Fiqh of Love and Marriage

This is just one part of the notes. If someone wants notes from the entire course let me know.

[1] Maintaining Love & Marital life
A. Love after the wedding
a. Does marriage kill love?
i. Said b/c people take love for granted
ii. If a woman comes to complain to her husband, he says I love you, she says show me
iii. They don’t’ feel it or they don’t’ see the language spoken at home
iv. Men – mostly at night
v. Women – mostly during the day
vi. Each should react accordingly during the night and day
vii. If you as a man do not give your wife enough time during the day, she will dedicate her time to you at night
viii. For men – sex is a reward

1. hoor el 3een b/c it’s reward
  2. best reward from wife, nice night with my life
    ix. For women – sex is not a reward
  3. if they withdraw at night, men will see that as they didn’t do well and they didn’t get their reward and they feel bad about it
    x. ibnul qayem said that marriage shouldn’t kill love if it was fulfilled properly
    xi. story of prophet and Aisha happened after marriage
    b. Communicating love to your partner
    i. Love has different language and even if you do speak the same language it has different dialects
    ii. Even if you use words of affirmation and complements, sometimes the husband requests you use something extra
    c. Rationalizing love in marital life
    i. Remember the in-love syndrome
    ii. Love sometimes explains the behavior of human beings
    iii. When men and women that are in love interact in a totally different way from those that are not in love
    iv. If a man is not in love with his wife, he’ll be at the car while she’s still getting there 10 mins later
    v. If a man and wife are in love with each other, they’re traveling together, chatting together, doing things together
  4. like
  5. romance cycle doesn’t last more than 2 years normally
  6. with a full tank of love and practice the right language of love you can take it on for years
  7. any act of love starts with an attitude
    a. if you view your marital life the way you saw your parents during their time and try to implement it with your wife/husband it will be a disaster
    i. never change the diapers
    ii. never help around the house
    iii. he might say, how dare you ask me to do this/that
    iv. this is a female job
    B. understanding the Differences
    a. men are from mars & women are from venus
    i. in most aspects it’s very real
    ii. he’s describing the Islamic aspects of relationships between spouses
    iii. he says they have differences, they have different values, qualities, and characteristics
    b. understanding the different values
    i. men usually appreciate values like power, achievement, competency, efficiency
  8. therefore they like to be dressed in formal suits or their uniforms reflect their job
  9. have a typical way of dressing, may change color but different patterns
  10. like to look nice and professional
    ii. women like to dress depending on their moods
  11. if they feel good, they’ll dress up nicely
  12. if they don’t feel good, they don’t care what they’re wearing
  13. like to look good and comfortable
    iii. women in return value other things
  14. love
  15. communication
  16. beauty
  17. relationships
  18. support
    iv. men like to do things alone
  19. when one talks, all listen
  20. when they disagree, they discuss rationally and
  21. like objects and things
    a. need to do this or that
  22. value accomplishments
    a. on the computer for hours (doing this for you)
    b. I got a free ipod from EmanRush
    c. YEAAAAAAAAAAAAAH (achievement)
    v. women like to do things socially
  23. when they talk, the all get involved
  24. like relationships and beauty
    a. just listen to me
  25. value relationships
    a. I need to talk (I want to understand you)
    b. try to support her, feel bad for her, want to help her
    c. awwwwwwwww (so cute so nice)
    c. crisis approach, and coping with stress
    i. men when they are not in trouble, they like to remain silent and don’t’ talk
    ii. women when they are in trouble, they can’t keep silent and need to talk
    iii. when the prophet was afflicted with something, he would caress/touch his beard, pray, stay alone/withdraws
    iv. when the prophet (ala bayna ahlih) he swore that he would not touch his wives for one month b/c they kept asking for more financial provisions, they demanded more, so he was upset and went up in seclusion for 29 days upstairs and when he came down, Aisha was the first he went to and she was like .. the month is not over yet!
  26. omar rushed to his daughter hafsa
  27. bilal was guarding the stares for the prophet
    a. I told him that you’re asking for permission and that’s when he didn’t respond (withdraw)
  28. omar said that when we were in Mekkah they couldn’t say anything to our wives and them to us but when he came
    v. cave of the man
  29. when men can’t deal with an issue, they go home to watch the news or go on their PC and they do this b/c they want to hear about a bigger problem than their own and they will be thinking about this solution until they find it
  30. do not follow your husband out of the cave, or else the dragon will burn you
    vi. women issues
  31. when she’s complaining or overwhelmed, knows she’s trying to just ask you to hear her and talk to her
  32. just keep the flow of your talk naturally
  33. give her indivisible attention
  34. assure her it is true
  35. don’t try to offer solutions
  36. just listen and support her
    a. ex. Let’s go to the park with the kids
    i. you say ok .. let me go just grab my laptop
    ii. this will mean to her that you’re busy with something else and you will not build a relationship with you and your spouse
    b. she’s not complaining about you, she just wants you to support her
  37. need to bring the history of the problem to release the tension
    a. ex. women are more organized in their thoughts and job
    b. ex. Not really talking about traveling but just traveling with you or planning things with you
    vii. marriage counseling
  38. men hate it b/c they don’t want to express their views/opinions
    a. views this as he is a failure, not a good father, not improvement
  39. women love it to go
    a. improve self, improve others, etc
    d. the motivation power
    i. quwama (protectors and guardians)
  40. men feel empowered and motivated when they feel needed
    a. when they see their wife needs them
    b. not to be needed is a slow death for men
    c. translates to mean she has no desire fro me
  41. women feel empowered and motivated when they are cherished
    a. when they feel the love emotionally
    e. expressing feelings through different languages
    i. when men speak to their wives they speak their own language
  42. objects
  43. power
  44. things
    a. after talking for an hour and what did we establish, we wasted time
    ii. women speak to their husbands they speak about
  45. love
  46. beauty
  47. relationships
    a. after talking for an hour I feel really good thanks
    f. our emotional differences
    i. why men withdraw every once in a while
  48. she might try to go enter his cave
    ii. the intimate cycle of a man (rubberband theory)
  49. sometimes very close
  50. sometimes very distance
    a. for no real reason I need time away from her
    b. try to keep the limit
    c. he pulls away, away, and away, then he has to go back to the center
    d. the only way out, is back in
    e. not staying away b/c they want to, it’s just b/c of their nature
    f. once he’s stretched out to gain that full energy and once he’s done and has reached his limit, he’ll expect his wife to be responsive
    g. if ask him what’s the matter, and he says nothing, he really doesn’t understand what’s going on
    h. women don’t’ understand a man’s immediate and quick return to the woman
    iii. the intimate cycle of women (moody theory)
  51. everything is great all of a sudden then all of a sudden everything is great
  52. a woman in a span of 5 mins can go from happy, to upset, to mad, to angry, to sad, then to happy again
  53. a woman must reach the bottom of that wave in order to go back up
  54. if you notice she’s getting upset, completely depressed, give her her space
  55. if he asks, what’s the problem, and she says nothing,
    a. he says ok and leaves OR
    b. he can help her with her “in-house cleaning”
    c. do not offer solutions
    A Final Advice
    The Many different Languages of love
    • Words of Affirmation
    • language of love is in your eyes, your mind
    • if she puts her passion for you in the kitchen do not disappoint her
    • if she cooks all of this food even if it’s extravagant, appreciate her, her services, her time
    • she cooked it for you!!
    • Don’t try to find something you want to solve a problem
    • Taking out the trash
    i. You both keep looking at it and both of you see it
    ii. If you see it, pick it up, take it and put it in the trash outside
    iii. If you do that she’ll appreciate that and give you mad appreciation
    • After breakfast, if she cooked it well or not, just say jazaki Allah khair .. let it come out naturally
    • NOT oh you’re late, I’ve been waiting for it for so long
    • Quality time
    • Give quality time to your wife
    i. She just cares to spend the time with you
    ii. Give her your undivided attention and just respect her
    iii. That is better than a long time together
    iv. You need to be there physically and mentally
    • Receiving gifts
    • Value of gifts for women are equal as long as you give it sincerely
    i. A flower
    ii. A diamond
    iii. A car
  56. in her eyes they’re all the same .. it’s the thought process beside it
  57. imagine giving your wife a flower, her reaction will be so sincere and pleased you’ll be surprised
    • exchanging gifts can be very easy and very simple
    i. It doesn’t cost too much
    ii. If you take a piece of paper, write a few words, with a pen and put it on the bed, on her desk, how much would that cost?
    iii. This is something great for her!!
    iv. If it doesn’t happen often, women might not know how to react to the gift
    • Different acts of service
    • Take the trash out
    • Help with the dishes
    • Take the children to their sports events
    • Physical Contact
    • Explicit
    • Implicit
    i. Need to see the love as well as feel the love
    ii. Men – every now and then he touches her randomly, it’s the sincerity behind this touch that makes the difference
  58. Prophet took the cup where her lips touched to drink from the exact same spot this is a form of physical touch
  59. prophet’s check on Aisha
    Fit in
    • likes to hear words of confirmation
    • if he does something good, thank him for it
    • say barakah Allah feek, jazaka Allah khair, oh this so sweet, so nice
    • Quality time
    • Give quality time to your husband
    • Women are much better at this
    • She wants to talk and he doesn’t want to listen so just summarize
    i. She just cares
    A Final Advice
    A. How To win the heart of your wife?
    • every once in a while give gifts
    • if you exchange gifts you earn love
    • it’s not the value it’s the thought
    • think of it as an investment
    • give her the quality time that you both deserve
    • ask for a formal session
    i. schedule time together
    ii. schedule a different place each time (in the bedroom)
    • when your wife talks to you, listen to her
    • if she repeats her self again and again know that that is very important to her
    • use your eyes
    • if she’s in the kitchen, how much would it take from you if you look at her, not in a lustful way, just with a look of admiration and give her words of affirmation
    • use your eyes to attract the attention of your spouse
    • I feel jealous from you from my own eyes, from my pleasure that you occupy
    • Greetings and farewells
    • When you go out, let the first thing you do when you come in or right before you go out, kiss your wife
    i. Hadith of Aisha that she was fasting and even though he kissed her
    ii. Haidth of Zaynab .. she was asked about the kiss during Ramadan, she said no he didn’t, only her (Aisha)
    iii. Poetry
  60. Red roses kill themselves for you and they would die to put that rosie look on your cheeks
  61. If she spits in the ocean while the ocean is salty, it will return fresh from her saliva
    • At home, try to be creative with your everyday choirs
    • At times of crisis, someone from their family passes away, be there for them to fill them emotionally
    i. Don’t bring the problems of the masjid/iraq/etc to bed
    ii. There is no harm in saying you love your spouse
    iii. Love is not a demand, it’s a request
    iv. Be educated about love
    v. Love is natural, you can’t suppress that
    vi. Don’t let the culture hold you by not saying I love you to your spouse
    vii. Try always to forgive one another
    viii. Don’t be picky about everything
    ix. If it’s not the best time talk about it, don’t talk about it at that time
    x. Don’t argue
    xi. Don’t give instructions to your husband so much
  62. will cause him to withdraw
    xii. never put yourself between him and his mother
    xiii. never have him compare you and his mother
  63. this will create a fitna for yourself
  64. mother has a right s/he needs to fulfill for each
    xiv. don’t forget to fear Allah insha’Allah
    (surat al furqan 74) oh Allah bless us with wives and husbands and make our wives and our children a comfort of our eyes, and make us an example for the mutaqeen
    B. How to win the heart of your husband?
    (above)
    C. Rights & obligations between man & women
    Open Questions:
    (Q #1): Istiskhara & Istikhara
    (Q #2): did Muslim women have concubines?
    April 24th EXAM essay question (one of them will be on the exam)
    Remember:
    “Love is union with somebody, or something, outside oneself, under the condition of retaining the separateness and integrity of one’s own self.”
    “A man falls in love through his eyes, a woman through her ears.”
    “When marriage is true and right, it is a vacation from the real world.”
    ~Shaikh Yaser Birjas

Re: Fiqh of Love and Marriage

Wow thanks, I will read it later when I have more time. Where did you take the class? Ive always wanted to take it but it has never come close enough to me :(

I actually didn't attend the class, a friend of mine forwarded it to me. I have the rest if you want it.

I would love to know who gave this class please if you can find out..

btw,

. men when they are not in trouble, they like to remain silent and don’t’ talk
ii. women when they are in trouble, they can’t keep silent and need to talk

some1 please explain

:konfused:

:ahaa:

:rotato:

:cb:

Why not ? If you cant look at your own wife with a lustful gaze then where should men look at , islamically ?*? :rolleyes: *

Waisay good tips overall :k:

abhay yaar, means not everytime in lustful way.. just admire her beauty.. :D

some men don't have enough time to look at their wives with lust or without lust......i think there's a hadith that whenever you look at your wife, smile. How many men do that?

admiring beauty is a lustful act ....

Acha bhaai , jaisay aap kahain :blush:

Pata nahi :vivo:

Some women dont care about themselves enough and get out of shape and dont bother to freshen up when their husband come home from work. I think there is a hadees that women should dress up and do make up and look good for their husband. How many women do that ?

No It is not !

I admire beauty of a flower, But i dont necessarily want to eat it too.
Lust is a pathway to carnal pleasures. First wife has first right to be looked at with lustful gaze. :k:

Codey bhai

I agree that a wife should dress up nicely etc for her husband but it doesn’t mean if she doesn’t husband should ignore her … coz sometimes it’s hard for some women to stay tyaar shyaar all the time as they have children to look after for 24 hours 7 days a week.

Why do some men expect from their wives to be a great caretaker of house, a brilliant cook, an efficiant child-minder and perfectly dressed up all at the same time?:rolleyes:

^ Yup! i dont think u can be all of the above all at hte same time, something’s gotta give at one point :cb:

:konfused:

Goes both ways I guess..

A husband should try to look good for his wife, as he would like his wife to look good for him

A wife should try to look good for her husband, as she would like her husband to look for her

A husband should be understanding that sometimes his wife might be too tired/busy/sick/lazy/whatever to get dressed up and she just wants to stay in her comfy pjs all day, as he would like for her to be understanding when he is having one of those days

A wife should be understanding that sometimes her husband might be too tired/busy/sick/lazy/whatever to get dressed up and he just wants to stay in his comfy pjs all day, as she would like for him to be understanding when she is having one of those days

And everyone's a winner :)

Ghar mian nokar chaakar nahi hain kia ??? :rolleyes:

bechari oppressed muslim housewife. tsk tsk

Ideally husband should provide few servents in muslim households . 1 or2 maids, a cook, 1 or 2 guards, 1 or 2 drivers, 1 nanny.

Then wife wont have to worry about all these chores. And she would be tayar shayar for her hubby dear :k:

I guess Thats why they call it Islamic republic of Pakistan :sleep:

I know in some poor countries people cant afford servents. Husbands there i heard help thier wife in household chores. ( dont quote me on this , just heard it from somewhere )

the story where the wives of our prophet (saw) were demanding more financial provision!

Is this Story true? I never heard of that and to be honest I don't believe in this...

goes back to what i said in AV recently and someone made fun of me for saying it because I’m unmarried :mad:

“a smile speaks a thousand words.” even if a husband doesn’t want to talk…that’s fine! he doesnt have to. a simple easy gesture such as a smile for his wife would be nice.

Isnt there also a hadith that says a smile is sawab?

btw nice thread…great lecture. :k:

some wives were rather demanding there is Quranic proof of that
lets just leave it at that

code bhai I respect ur opinions a lot but here i disagree
appreciating the "beauty of women" without being lustful I find that hard to believe .....ur analogy of a flower I dont agree , flowers are not meant to be eaten
rather this analogy is better , "the nihari looks appetizing but it does not mean I want to eat it "
doesnt sound right ..does it ?

nice notes.
I think its a revision time