…My advice to Gen Kayani would be to issue his last Order of the Day on the appointed date of his retirement, receive his successor in GHQ, and after a cup of tea get into his private car and fade away like many great generals before him. In the time that he has as COAS, might I suggest he announce the scrapping of the completely needless and wasteful new GHQ in Islamabad and the return of the land to the Pakistani government for auctioning it to the highest bidder and using the proceeds to provide potable water to the populace at large.
He should also order the immediate ceasing of all commercial activities by units and formations through their messes and clubs, such as holding marriage functions and running bakeries and bridal boutiques.
Organisations such as the Fauji Foundation and the Army Welfare Trust, and the factories and banks and cement and real estate and travel businesses they run should immediately be auctioned to the highest bidder and the money realised put into a welfare fund for soldiers, junior commissioned officers and officers at the ratio of 85:10:5. He will then go down as a great COAS who corrected grave wrongs, and a good general who trained up his successor like other successful generals before him…
What is the status of the new GHQ in Islamabad? I for one hope its never built. We cant afford this bakwas anymore, and talk about ruining the capital. Though I appreciate Kiyani's decision earlier to temporarily halt the moving of the GHQ to Islamabad, why cant the president or the PM grow some balls and refuse? Its like the army thinks they OWN the country.
And why do you think the new GHQ should be made in the heart of the capital, amidst the best residential and peaceful area of the city? Not to mention it is expected to cost us $2.4 Billion Dollars, while people are killing themselves due to starvation!
ISLAMABAD: Prime Minister Yusuf Raza Gilani Thursday extended the term of Chief of Army Staff (COAS) Ashfaq Paervez Kayani for three years starting from November 29, 2010.
In a televised announcement, the Prime Minister said the decision to extend the term of COAS has been in consultation with the President Asif Ali Zardari ‘to ensure successful culmination of the ongoing war against terrorism’…*
Gives impression (maybe, rightly) that possible successors of Kiyani saab are a bunch of incompetent officers incapable of taking command from him.
If its adequate, then why the eff are u saying a new one should be built?
The land that the new GHQ will be built upon is on/right next to the most POSH area of Islamabad, and no other place in the country, not even Lahore or Karachi has any areas that can match the price of land in these sectors such as E-11, E-7, E-8 etc.
So where exactly is the new GHQ being built, the HEART of Islamabad, NEXT to civilians!!!
The only reason why this was disallowed was that it was going to be a HUGE blow to our finances and the Federal Govt refused to fund it, and quite understandably so.
Since when did you start loving Mosques :hehe:? Also, you can fulfill your cultural fascinations through other means, rather than building a useless military headquarters costing billions. We can build museums, culture centers, exhibits, for way way way way less money.
Pak Army doesn’t pay for crap, they asked the Federal Govt for the money, and I hope they are shunned aside forever. They should do with the existing GHQ in Pindi.
Oh and instead of this GHQ non-sense, lets build a proper airport for Islamabad… The city doesnt even have one, woh purana walla tu islamabad mey hai bhi nahee
There is only one suitable place for GHQ in Pakistan if they want Pakistan.
District Rajanpur.
( I have no connection with this distt)
Islamabad airport is in progress.