Firing at LoC: 4 Pakistani troops martyred

RAWALPINDI: Four Pakistani troops were martyred as a result of exchange of fire here at Line of Control (LoC).

The Inter Services Public Relations (ISPR) confirming the occurrence of the above incident, said the exchange of fire began at 2:00 PM and went on till 6:00 PM.

The initial reports confirmed deaths of two Pakistani troops and injuring of as many others.

The bodies were shifted from the site of the incident after the Pakistani troops returned fire, said Pakistan military spokesman.
The News International: Latest News Breaking, World, Entertainment, Royal News

Now what’s this all about?? Is this routine ki “karwai” or another Kargil in making.

Actually Pakistani troops had to returned back fire to shift their bodies back.

Re: Firing at LoC: 4 Pakistani troops martyred

Whats going on? Is LoC hot again?

If it's not Indian troops who is it? Mujahideen won't fire on Pak fauj. Is India sending some recon troops for some misadventure?

How did the more than 1000+ soldiers die on the western border? Did they fall out of their charpais?

But this just shows that due to the very timid nature of the PPP govnt and our inability to protect soldiers within the country, outside forces are becoming more aggressive. They know that if you kill enough Pakistani soldiers, we simply will go for a "peace deal" like with Taliban.

"Four Pakistani soldiers killed, three injured in firing at LoC: military ISLAMABAD, June 19 (Agencies) - Four Pakistani soldiers were killed on Thursday in an exchange of fire with unknown attackers at the border with India in disputed Kashmir, the military said. The soldiers were on a routine patrol along the Line of Control, the de facto border with India, when “unknown miscreants” fired at them, military spokesman Major General Athar Abbas told AFP. “Two of our soldiers embraced martyrdom at the spot and two others injured later died at hospital,” Abbas said, adding that three others suffered minor injuries. The attackers were hiding in the thick forest in Hajera sector along the Line of Control when they fired at the troops, he said. Abbas said the soldiers returned fire and afterwards search parties were sent to hunt the attackers. Search parties retrieved the bodies of the martyred soldiers and the injured.** ”The fire was not from the Indian bunkers”, a Reuters reports quoting Maj-Gen Abbas said**.** Associated Press adds: Lt. Col. Shantanu Dass Goswami, an Indian army spokesman, said Indian and Pakistani troops both fired at the attackers, who he said were attempting to infiltrate the Indian side from Pakistan. The fighting lasted about five hours, he said. “There was an information sharing from both the sides to zero in on the militants,” Goswami said. Abbas said the attack took place near the village of Battal along the Line of Control. A rescue party came under fire as well, Abbas added. **Militants have been fighting since 1989 to win Kashmir’s independence or have the Indian-controlled portion of the predominantly Muslim region merged with Pakistan. More than 68,000 people, most of them civilians, have died since the start of the insurgency. (First Posted @ 20:26 PST Updated @ 21:56 PST)

http://www.dawn.com/2008/06/19/welcome.htm

Kaka jee, mind bolding out the part which says "Lt. Col. Shantanu Dass Goswami, an Indian army spokesman"

Baba jee, read again: ”The fire was not from the Indian bunkers”, a Reuters reports quoting Maj-Gen Abbas said.:

timid nature of PPP govt and our inability to protect soldiers within the country

this is priceless!! you mean if soldiers on the border come under fire they were first supposed to call Prime Minister house or Zardari House to get permission to return fire?

and seriously .... are WE supposed to protect our soldiers or should it be other way around?

you're practically clutching at straws here with mindless postings LOL

and just for the records, the precedent of making peace deals with militants was set by your beloved boy toy tough talking coward commando. How quick you tend to forget the facts for your own convenience :)

By protect, I mean providing them the ability to protect and fight themselves and this includes a proper objective, and not making peace deals which allow terrorists to regroup, even after the previous ones have FAILED. The ROE in Waziristan favours the terrorist taliban rather than the soldier's safety.

Mush under pressure from jihadi apologists like you, reluctantly made peace deals with the talibs, but after the peace deals turned out to be just a means for the jihadists to regroup, they should not have been tried again by the PPP. Even if Mush by trying to make peace, made a mistake, future leaders should LEARN from mistakes, not repeat and multiply them. Still smiling?

The bottom line is that the precedent has been set that you can attack the army and as long as you kill enough soldiers, the govnt of pakistan will make a peace deal with you. Also, the abysmal training standards of the army have been exposed since 2001.

Mushy was more interested in his kursi ever since the failure of the last regime and in the process bent down to India, and the only thing he was interested in that front was pardoning convicted spies and terrorist POWs

jihadi apologists like myself? I am honored!! :D

By protect, I mean providing them the ability to protect and fight themselves and this includes a proper objective

accha!! to aisa kaho na yaar ... shifting the stand so quickly, chalo koi baat nahee :) 1000+ soldiers had died under your coward commando's watch even before current govnt came into being. So you tell me who's responsible for not providing them the ability to protect & fight and not giving them a clear objective?

Mush under pressure from jihadi apologists like you, reluctantly made peace deals with the talibs

what the heck! did I put a bees kilo ka baat on his head to put him under pressure? All those years he was single handedly implementing the policies under orders from his masters in the White House. He would send army into tribal regions and when the going gets tough for his troops, he would bail them out by making peace deals. This is the proper objective that your boytoy has been able to provide to his troops during the last 3 yrs - you never called that a mistake all that time but only admitting it now just so that you can take crap shots at the new govnt. Like I said .... clutching at straws ... my friend :)

So noiw mujahideen is killing Pak fauj? What's left? Militant mullas and back birlting militants.

Any update on who did this?

He was under pressure from the pro-jihadis and apologists from even before he joined the UN and US war to oust talibs. He has led the country, whose establishment has always had a soft spot for jihadis and the populace has either been indifferent or favored mindless jihad. Despite this, he was able to launch offensive operations into the tribal areas and kill and capture countless terrorists. This is something a pro-jihad leader like Nawaz would never have been able to do. Because of this he had to show extreme restraint when going into talib country and also use FC troops in order to show that punjabis were not taking the lead in this fight against pashtuns. The point is once a peace deal fails, you don't try the same mistake twice. And you can once again smile all you want, but swat operation which went much better was because the army shut the crying and whining media out, imposed emergency rule to shut out naysayers like you, had free range of weapons available etc. And I have always said that Mush has been too soft with his opponents.

Moral of the story: try to make peace once and if it doesn't work, don't be a fool and let the deaths of the soldiers go to waste by surrendering unnecessarily. Otherwise, everyone from afghans, iranis, americans, indians, talibs etc. will come after you to surrender.

for me the highlight of this whole incident is prolly the first time Indian and Pakistani forces didnt fire on each other but on a common enemy.
just like our cricket teams played in one team. something must be going right or may its pure coincidence.

Moral of all this long blabbering: you’d throw anything & everything under the sun to cover up the failures of your boytoy coward commando. Lets try to be rationale & impartial when trying to fix the blame. More than 1000 soldiers have died in the past 3 yrs but you never made a peep about dictator’s half baked efforts & failures. Today you're accusing the 3 months old govnt (not that I've any soft corner for current regime) of not being able to provide the right objectives to the army but you never answered about what your favorite boytoy (Chief of the army during his time) did in this regard in the past 3 yrs. If 4 soldiers killed were due to the timid nature of current government then Mush govnt must be the most pliant, coward & timid regime ever to disgrace the face of earth since 1000+ soldiers died during his absolute control of the country.

And as far establishment having a soft spot for militants & extremists - lets not distort the historical facts. What establishment are you talking about? for most part, militancy & jihadism have been the gift of PaK army to this country. Civilian govnts of 90s might have played along, but mainly it was army which was responsible for the creation of, nurturing & supporting this breed of extremists. Throughout 80s & 90 army was religiously busy setting up & running jehadi mudrashas & training camps in the northern belt of the country in order to support the $$ jehad in afghanistan and the struggle in IHK. Musharraf has been part & parcel of army during all those times and hence can't be absolved of all this mess. If today he's going after the same group of militants that he initially was supporting (remember Kargil?), its not cuz of his genuine desire & honest intentions but mainly cuz of the dunda that US swirls on him from time to time.