Fish

I am sick and tired of having tuna and salmon for the last seven years or so. I miss pomfret (desi: paaplait). Or the Palla machi.. especially the one you get at Kotri Barrage by darya-e-sind. Why isnt there any of those in n.america? :frowning:

Sincerely,
Captain Lota

Re: Fish

Have you tried sushi?

Yaar i'm missing eastern fish.. but not *that *far east!

Have tried sushi. First time was the last. Yes i consider myself pretty adaptable when it comes to acquiring foreign tastes but then theres some tastes that are just not acquirable. Sushi and processed meat (pepperoni, bologna, cold cuts etc) being a few of them.

Didnt mind Teriyaki though. That was before i gave up eating jhatka. Only if there were any halal japanese joints around.

Sincerely,
Captain Lota

Uff Palla machli. :yummy: full of kaanty but worth eating.
I had it when I was a kid and still remember the taste of it. Unfortunately, Palla isnt availabe in Punjab.
Dont you get a good variety of fish there? U can apply some desi masalas and have them in desi way.

in the UK you can get pomfrey in the frozen food section in indian stores...you may be able to get it too

Ask "em!!!

beta... Big Land Farm try kara.. the chink grocery store

My father brings the white color meat fish and tastes really good. I don't know it's name. Fresh fish is available in pretty much every grocery store with fresh shrimps, crabs, etc. A good place to buy fresh fish is Costco or sam's club but costco is better then sam's.

Anyhow to make it the desi way what you do is wash the fish. Then marinate it with salt, lemon juice, vinegar, red peper, mustard powder (haldi) coriander powder, ginger garlic paste or powder. Marinate it atleast for 30 mins. Then take a big skillet, grease the base, and lay your fish fillets/whole fish. Cover it and let it cook on medium heat for 5-10 (depends on the size and amount of fish) mins. Then remove the cover, change the side. If you have romoved the skin, then the bottom or base should look golden brown. After 2-3 mins sprinkle little lemon juice and chat masala and leave it on dum for 10 sec or so.
Enjoy it with chutny, raita or whatever you like.

(if it leaves water, make sure you let that water dry)

^I think u are talking about Bass Fish. Its white and very delicate in texture. If over marinated it can break apart easily.

My recipe. Grab a box of 'tandori masala', depending on how spicy u like the fish to be sprinkle enuf to cover all the fillets. Take either vinegar or fresh squeased lemon juice, and a must is galic paste (u can even use that ginger/galic mixed paste) or just chop up a few cloves of garlic. Before putting salt, taste the tandoori masala if that has sufficent salt in it, no need to put extra salt on fish. Now, let it stand in fridge covered for 15-20 mins max. (10mins is fine too). Bake it covered with foil at 345 F for 35 mins. If u like it nice and dry, remove the foil in the last 10 mins and let it bake uncovered. If u like fish curry, ask me and I'll tell u how to make that. Tastes heaven with boiled rice (curry fish).

U can also fry the same fish instead of baking.

I am surprised to hear that. Sushi comes in many varities and I wonder what exactly you tried that you didn't like. Never buy sushi that comes in little flat plastic boxes kept in some refrigerator. Eat at a reputable sushi bar.