First put them on the pedestal and then beat them with Chappals....

Meanwhile back in India :

Re: First put them on the pedestal and then beat them with Chappals....

Just another day in paradise

Thats a picnic compared to what our cricket heroes will get.

Re: First put them on the pedestal and then beat them with Chappals…

Dhoni’s effigy burnt in hometown

Jharkhand’s ‘hero’ Mahendra Singh Dhoni turned into a ‘villain’ overnight in his hometown on Sunday. Scores of angry cricket fans not only burnt his effigy but also tried to ‘damage’ his under-construction house to protest Team India and the stumper’s poor performance against Bangladesh in the ongoing World Cup.
Led by the Jharkhand Mukti Morcha (JMM), the fans demanded the Jharkhand government to take back the plot of land provided to Dhoni.
Ranchi Superintendent of Police (City) Richard Lakra told HT that the protesters just shoved some bricks kept at the site.
“Nevertheless, the officers-in-charge of the police stations concerned have been asked to avert a repeat of any such incidents further. The police would keep a strict vigil both at Dhoni’s residence, where his parents stay, as also the site where his new house is coming up,” Lakra added.
The wicketkeeper batsman was out for a duck in India’s match against Bangladesh, which went on to win it.
“Dhoni had come to the crease at a time when eight overs were still left in the Indian innings. Had he not been suffering from a superiority complex, he would have first adjusted to the pitch and then gone for a shot. Arrogance was writ large on him,” JMM district vice president Arun Kumar said.
Protesters like Jitendra Xalxo and Mukesh Kumar claimed Dhoni had started equating himself with Adam Gilchrist. “The State government should take back his plot also because he’s already earning in crores in advertisements,” they said.
Protests against India’s drubbing at the hands of minnows Bangladesh were also reported from other parts of the State Capital.
However, a large number of cricket fans despite being disappointed alleged that the JMM-led protesters were playing to the camera and their protest was a mere gimmick to gain cheap publicity. “It all appears to be stage-managed,” Vinayak Singh, an onlooker and an employee in a private firm, said.

That's us desis.

The state government gave Dhoni a free plot? No wonder they are pissed after his performance yesterday.

Indians attack Indian Cricketers homes after India lost to Bangladesh

http://news.yahoo.com/s/afp/20070318/wl_sthasia_afp/cricketwc2007indbanprotests

RANCHI, India (AFP) - Furious Indian cricket fans stormed the home of national wicketkeeper Mahendra Singh Dhoni to protest a five-wicket rout by Bangladesh in their opening World Cup match, police said.
ADVERTISEMENT

Some 200 fans Sunday brought down walls and pillars of Dhoni’s house, which is under construction, in the eastern city of Ranchi to protest the 26-year-old player’s performance in India’s shocking defeat in Port of Spain, Trinidad.

India were all out for 191, with Dhoni returning to the pavilion without scoring in India’s match Saturday, a shock to the cricket-mad country of 1.1 billion people.

“Dhoni die, die,” protesters chanted, burning effigies of the long-maned player, who has scored 1,958 runs in 68 one-day international matches and is counted among India’s most aggressive batsmen, an AFP reporter at the site reported.

Dhoni’s hometown, Ranchi, is the capital of Jharkhand state, which last year gave Dhoni a 360 square metre (4,000 square feet) plot of land to build a house on.

The protesters screamed anti-Dhoni slogans and demanded the withdrawal of the prime residential plot worth five million rupees (110,000 dollars).

“It seems Dhoni is banking more on modelling than wicketkeeping and batting,” said Sohan Mahto, one of the protesters.

State authorities, meanwhile, deployed paramilitary units at the nearby home of the under-fire player’s family to prevent possible attacks, a police spokesman said.

Similar protests were reported from the western Indian city of Ahmedabad, where irate fans were out on the streets after India’s humiliating defeat, the Press Trust of India said.

They burned effigies of Indian captain Rahul Dravid and screamed slogans against out-of-form batsman Virender Sehwag, who scored just two runs before being bowled out.

“They have betrayed the faith of the entire nation,” the fans chanted.

“Players like Sehwag should not be taken into the team,” the news agency quoted one fan as saying.

Protests were also reported in the eastern city of Kolkata.

The dream victory was Bangladesh’s biggest in the tournament since making their debut in 1999. They beat Pakistan in England in that tournament, but there were later suspicions of match-fixing.

Dravid’s India will now have to comprehensively beat debutants Bermuda and seasoned Sri Lanka to stay in the World Cup trophy chase.

Re: Indians attack Indian Cricketers homes after India lost to Bangladesh

I don't follow cricket too much, but no matter how crazy desis are about cricket, what is attacking player's house going to do? The Toronto Leafs have disappointed me repeatedly and caused me a lot of "distress" but I have never thought about attacking any of the players' houses..

What is that going to do? Will it scare them into playing better? (No) Won't it mentally disturb them and their families? (Yes)

The cops should be super strict with these protestors.

Alas seeing such attitude the indians will perform better in other games
but such obsessed fans should actually realize that a game should be taken like a game and not give any personal trauma to the players or their families thats a very bad behavior by the pakistani and indian crowds...

^^ How will it make them perform better? Do you reallly want your players to be scared into performance? cuz that might happen once or twice but on average such high pressure on them will mess up their performance in the long run.. I agree with the rest of your post though..
Somebody just told me that there have been similar cases before in India and Pakistan.... Does that stuff happen in Sri Lanka too?

the mentality of some people is completely messed up

i cant even imagine anyone doing what these crazy people do
dont even want to think what will happen if India is kicked out of WC (which there is a really good chance)

I though I already had a thread up about this topic.

In the past 2 days, I have been noticing number of cases where multiple threads are being opened to discuss related topics.

This place has literally become a khichdi of sorts.

Moderators, please take note and do the needful.

I never said it should be done to make them perform but as they say laato kay bhoot baato say nahi maantay so maybe that might make them pull up their socks - khair as i stated above even the pakistani crowds go crazy - wasim akrams house was stoned when he didn’t play the world cup because of his injury… and you yourself said there have been other cases in the past as well so i guess such things dont scare them even now…it happens everywhere you see football fans going crazy some even dieing..so there are obsessed with such things which is bad and sad at the same time but true..if they were so obsessed with their religions i am sure their God(s) would have showered blessings on them …:halo:

**Young cricket fan dies after India’s World Cup defeat

http://www.indiaenews.com/sports/20070319/43747.htm

:frowning:

^ That is just awful. :(

^Indeed, afterall its just a game.

OH man!
I feel bad. Glad to be Pakistani. At least we just burn effigies.... lol

I wish all of the Pakistani team & families a safety.

Your wish is granted

Well I'm expecting similar kinda reaction from Pakistani fans too. I hope they don't do anything crazy.
I remember those broken windows of Wasim Akram's house after that loss in India.

Regardless of the most terrible loss of cricket history, our team doesn't deserve any negativity from PK fans. Inzi was one of the main pillars of 92 team who gave us WC - need to remember that.

Remember what? Averaging 22.5runs? Yes he had some terrific performances, but main pillar, i dont think so.