First beard, then schools and now this..

Re: First beard, then schools and now this..

Moin

1) while there are many variables that affect the growth, one has to see whether or not the underlying policies were right, i.e.e did we do our homework. and sorry to say Zia's regime did nto do their homework. You are free to read World bank and other group's assessments of that time period. The interesting thing here is that for a certain group of people in Pakistan...Zia did all that he could and he did not succeed because it was not all in his control, yet musharraf regime..they did nothing and everything good that happened was due to external stuff, but everyting bad that happened, that was in his control. Lets have a balanced view here. external factors will not go away, but a good govt is one that can be proactive and having the right policies, and be agile enough to react appropriately to external stuff. I have nothing againt Zia personally, you will not see my badmouthing him personally, as I see people badmouth musharraf.. but as a leader he was mediocre at best. The one accomplishment that he did have, was to manage the soviet threat, which was a biggie

2) plight of refugees-

you need to review history again. while the trains were coming in to punjab, not everyone on the train was punjabi...my own family came in through that side, but that hardly makes them punjabi.

and secondly, we have to stop believing the crap of, oh hindus and sikhs killed muslims who were trying to come into Pakistan, yet muslims in pakistan did no such thing to hindus who were going into India. all kinds of crap happened. Talk to Indians, on the other side of the border they were taught the exact opposite. the reality is somewhere in between. one can arge about the levels, but cant deny that one side was just murderous and the other side was a bunch of good guys.

3) There is no excuse for anyone putting their ethnic identity above the national identity. especially if that would mean exclusionary practices against others who do not belong to that ethnic group. It was very common in Pakistan, dunno aout now, but when someone's ethnicity is written in job requirements, that is kinda lame, unless there is a real need for some language capabilities.

4) why could he have not done something to give the 'entertainers' in shahi mohalla a different opportunity. He could have if he wanted. This nefarious business would have coontinued underground there is no doubt about it. It happens even in countres like Saudi Arabia, but calling yourself a muslim country, and saying pakistan ka matab kya, la ilaha il Alah, closing restaurants down during ramadan daytime etc... yet not closing down this cesspool? that was plain simple wrong. Zia failed in doing anything about it.

5) Proper urdu- lukhnawis would say lukhnow is the correct style, dehelvis would say that is the correct style etc etc. But how do you expect people to lose the accent in the language that their parents speak and their teachers speak? why is it wrong? I mean its like saying the people who immigrated from hyderabad should give u their accents and all in the name of pakistaniat, yet sindhis, pathans and punjabis will keep their accents cuz thats just the way things are is yet again a double standard.

6) Plans are good, but Zia did nt have plans, he had ideas, and visions. and plans are goof to show intention, but efforts show a will to implement the plans. Now dont get me wrong, this is not Zia bashing, I would say the exact same thing for any leader, and have openly questioned MMA and Imran Khans plans and all n this very site. Now as far as why people are criticizing Zia, it is not nafrat..not hate, you have to understand that we need to get beyond whether or not we personally like a person to dictate how we react to that person's successes and failures.

I have also explained that th press freedom we have in teh country now, and methods of communication e.g. internet were simply not around earlier, and were not common especially in Pakistan. The results of Zia's mismanagement were seen by every regime after him, While I blast Benazir for her ineffectiveness, she inherited a bunch of crap from Zia in terms of the ethnic and sectarian crap that really gained momentum in his era.

lastly, in your next post to someone you posted that I am angry. Not at all, I am not among the people who would want to raise their BP by some argument on a website :)

actually moin is my other nick, i post ridiculous statements under his name and then try to talk sense under this nick to fool people like yourself :D

ho hawyee. hum pehlay kum bawiagoof thay - aap nay aur banaa diyaa

how about your other nicks - that, that & that one :D

answer: No

mr.fraudia, if that's true then you have too much time on your hands. do something better with it.. geez..

see now u are also my multinick. I create nicks like you to attack me and then gather public support and sympathy :)

you are too new here to get a hang of my joshin and bustin chops

reallly dude.. gotta find more **** to do.. u spend 2 much time here obviously you got fkin 27000 posts lol

fyi, im not attacking you... i got better **** to do
peace

educating the misdirected masses is a big task.

Now see how quickly you moved from calling me sensible, mature and level headed to ..cursing..just because you missed a joke or two :)

Making sure that this site is true to its mission is a responsibility for me. unless I outsource it.

PS: 27000 posts in 10 years or so btw :)

chal bay

^Pir ji aap to Harris sahib ka bura maan gaye. Posts kay muamlay mein to hum abhi bachay hein. :LB:

what exactly is going on here :khumar:

I have a pretty decent life mon ami, are you suggesting that I get a different life? :)

but as I said, I cant outsource the mission of this site to some third world call center. has this been just another site, I would not be around as much, but for a site that I helped build, I have personal stake in its success and in its mission

Haris ka burra mana? naheen yaar, chal bay is a very sarrak chaap term it dunn mean anyone took it personally

Assalam-o-Alaikum Fraudia bhai,
I was busy for a couple of days with my studies among other things.. Your post was rather descriptive and I took time to read it before responding.

1. Zia: Zia tenure might have been marred by some of the things but then I think his intentions weren’t right. His policies were misused by lot of thugs I think. He did what he thought was best and was is implemented in muslim countries like Saudi Arabia- they have Islamic rule and have been successful- why not us? Whats the difference between them and us? Yes, he did manage to keep communists at bay- I don’t like communists either. I dislike some of Mushy’s policies and work including his (mis)handling of Balochistan problem and the way he treated Sardars.. Bullet without much negotiations.. I think Balochistan might become Mushy’s Bangladesh if not controlled and steered in the right direction.I saw a video of Kaka Adnan Khel asking mushy to treat Baluchis like the way he treats his own son, Bilaal. My chachajaan has been to Gwadar, Sui and other places and people dont have shoes, clothes- doesn’t quite speak of people of resources-rich province.. And all these MQM goondas do is to blame everything on Punjabis.. I saw them on Geo after Bugti’s death shouting slogans against “Punjabi Huqumat” and “Punjabi fauj” etc.. How can “huqumat” be Punjabi when both Chief Executive and Prime Minister are mahajirs?

2. Most of Sikhs and Hindus ran away from Punjab fearing for their lives in 1947.. they were not threatened.. There was some retaliatory violence against them but then passion was running high then. Hindus and Sikhs were land-owners and money lenders etc.. and muslim punjabi were farmers- how could’ve been Hindus and Sikhs threatened with all the money and the land they owned?
    My relatives tell me when trains full of dead-bodies were coming left and right, muslim league were left with no option.. A lot of my relatives came from East Punjab and each had their own horror story. And they showed exactly opposite story in the movie Gadar.. Okay, there was some violence against Sikhs and Muslims but who started the violence in the first place?

3. I guess ppl had to write their ethnic origins in order to get benefits they deserved- like mahajirs deserved some land, better schools, money in Sind state etc. in exchange of what they left in India..

4. Okay, I accept Zia saab’s mistake regarding Shaahi mohalla.. maybe he was under pressure so what has mushy, who claims to be a Syed done in 7 years of his rule? Why is he not cracking down on such an un-Islamic thing. Heera Mandi has been before partition and Hindus and Sikhs started it but muslims should have closed it after partition.

5. People shud not lose their accent but they should merge with the local(Punjabi and Sindi) population with time.. I mean, it is better for everyone. I don’t like Lucknowi, Hyderabadi or Dehalvi because they remind of dal-eating bharatis:grumpy:

6. Hmmmm… I can’t comment on that since I was very very young when Zia died.. but my relatives who are in Army tell me he worked towards making Pakistan modern and an Asian Tiger. He did make a few mistakes and listened to wrong advice at times but yaar, the guy was solid.. He looked like a tough Army general till he died. He had very Islamic values and people like him can’t make mistakes.. maybe he forgot to do lot of things. See, he gave Pakistan a good standing in the Arab world.. Its because of him Pakistani guest workers are respected and treated like brothers in the gulf compared to non-muslim countries like Bharatis and Bengalis.

I totally agree with you regarding BB and her Mr. 10%- they were bad news for Pakistani awam. Nawaz sharif did not get much time to clean her misdeeds as the poor fellow was kicked out of the country by Mushy boy.. People say Shahbaz Sharif is a good candidate.

Lastly, thanks for understanding, brother. Are you a punjabi too? What caste? I am a Rajput by the way.

wa alaikum as salam
prrho gay elikho gay etoh ho gaye kharab, khelo gaye koodo gaye to banay gay nawaab :slight_smile:

Fruedian slip? :slight_smile:

I lived in saudi Arabia, I dont think they ahve been successful. but that s awhole dif topic.

do you know how zia handled balochistan?

My dad has actually worked on world bank projects in balochistan, so I get insights form him as well. there is plenty of blame to go around, if the fed govt has some blame the local sardars have blame as well.

forget MQM ghunday, if you ask one of these disenfrenchised balochis who is to blame they will point the finger at fed gvt and punjab..not just now when you have mujahirs in 2 top positions, but whe you had jamali, or bhutto, or nawaz or even ZA bhutto, zia, junejo, ishaq khan in power.

murderous mobs are not stopped by how large your land is or how much gold you have stashed away, you can buy your way to freedom i suppose, but ppl who wantto kill usually are not that interested in letting someone go if they are offered money…

does not matter who started the violence, there was no justification for the murderous thugs either in bharat or in pakistan. this ‘who started it first’ statement is baseless.

a large number of people did not get the benefits because they were asked to pay bribes and what nots. My nana did not get zilch for what he had left behind, someone else probably got that alloted to their name..but again that is a diff story, however when ppl think that the immigating folks had it all set for them, they are way off base.

Musharraf has never claimed to be some mard-e-momin mard-e-haq. the point is that he gets blamed by the conservatives in our society for being a ‘mod muslim’ .. fine.. but aray bhai what did your religious general ziz ul haq do in 11 years, he could not even close a few blocks of this cancer.

are the rules to gauge them different based on personal likes and dislikes. ne gets a free pass of oh he made mistakes and oh he had other priorities, but the other one is just blamed for everything? how is that equitable?

why do you have hate for dal eating bharatis anyways? they are people just like us.

People merge overtime sure. but that should apply to everyone right? so if a punjabi moves to sindh then over time he should really become a sindhi, if a sindhi moves to karachi..which is majority errrr well karachites, should he then stop being a sindhi and merge with the majority?

Just wondering what you mean. I personally am against assimilation, I am all for integration.

what are yoiu talking about. in his tenure the drug smugling was so rampant, that Pakistanis got very special treatment at airports in middle east, especially saudi Arabia.

right, nawaz was good in the very beginning, but then he let power get to him and decided to set his own record of misdeeds rather than clean up benazirs. read teh forums, someone had mentioned all the crap nawaaz did.

anytime bro, its good to have a discussion where ppl disagree but stay in tameez and tehzeeb ka daira. as far as myself. I am a Pakistani-British-American, and my caste ummm human, muslim. thats about it

Kiya baat hai! Tuada wada shukriya, bro.

Fruedian slip? :)

Please explain! I am willing to listen from someone who lived there. I met quite a few ppl who worked there as laborers and it is very hard to get something from them.. They say a lot about Sheikhs, migrant workers and stuff.. but I thought they are devloped and modern nation respected by the west

Zia didn't do anything wrong.. one of his officers he appointed- General Moosa Khan messed things up for him..Balochistan needs our help. Punjabis have always come forward to help em out.

I am not sure why they point fingers at Punjabis.. thats not right. Punjabis are large-hearted honest people and we have always come forward to help other communities in Pakistan. Infact, a lot of fellow Punjabis I meet express desire to go and settle in Gwadar- Pakistan's Dubai and make the place better.. Once these enterprising Punjabis start settling in Balochistan, Balochs people will understand Punjabis well.

1947 was a bloodbath no one is willing to forget but what I wanted to say was that if you look at the # of people killed and displaced- you'd find most of them were muslims.. Muslims attacked Hindus and Sikhs in anger. Even in Lahore, where Muslims were in large numbers but Hindus and Sikhs had all the money, Hindus killed a lot of Muslims. Why Indians always show Hindus migrating and getting attacked in 1947 in their films is hard to understand ( I am talking bout Gadar).

Sorry to learn your nanajaan didn't get equivalent of what he left.. but lot of folks lied during that time and got a lot more than they deserved. There's a joke that all mochis, dhobis etc. from UP/Bihar/Delhi became overnight haweli owners..

He might have missed it.. again, he was busy fighting other cancers like Russia and helping Afghan brothers... No one's perfect and Zia wasn't an exception. I like military rule but they should get someone who's proven to be an administrator

They are but-parast ppl who hate us to the core.. they treat Pakistanis poorly when they visit India and overseas (Gulf and the west)

I was just saying that after one should just follow the majority- like in the USA, Canada and UK, everyone speaks English, follows the majority culture and habbits of the white population.. Similarly, migrants to Pakistans should have learnt Punjabi and Punjabi habits- atleast Mushy speaks Urdu like a Punjabi

Really? I didn't know that.. Seriously, anyone who does this kind of $hit should be punished..Atleast we don't have such cases in Pak.

Nawaz was not completely responsible for everything- he had his cabinet, minsisters and corrupt folks advising and spoiling his reputation... Benazir was load of crap.. with his bhikari hubby, she put Pakistan 20 years behind..

Aap ko koi caste nahin? Yeh kaisey ho sakta hai.. ? I always stay in tameez tay tehzeeb da daira.. You are knowledgable and I have learnt a few things after chatting with you.

I live in the gulf since I was a child, am Pakistani and 99% of Indians I have met are courteous and friendly, buut-parast or not, what "anybody" has in heart nobody knows. In my friends circle we do have Indian friends as well.

How many years have you lived in Gulf or how much exposure did you have with Indians in the Gulf.

BTW it's the other way around I know some muslim people who worship Allah and say peace to all and hate Hindus to the core just because they are buut-parast.

^ I would prefer a corrupt muslim over a but-parast anyday. Where did you go to school? Your teachers did not teach you anything? No, I never lived in the Gulf. I don't have Hindu and Sikhs friends and I don't plan to have any in the future either.

You have never had any “but-parast” friends…and still ur so confident to say out loud that …u’ll prefer a corrupt muslim over a hindu… and ur logic is only that they treat pakistani muslims bad…
*Quite interesting approach u got there…:hoonh: *
*I would love to have a discussion with u on ur thoughts…but first i need to know how old r u? *