Finding my way, from London to Karachi

“Home is a difficult place to be”

“There is always something happening in Karachi as well. At first, the worsening political and economic situation here depressed me. After eight miserable months, I finally got a job and things started to improve. Eventually, I did start to recover and began progressing in my professional life.”

Yes, in the middle of Saddar, the sky brightly lit up with beautiful streaks of fireworks.
“What is going on?” I wanted to ask my friend but I was too stunned to talk. I felt like I was standing at Oxford Street or Piccadilly Circus cheering for the bonfire fireworks.

“I looked around. I was not in London; I was in Karachi but the feeling was the same – happiness.”

good piece!

Re: Finding my way, from London to Karachi

Hey everyone, look at me, I am a walaiti babu. I am too good for everyone, all you low class people.

teen ... where did he say that :D ... he was just sharing his good opinion!!

i think its great .. tht educated masses frm outside are coming back to Pakistan!! we need young blood!!

NO. I find this attitude in all watan palat idiots. Dealt with this in Pakistan with relatives who were visiting, and the newcomers to school. After BCCI several "bankrupt" people returned to Pakistan bringing their nawabzaday with them. OMG, these kids acted like they were royalty or something. Either it was too hot for them, or the "Entertainment" options were not good enough, or everyone was too poor, dirty cheap.

Don't go there if you think so highly of yourself. Here they will take the bus with rest of the people, sit in a subway with hobos and homeless, take a dirty taxi cab, walk in rain, work at crappy min wage job, but over there they will act like nothing is good enough to meet their standards. Just read all the cry babies going to Pakistan to get married and how low they think of Pakistanis, and all the raja babus visiting Pakistan for first time in the wedding and travel section. You would think some maharajah is visiting by the way they act. Again, DONT GO THERE WITH THAT CRAPPY ATTITUDE.

You are right here!! I have witnessed these kinda of stuff myself!! ... but the truth is you would find ppl like this even in Pakistan, who are born and raised in Pakistan!! but they are trying to fit into gora crowd!!they would only watch english channels.listen to english music, talk only in english and think talking in urdu is backward or it makes you less educated ... they would work at gas station outside Pakistan, but are not willing to work hard in Pakistan ...

Bijli, cheeni, aata, paani tau hai nahin phir hum kyun ghussa na hon? (just adding fuel :@: )

inshaAllah acha waqt aaaye ga!! BB .. juust dont lose hope!! :D

it is too hot there, entertainment options are limited and not good enough, and there is a lot of poverty there, the amount of beggars you see is striking, people are dirty/smelly..partially I suppose because they are too poor, working too hard at manual jobs, cant afford deodorants or are simply unaware. Other issues such as widespread corruption, inefficiencies, red tape, dada-geeri/ghunda-gardi is stuff that is new to people who have not spent much time there.

just the facts, and I dont even have a bad attitude about it. :)

sometimes people complaining or noting issues with stuff are not really whinging, just stating their challenges with certain things. I understand it can bother people that essentially 'outsiders' are criticizing the country/city/society but you know what, none of what you wrote is stuff that locals dont complain about, and then there are other things that locals complain about, someone complains we are becoming too 'westernized' as a nation, others say not westernized enough, too bollywood, too saudized. So I am puzzled why it is an issue when someone new to pak notes similar issues.

Because they have a condescending attitude about it. It's one thing to complain, and another thing to berate.

Do they have a condescending attitude or you think its a condescending attitude, because then can we say that the people living their have a cynical attitude? but regardless of the attitude, what they say is not wrong.

I mean same thing can be said about desis who visit US to Europe, they miss servants, being waited on, being a big shot vs just an avg dude etc.

but life is too short to be bothered about that, as a very famous honorary jamaican roodbwoy pir once said..relAAAAX mOn, hAve a jAAm sAANdweeeech

You have just described London in the summer perfectly.

yup, desi areas in London patrolled by nissans full of freshies :)

There is nothing what you describe close to what this person wrote bhai sahab.

No complains, no show off. The person wrote essentally a positive blog. He did describe some shortcomings but not as a complain and eventually described a happy feeling.

Yeah I don't find the OP's link offensive or condescending in the least. We're living in Pakistan and we should be able to accept the fact that compared to the rest of the world, we live in a frickin warzone. People die every day, poverty is so widespread and I can't stop at a traffic signal without getting hounded by hordes of beggars. Every type of beggar you'll find them here. The woman with the baby, the handicapped, the baba jee, the newspaper guy, the khusra, all designed to emotionally blackmail you into forking out.

Everyday life for the working class in this country is a living hell. We manage to avoid most problems like the heat and loadshedding with ACs, generators and UPS but the common man has to spend 10-12 hours without electricity everyday. And this is only in urban areas, rural areas are much worse off. Even when there's no loadshedding, the tariff is higher than western countries with higher average incomes. Fuel prices are so high I wonder how people even get around. Even if they could afford a car or a motorbike, they definitely can't afford the fuel. And if they have no transport, then they have to go through our hellish public transport system, which consists of stuffing 30 odd people into a frickin Hiace van. Most countries just have to live with rising fuel/living costs, here we have to live with rising staple food costs. Amazing.

Not to mention all the rampant corruption that ensures we never drag ourselves out of this situation. Right now you'll see everyone blaming the leadership, but surprisingly enough the same abused qaum will vote in the same corrupt leaders next time around.

/rant

That's fine and all, but you live there. You have a right to complain. Some outsider acting like a nawabzadah has no right to complain. They don't like it, then don't go to Pakistan, simple as that.

The piece is a positive piece written by a pakistan native who moved to Uk for education and moved back, and despite the reverse culture shock, which is a real phenomenon, and with everything that is wrong, he was able to be happy..just like he was when he was in London.

Not quite sure how many people actually read and understood it :)

No need to read the whole blog to understand it - the line quoted below is suffice

I looked around. I was not in London; I was in Karachi but the feeling was the same – happiness.

Happiness is the key ....

Na baalkh na bukhare - jo maza apne chubare :)

woh kya hay..abgrezi mein likha hai na, qaum ki samajh naheen aya :)