Firewall and MSN

I installed Norton Personal Firewall 2002. Since than i m unable to connect to MSN messenger, messengers troubleshooter says its due to the firewall.

Although, MSN has full rights in Firewall & i tryed to manually define a new rule allowing all kinds of connections, it still fails to login.

I can disable firewall for a min & connect MSN, once its connected i can enable the firewall again and it works fine. Also i need to repeat these steps if i want to send a file over MSN.

Solutions please.

:bravo:

Re: Firewall and MSN

Open Norton Personal Firewall program. Click Personal Firewall, and then click Configure. Click the Programs tab. Remove all the instances of Msnmsgr.exe from the Manual Program Control List. To add MSN Messenger to the list, click Add. Double-click the Msnmsgr file.

Make sure that the Msnmsgr file is added to the Programs and Services list and that MSN Messenger is selected.

Make sure that the file is added to the Manual Program Control List. In the Internet Access column, make sure that MSN Messenger is set to Permit All

main solution bataoonga to aap ghussa hongay phir.. :blush: to rahnay dain.. do what shery said..

Norton hi install karna hai, toh phir latest version install karo.. :halo:

warna I suggest, remove norton and install Zonealarm or something.

Shery bhai jaan, i know u r smart but when i said i manually defined a new rule for msn & added it there what else did it meant? its not working that way either :stuck_out_tongue:

Faizy tum mehngay nuskhay detay hu :stuck_out_tongue: hamari bemari itni bhi important nahi hai :stuck_out_tongue:

Gizzy i hate zone alaram :snooty:

Okay never mind i will consoider it ectra security :hehe:

:bravo:

Jony, open TCP ports 6891 thru 6900 for file transfer…
i would also check the logs of the firewall..
type in “Netsh Winsock Reset” in start run and restart-- then test MSN

check this link as well

Me no like NORTON ...

i think zone Alaram is best firewall. Free too. You should try that. Easier to manage/configure etc too

Just remember to DISABLE firewall before uninstalling. Specially true for ZONE ALARAM. [Only issue i am familiar with]

^^ Ditto, go with zone alarm or some hardware piece.

Meh. Firewalls give false sense of security. In reality its like wearing a t-shirt to protect yourself from bullets. I say just go with any one firewall which is easy to manage and convinient for you. Don't go out there spending big bucks.

^ ummm "false sense of security" may not be the best words. Its not 100% safe security but it will just make it so no joe shmoe can get into your computer. Which probably be more than 90% of hackers out there (out of the box hacking software users)