Guys I need a direct flight to Manchester from Vienna during summer season. (may - july) Why are the searchs that I am getting so high on prices?
2 Adults and one baby under 2 years.
Re: Flight to Manchester
According to the website of Manchester Airport the only airline that operates a nonstop flight between Vienna and Manchester is British Airways and they are not really a cheap airline.
However Skyeurope offers a nonstop flight from Bratislava to Manchester which is certainly much cheaper. Since Bratislava is just a one hour-drive from Vienna you might want to consider that option.
I just tried searching for that flight on Skyeurope's website using the following dates:
Bratislava-Manchester: 09th May 2007
Manchester-Bratislava: 30th July 2007
It quoted me a total of 15,524.20 Slovak Koruna (approx. € 463.--) for 2 adults and 1 infant, which I think is quite reasonable.
Umer, yep thats a good price thanks, I was looking at something around 500 €.
Hubby will have to get a visa for Slowakia. But thats ok.
The Slovak Visa will cost you another 3 Euros.
Plus 2 trips to the Slovak Embassy, which is in the 19th district: One for the application and one for picking up the visa.
Btw, how much was British Airways quoting you?
Saadia aqal ko haath maro and kissi travel agency jayo, gupshup ko kya pia ka daftar samaj rakha hai
Internet kai zamaane mai travel agency kaun jaata hai? ![]()
Khamakhaan paise zaaya karne waali baat hai.
Umer bhai yes thats true, you know normally a PIA ticket (cph to lhr) is around 7000-8000kr in denmark, but i got it online from a norwegian website for only 1500 kr :D They had some limited slots on super discount. Muje to yakeen nahi a raha abhi bi.
Umer, I was checking expedia.de and they were giving me transit flights with Luftansa, no direct flights and that around 1000 € for 3.
I didnt know that Skyeurope flies to Manchester until u told me, so this is the cheapest fair so far. I dont think it can get any better.
SaadiaB, Your hubby will not need a visa to Slovakia (if he says that he is transitting at the border & show the airline ticket etc). You can ring the Slovak Embassy & confirm it.
Oh really thats great, will confirm with the Embassy though.
If you can fly to East Midlands (EMA) from Bratislava Vienna (BTS) - RyanAir is giving me 78 GBP or 114 EURO round trip for 2 Adults and 1 child for May 2 - July 4. The currently have a sale where some flights will cost you a pence, but the blackout date is July 1. After that regular prices (still cheap). Your flight into GB is costing you a pence each, but because your return is after July 1 - it’s a bit more. The sale is limited, so you’d have to pick your dates and book soon.
Being a discount airliner, they do charge for luggage. Its something like 12 pounds per piece. Even if you take 4 pieces each, you’d still be saving a nice sum.
You’d have to take a two hour drive from East Midlands to Manchester proper. Maybe rent a car with the money you save? Do you want to save more than 400 pounds or would you rather save 2 hours each way?
Bratislava - East Midlands - Bratislava (May 02,2007 - July 02, 2007)
London Stansted (STN) from Bratislava Vienna (BTS) - RyanAir is giving me 196 GBP . You’d have to take a four hour bus. That’s just insane though.
hskan, OMG these prices are unbelievable, I just got 50.40 EUR during mid may!!!
I will have to study the conditions in detail.
Thanks !!!!!!
I was about to say how its difficult to travel so long with a kid and how we wanted to save some money when traveling to pak but instead gave out more as out flight got canceled and we had to take a different route.
*We actually have to go to Bradford, I would have prefered a direct flight due to the kid and comfort but this deal is quite stricking. And its a extended weekend trip maybe (but not more than a week). Have u flown Ryanair? *
If your ultimate destination is Bradford, this RyanAir deal is even better that I had thought.
Manchester to Bradford = 1 Hour drive.
East Midlands to Bradford = 1.5 Hour drive.
I'm sure you'd compromise an extra 30 minutes to get to the airport.
About the airline itself, it's a no frills airline. Dont expect luxuries on board. It's a 1.5 hour flight. No tv.You have to book early before flights get full. No food on board. No luggage allowance (12GBP per piece). Cancellation charges are pretty high. You get what you pay for. A trip.
It just doesnt make sense to pay 500GBP for a flight that takes two hours when you can get it for less than 50GBP.
SaadiaB, Your hubby will not need a visa to Slovakia (if he says that he is transitting at the border & show the airline ticket etc). You can ring the Slovak Embassy & confirm it.
Unfortunately he will need one. Last year, the Slovak embassy in Vienna told me the following: There are a few countries whose nationals are not allowed to transit without a Slovak visa and Pakistan is one of them.
hskan, OMG these prices are unbelievable, I just got 50.40 EUR during mid may!!! I will have to study the conditions in detail. Thanks !!!!!! I was about to say how its difficult to travel so long with a kid and how we wanted to save some money when traveling to pak but instead gave out more as out flight got canceled and we had to take a different route.
*We actually have to go to Bradford, I would have prefered a direct flight due to the kid and comfort but this deal is quite stricking. And its a extended weekend trip maybe (but not more than a week). Have u flown Ryanair? *
That's unbelievably cheap! But then: Ryanair is famous for that. :D
My wife and I once flew from Linz to London Stansted on Ryanair for less than 50 Euros each.
hskhan, can u tell me if there is public transport. like bus or train from
east midlands to bradford.
Unfortunately he will need one. Last year, the Slovak embassy in Vienna told me the following: There are a few countries whose nationals are not allowed to transit without a Slovak visa and Pakistan is one of them.
I just called the embassy, he doesnt need a Visa !!! :) :)
(He just needs a valid pak passport and mutipal Austrian Visa to enter Slovak Repubik).
Any Pakistani who has a valid Multiple Entry Schengen (czech/slovak/polish/hungarian) visa can enter, Slovakia, Czech, Hungary & Poland for transit upto five days, as far as the entry & exit point is not same. I know this info since I am took my mum to Slovakia with Multiple entry Czech visa (so I confirmed it from Slovak Embassy) I just had to return driving through Poland because I couldn't bring her back from same border (czech/slovak). But in Saadia's Husband case he will be entring SK & leaving SK for UK & return so all fine. He wont be needing any transit visa for SK for sure.
hskhan, can u tell me if there is public transport. like bus or train from east midlands to bradford.
Yes, NationalExpress does have service. I wouldn't recommend it. There will be a few stops, taking about 3 hours for a 1.5 hour trip. It might not be very cheap either. I'm getting 40GBP per adult for a random day. That's ridiculous.
How about renting a small car? Alamo is charging 50GBP for a car. Pick up from East Midlands Airport. Drop off in Bradford the next day in any of their rental shops.