakery here in NYC that does a WONDERFUL mille-feuille. So delicious! But I could not imagine ever trying to make it.......... SO MANY thin layers! Are you guys in france?
Yep, he cooks many a gastronomic delight... i'm surprised i'm not the size of a hippo yet :)
Mille-feuille is very hard to make. To tell you a secret, the second time i told him i 'made it myself', it was actually shop bought!!:CareBear:
We're in London at the moment, but we spend a lot of time in France too, as we have family/properties over there as well..... but i'm a true Londoner at heart :)
I don't think there is any healthy cusine in the world BUT if you look at some of the the european cusines (French, Itailan to name a few) they live much longer healthier lives than us desis. And rarely do you find an obese French person....
PS: Sara what is the recipe for your butter chicken? We went to a restaurant a couple of weeks ago and had this, and the hubby had such a sullen look on his face like 'kaash tum bhi ye kaana banaa sakthi meray liye..:()
Im getting married soon and cannot cook poor hubby
I don't think there is any healthy cusine in the world BUT if you look at some of the the european cusines (French, Itailan to name a few) they live much longer healthier lives than us desis. And rarely do you find an obese French person....
PS: Sara what is the recipe for your butter chicken? We went to a restaurant a couple of weeks ago and had this, and the hubby had such a sullen look on his face like 'kaash tum bhi ye kaana banaa sakthi meray liye..:()
Thanks for info sis.
LOL for you husbands khuwahish.
Im going to make mac n cheese as my first dish. It is symbolic and that way if I make something halfway decent later on, he'll be totally WOW'd.
Syani on competing with MIL i remember this joke my mom used to tell that a newly wed wife cooked for the first time n when the husband ate he said"its good but ahh jo baat ammi k haath ki thee"the wife got laal peeli.Next time she would try harder n harder.She tried each n every possible recipe,spent tons of hrs in kitchen but each time ended with same compliment"per jo baat Allah rekhay ammi k haath ki thee"finally she gav upthinking she could never compete her MIL n never win her husband's heart.One day she was quite sick.She made some rotis but they got burnt.She didn't care much n served them as is and kept waiting for some negative remarks.that day the husband had those burnt rotis,took a loud burp n with a deep smile on his fce said"Waah aaj tu bus ammi ki yaad aa gayee"
LOL. Mabrook, I've heard that same story, but with a man who had married a second time (after his first wife had passed away), and he was saying his second wife's cooking just wasn't the same as his first wife's. Alas, my MIL is in fact a FABULOUS cook. Her cooking and my ammi's cooking are just uncomparable. Inshallah I'll spend a summer in her kitchen learning from her.
i have been married for last counting on fingers wow 8 months ![]()
well in those 8 months i have never cooked ANYTHING so far… not even chaa for him… sukaar Allah ka he is not fan of chaa like rest of our nation…i dont like it too
so yeh i didnt cook anything so far… but alhumdolilah i know how to cook infact i enjoy cooking and trying new recipies…
so far i have learned all his fav dishes and tired it many times so when i do get a chance to cook for him… it turnz out gr8 and he actually enjoy it
let see how long i’ll have to wait for that
Im getting married soon and cannot cook poor hubby
Awww hum its ok that's how I felt but maybe you can learn some of his favorite dishes and try them out before marriage?
my hubby's a food lover and a party lover so us ne gher pe parties ker ker k mujhay kisi had tak train ker he dia hai.i've improved a lot though still not expert but manage pretty well.