Hi, Im helping my brother and his future wife plan their wedding, and im now wondering is it okey bride and groom dance like slow dance for the first dance, or does people think thats rude? Our family and brides family are both lived in western country many years, so I know that our or hers family doesn’t mind it, but they are getting married in Pakistan, so does people there look badly if they dance together? I haven´t been in wedding in Pakistan so I dont know is first dance there “allowed” or not. In here, Pakistani weddings bride and groom usually dance slow first dance and i haven’t heard anyone complain about it, but i know its different in Pakistan, so opinions are welcome, should they dance or not..
Re: First dance
personally i think its taking things a bit too far....ok i can understand a wedding cake taken from western traditions (since its a food item)...but the slow dance is a bit tooooo much....some aunties probably wudnt be comfortable with it..but hey! these days pakistan is more "modern" than us folks who live in the west.....check with extended family in pakistan...see the reactions and if all seems ok...then i guess go for it....
but can i just add..just cos u have lived in a western country for many years doesnt mean you HAVE to have elements of a western wedding to prove a point...i say keep things traditional, and most important islamic... :)
is this for the shaadi or the valima? I wouldn't do it before the rukhsati..
whatever floats ur boat, like you said your families have been in the west for a while, if they're ok with it, why should anyone else have a problem..
There’s a similar discussion here: http://www.paklinks.com/gs/wedding/378782-is-the-close-bride-and-groom-dance-accepted-in-your-local-society.html
They want to dance in valima party so after the rukhsati. Bride really wants to dance first slow dance, and its not because she wants to show that she is from western country, she just said that she love that idea that its their first dance as a husband and wife. They have also father-daughter dance in valima and my bhai dances with my mom. They want traditions but also their own things in their wedding.
We just wonder if this is little too much...
I was thinking another option which is that when we are keeping ceremony here, so they could dance "first dance" then . And in Pakistan they could keep it traditional. Bride said she would think about that. But I think that they should do what makes them happy after all its their day. But have anyone of u been in wedding in Pakistan where is first slow dance..?
where do u live in pak?
i will mostly say in pak ppl, most come for eat food :p and noothing more..
abt the 1st dance hmm... i think "strangers" will make a issue of it, cause they mostly dont
dance on shadi n walima day, as i have seen it from my family site.. we are frm jhelem.. (^^)...
if she really want to dance, then do it only for family members not for all guest...
cause ppl will 90% diffently make issue of bride n grooms dance, like hayeee sharam hayal utar dali hai, yaha aisa hai tou western mei kaisa hoga.. if u get my point ;)...
wishing you all the best with everything...
Hi we live in Lahore in Pakistan and wedding is there. Thanks for wishes :)
Depends on the family.. most of mine would be ok but some of the elders would get funny about it.. actually that would make me want to do it even more :D
Wish I had the guts to do something like that Thriller dance lol