First trip to Pakistan after getting married

Re: First trip to Pakistan after getting married

CA, i can realise it must be a culture shock for you :D Punjabis are very much into who gave you what and how much. Sometimes i can give polite answers but sometimes you cant avoid them.

scared* i call hubby's close relatives in Pak from time to time and they have mentioned that they'd like me to cook for them when I go to Pak.....I hope they won't ask me coz I don't know how comfortable I'll feel in someone else's kitchen!!!! :(

They wear artificial (whether htey can afford it or not), most ppl don’t obsess anymore that it’s not “real” sona b/c it’s just so expensive, not to mention really dangerous to wear in pakistan, so anything goes now as long as it’s osmething. for davats and weddings and stuff I’d always dress up like crazy, but wore nothing at home, so i always heard complaints abt that. (that i dont dress up at home) :disgust:

Yeah, cz punjabis give a lot, its such a big thing among us... i still dont know xactly WHY its done...my cousin explained to me that its given in khushi n sometimes it does work out alright but still teh whole concept of it just seems not right to me =/

^^i had the same problem sara...when my inlaws were here they wanted me to change every afternoon and evening into one of the 40 some dresses they gave whether we were going out or not which really made me feel crazy. I like being simple and punjabis are the complete opposite. I'm soo glad my hubby does not want me to become an auntie with 4 gold angootian in hand and lipstick on lips for no reason!!

OK :pagli:

nothing wrong with dressing up sara...I do it too but I don't understand the point of wearing gold 24/7 and dressing up in laal peele bhare huwe jorre at just any dawat or wedding I go to. Anyways, i guess each culture has different traditions n practices. I just wanted to alert ira about some things that she might face while she's in Pak. :D

CA, i face them here too :D You know how many relatives i have here :D Now its A's turn though, at how many jorays her saas brought and how much gold they gave at the nikah etc. LOL i am mean.

Sara, i love to dress up too but only because my husband doesnt appreciate it if i am gandi mandi at home. He likes it if i am dressed nice with some jewellery (he only cares for the pendant and chain he got me, plus the wedding ring, lol). This also gives me a chance to make him dress nice for me at home instead of being in PJs all the time after work. It goes both ways, you see ;)

masha Allah.
Ira,
a happy bride is always nicely and comfortably dressed. & you deserve that. :>
inshallah you will really have a good time. they will get to know you and you will get to know them. you should dress nicely and so should your husband.
& reall enjoy meeting your additional family. have a safe journey and be your self.
best wishes.
best,
Dushwari

Ira first of all congratz on ur wedding and may Allah bless u with all the happiness in life Aameen. Secondly all i would say is be urself and dont try to contain urself in n e way as in act more paki then u actually are be urself and everyfin is gonna b alright :k:

I find all this so strange... I guess it depends on households.... do new brides have to be dolled up all the time?? I cringe at those chamkeelay chamakchallo type bright wedding dresses and heavy jewellry and makeup etc... and knowing my family,,, I think the more normal she is, the better,,, I dont know... havent been in that situation so cant say... Im not a big fan of that dolled up new bride look... I say,, look nice n elegant and even casual. Dont look like a bum... classy and elegant goes well together.

i think it depends on the occassion... obviously as a new bride or not, you wouldn't visit your inlaws and dress like a bum, but if you were accompanying them somewhere then i'd think you would dress up a wee bit more that normal. thats why you get all those fancy, pretty clothes in your bari and jaheyz! :)

i don't think anybody is all dressed up all the time though... you can't make chai in a lehenga with arms full of chooriyan and rings on all yer fingers! its a bit impractical i think.

^ Who the hell would wear a lengha around the house? And actually expect their DIL to??

Ok, not all punjabi girls dress or are forced to dress they way you guys have described....lol... It really depends on the family. My sister is married into non-punjabis ((pure karachiittes) but after her wedding she was also expected to dress in the heaviest dresses with all her jewelry which ofcourse she didn't...lol. she wore fancy shadi type dresses but not the ones you have a hard time walking in and in the jewelrey she is not at all into wearing sets and big big stuff so she didn't. So at the end of the day it really boils down to the family. Most families (leaving all ethnicities aside) believe or prefer that the new bride wears all those 10000 dresses they have got stitched. I think it is more the fact that when people spend all that money preparing the berri (speel?) then they also like the new bride wearing or dressing up in them atleast for a week or two.

just my two cents....lol

lusi.. u punjabi u :pagli:

lol yes, I am a kuri punjaban who has stole many hearts…lol…

ok lol…no i was j/k, I was actually listening to that song…kuri punjaban dil chura gayee a little while ago :smiley:

but yeah I am punjabi :smiley:

sara516 i was just kinda curious, so i would really appreciate if u answer this query of mine and that is that Y R U so concerned if LUSI is punjabi or not, Just curious waisay koi masla nahi hai :k:

mazaQ kar rahay hain....
I'll be happy to xplain the full mazaQ :D

haha kaun she is just joking lol

ohhh, no i was just wondering :hehe: but ohh well so as u said u will be happy to explain the whole mazaq so can u shed some light on that as well :k: