Food Combinations

Today I’ve cooked the following:

koftay, khatti masoor ki daal with rye and kari patay ka bhaghaar, saaday chawal, timatar-pyaz-hari mirch-haray dhaniyay ka kachoomar aur murgh roast.

For dessert we’ll have fresh-baked chocolate chip cookies.

Unlikely combination hunh?

I was once served pula’o with zarda mixed into it. Not being accustomed to having my meetha and namkeen all jumbled together, I had a tough time cleaning my plate. Apparently this combination is one that is quite popular amongst certain groups.

What are some of the other combinations that you have seen in our desi foods?

Muzna, try zarda with masoor ki daal...it rocks....hehehhe I know someone who does that...:)

Muzna you told us all the stuff that you cooked..now umm how much of that is edible? :P

If u ever happen to visit an army mess in Pakistan, i guarantee u you will come across some of the weirdest combinations u have ever seen. In order to conserve food and avoid throwing away left over stuff, they will go to lengths u wouldnt believe

http://www3.pak.org/gupshup/smile.gif

But i must admit, they are master cooks, and are good at making anything taste good. Thats where i had my first andey aloo, and bhindi chawal.

Muzna Gee,
you sure have fantasy!
what are you planning for tomorrow. If it's good may be a few of us can come over.

Muzna, this amounts to torture. Stop it.

But hey.. I am off tomorrow to Pakistan..

Muzna:

Was that khatti daal.. is your husband Hydrabadi by any chance? If he is, you must be familiar with baghare baigan, hydrabadi biryani, khubani ka meetha.

*Muzna, this amounts to torture. Stop it.

Hey Antidote,
How d'ya guess? I am half Hyderabadi......my favourite dish is bagaarey mirchi ka salaa!
But am quite partial to Qubaani ka meetha...no Bismillah is complete without it! I remember helping my mum to make that meetha when I was little for my kid brother's bismillah....i had to squash the apricots to get the stones out....it squeezed through all my little fingers...and when I was done I proudly presented the neatly collected stones to my mum...having discarded all the pulp!!!

Anokha'Well-Fed'UK

He claims to have discarded the pulp…I suspect he ate it.

http://www3.pak.org/gupshup/wink.gif

Anokha/Muzna:

haawji..hum bhi adhe Hydrabadi hote hain..my husband is from Hydrabad daccan so I know all about the mirchi ka salan, shikumpur badaamm ki jaali..the whole nine yards. It was torture at first trying to learn to cook Hydrabadi..me a Pakistani-African-Punjabi who had grown up eating saag and bajre ki roti. The Hydrabadi cuisine was just too overwhelming for me, not to mention getting used to the daccani zabban - haawji nakoji ( I still am not used to that). But Hydrabadi food is good..kiun anokhaji..apan such bole na..

Take care.

Antidote

Hyderabadi food is so superb
I was once invited to this lunch and my host got this weirdiest of ideas that i was hyderabadi and the lunch was a total jam packed hyderabadian

i didnt have the heart to tell her that i am not one

as for food combinations .....while growing up my dad being a navy officer was always strict on our eating habits ...'sabzi khaya karo' ...he used to say and weekends were torture to us as he used to go and buy fresh fresh sabzi and bring it home and asked mum to cook up a sabzi storm
and then us poor three kids were made to sit infront of him with generous servings of teenday, karelay, thippar and ordered to lick our plates clean
its there that i picked up my food combination habits
i used to force down fruits with poodeenay ki chatni, all the sabzi used to go down with a good sprinkle of sugar and now my food combinations have grown worse with french toast with tomato sauce and donuts with bhoona howa keema

Well, food combinations, reminds me of the "good old days". When we all friends used to get together in the University and I used to cook for 20 people. GOOD OLD days, now I haven't cooked for ages and haven't eaten any decent food since 19 March when I returned from PK.

Well there is a good story I still remember, one evening I finished my lectures and went to Birmingham to see my aunty and I was driving to Bham and received a call on my mobile from Waqas... and he asked me ....

Oye haji (they used to call me Haji) kaithy higa ain?
I said I am going to Bham, and he said, haandi kaun paka-ay ga???
I replied, main koee teree khala naee, aaj apay pakao tay khao.
Poor guys ate Pizza (hut) that evening but then I taught cooking to Waqas and one other guy.

Now I have choices of PASTA, LSANGJE, PIZZA Borshka etc. etc. I think I should invite you guys to my apartment here and should have a dinner party.

Anyone interested???? (come one people, there are few people here from Holland).

[This message has been edited by Najim (edited July 23, 2000).]

my grandfather used to eat oranges with his main course...mixing fruits with gravy.......

my mother cooks bananas in gravy..as main course...and her aam ka salaan (mangoes in gravy) is really fantastic especially if eaten with aalloo kay parathay.......Another unconventional thing used in gravy are carrots...and yes mooli(Radish) ki bhujiya is also very delicious...

another of our family dish is Dahi Quliya i.e. qorma type thing with loads of yougurt so nuch so that u can see the yougurt floating in gravy....yummmyyy

and who wouldnt lick his fingers after eating Achar Gosht....which is now becoming quite popular thanks to shan masala...

Antidote…

What a co-incidence! I suspect we’ll probably be able to find some roots relating your other half to mine…hehehe.

Although I didn’t come from the Hyderabadi background…my mother, in her days in the kitchen, loved to cook different things and she had really enjoyed the khattaas of Hyderabadi dishes. So, I learned quite a few of them prior to even meeting AnokhaUK-ji. He loves to eat so I guess it was his good fortune.

http://www3.pak.org/gupshup/wink.gif

Nooooooooo Najim,
you mau not cook for us. It’s our right to take u out for dinner.
(yes, take u out cos some of us cant cook

http://www3.pak.org/gupshup/biggrin.gif

)

Well yaar, koee buraee bhee nahee, waisay bhee my wify is gonna move with me to Netherlands and then I would be tied up in many things so I thought why not. Well I am already fed up of eating out, yaar I haven't cooked anything (I mean desi food)at home for ages. Last I cooked was in Ramadhan.

well i took always a lot of dahi with a lot of shehed in it instead of sugar. and after one month i got headach.
i still not know how this combination went to my head?????
and once i saw a group of people who were in a hot gupshup with cups in their hands and drinking out of these. and it came dhuwaaN from these cups. as i came near to them i saw DAAL in these cups.
and if they are not dead, they must be still living .

This may be slightly off-topic but what kind of drink(non-alcoholic) combos have you ppl tried.

How bout these?

1)Milk with 7-up/any soda
2)Milk with Rooh Afza
3)Perrier with Cranberry Juice, Karela juice and the sourest lemons you can find (this one’s a monster, for fun only

http://www3.pak.org/gupshup/tongue.gif

)