Final World Cup groups confirmed/Schedule announced. (Merged)

Re: World Cup 2007 Schedule

Kya baat kartay ho bhai. Ideally Pakistan should face Kenya, Scotland, Holland, Bermuda, Bangladesh and Canada :hehe: taakay araam se jeet jayain :smiley:

Pak’s pool sucks. We should have gotten atleast one good team to play with before facing aussies and the likes :rolleyes:

I don't know what you guys are smoking but I prefer Jamiacan ganja. Oye khotay-O, West indies won't be easy playing against home crowd. There is no such thing as a tough group. All groups have clear two winners. It will only get interested in Super-8 stage.

Allah khair karay, saby bhai, you want Pakistan to compete in ICC intercontinental cup? Only there they can play all these teams in a super 8.

If pakistan's pool sucks that it good for us. Atleast we would be carrying maximum points in the super 8. You never know we qualify in semi final on the bases of pool points eventually.
Yes WI will be the host but still a better option than playing against SA, India or Srilanka.
As far as getting a good practice before going into super 8, Pakistan will be playing a warm match against SA and then a pool match with WI which should give them good practice before the real encounter.

Well with a schedule with that.. I can still go see some of the games in Jaimaica and Barbados.

Do you guys know how much the Super 8 games, Semi Final and Final tickets will be at?

Re: Final World Cup groups confirmed/Schedule announced. (Merged)

Cricket World Cup 2007 schedule

MARCH

Group stage

Group A - All games in St Kitts & Nevis; Group B - All games in Trinidad & Tobago; Group C - All games in St Lucia; Group D - All games in Jamaica

**13 Group D, West Indies v Pakistan **

14 Group A, Australia v Scotland
14 Group C, Kenya v Canada 

15 Group B, Sri Lanka v Bermuda
15 Group D, Zimbabwe v Ireland 

16 Group A, South Africa v Netherlands
16 Group C, England v New Zealand 

17 Group B, India v Bangladesh
**17 Group D, Pakistan v Ireland **

18 Group A, Australia v Netherlands
18 Group C, England v Canada 

19 Group B, India v Bermuda
19 Group D, West Indies v Zimbabwe 

20 Group A, South Africa v Scotland
20 Group C, New Zealand v Kenya 

21 Group B, Sri Lanka v Bangladesh
**21 Group D, Zimbabwe v Pakistan **

22 Group A, Scotland v Netherlands
22 Group C, New Zealand v Canada 

23 Group B, India v Sri Lanka
23 Group D, West Indies v Ireland 

24 Group A, Australia v South Africa
24 Group C, England v Kenya 

25 Group B, Bermuda v Bangladesh 

Super Eights 

27 D2 v A1, Antigua & Barbuda 

28 A2 v B1, Guyana 

29 D2 v C1, Antigua & Barbuda 

30 D1 v C2, Guyana 

31 A1 v B2, Antigua & Barbuda 

APRIL 

1 D2 v B1, Guyana 

2 B2 v C1, Antigua & Barbuda 

3 D1 v A2, Guyana 

4 C2 v B1, Antigua & Barbuda 

7 B2 v A2, Guyana 

8 A1 v C2, Antigua & Barbuda 

9 D1 v C1, Guyana 

10 D2 v A2, Grenada 

11 C2 v B2, Barbados 

12 B1 v C1, Grenada 

13 A1 v D1, Barbados 

14 A2 v C1, Grenada 

15 B2 v D1, Barbados 

16 A1 v B1, Grenada 

17 A2 v C2, Barbados 

18 D1 v B1, Grenada 

19 D2 v B2, Barbados 

20 A1 v C1, Grenada 

21 D2 v C2, Barbados 

Semi-finals 

24 Super Eight 2nd v 3rd, Jamaica 

25 Super Eight 1st v 4th, St Lucia 

Final 

28 Winner SF1 v Winner SF2, Barbados 

right this is quite simple. we have to play one important match against the Windies which we need to win if we are to carrry some points in to the next round. if we win that then we can qualify for the semi finals by winning only 3 games in the super eight round. on the other hand if we loose to the west indies then we have to win 4 games in the super eight of a place in the semi finals.

lets have a look at who should we be able to beat in the super eights going just by world cup history:
England : Beat them in 92, Lost to them in 03 should win in 07
Srilanka: Beat them in 92, should win in 07
Newzealand: Beat them in 92 and 99 should also do in 07
India: always looose to them in World Cups
South Africa: lost to them in 92 and 96 would loose again
Australia: hell when did we ever beat them in WC maybe in 87 group competition no chance in hell.
so it all comes down to the first game beat Windies and we can afford to loose to India, SA and Aus and still qualify for the semis. If not then we would have to do something we havent been able to do for the past few world cups that is to beat one of india south africa or australia.

^^chanda we defeated australia in WC 99...pakistan is a very unpredictable team on its day it can defeat any opposition
atleast one thing is for sure...we will qualify for the next round:)...then again who knows as i said we are very unpredictable

^ Come on lads we will get through to the second round. Do you really think that Ireland or Zimbabwe will beat us to make it to the second round, regardless of how unpredictable we are. :rolleyes:

desired bro, for your correction
we beat england, NZ in 96 as well
lost to SA in 99 as well
Never faced australia in 87 before the semi final at lahore where they beat pakistan. Pakistan beat them in 92 WC in a do or die match. In 99 we beat them in a thrilling pool match and lost to them pathetically in the final.

desired: good post.

Some other points to consider:

2003 World Cup: there was a "Super Six" and two semi-finalists had the following records there: Sri Lanka 2-3 and Kenya 3-2...also they carried forward one point for wins against non-Super Six teams, not sure if this is still the case...

The real World Cup begins in the second round (as has been the case the past two times), which is good because the ICC Knockout Trophy gives a chance to see the Upper Tier teams (without Round Robin)...Pakistan should fancy their chances to at least reach the SFs.

The only problem I see is that this will be during Spring Break, too many drunk goras!

thanks all for all the corrections i do seem to have an ailing memory ehehehehe
as for us being unpredictable i think that was all prior to chacha bubloo coming in ever since he has been around we have been quite predictable we have been winning mostly and do underperform in the occassional match this consistency thing needs to be sorted out and we have to be able to perform consistently and i do believe this is something which will be addressed if chacha bubloo still has a job as our coach by the 07 world cup.

another thing which always keeps coming in my mind is that 07 World Cup wud definetly be our kaptaan sahab dear inzi's last ever tournament. i do hope he is still around come Mar 13 2007 we all remember wat a bad tournament he had in south africa i just have this feeling that inzi is due a very sucessful tournament this time around and i for one would love him to emulate imran and be the second pakistani player to bow out as a winner with his head held high.

PS on a side note even though we all laugh at inzi whenever he says the boy played very well after every match that we win i think its all down to imran not thanking his players when we won the final in 92 i think this is something which has stuck in his head as there was an issue regarding this dont know wat u all have to say about this?

whatever may happen i just hope that 07 is our year and we do become world champions once more May Allah Be Wid Us Ameen

Pakistan will win the World Cup. Inshallah

45 days for the tournament, and Super 8 is such a long "series" .... daym man.

Was just going through the tournament schedule as I do it every other day and started thinking that what will be the schedule of Pakistan matches and who will be their opponents in super 8.
Pakistan is in group D and hopefully they will be the winners of the group (just an assumption), so they will be D1.
Pakistan/D1 will play their first match of super 8 on march 30 against C2 which hopefully will be NZ.
Second match will be on April 3rd against A2 which will be SA.
Third on April 9th against C1 which will be England.
Fourth on April 13th against A1 i.e. the bloddy aussies.
Fifth on April 15th against B2 which is likely to be be Srilanka.
Sixth and last super league match on April 18th against B1 which will be India. Damn why do we have to play our last match which could be the most crucial one against India. Although we will kick ass hopefully in this World Cup but still tension tu hotie hay na.

Very probable, but kameenay Aussies will be in the way :frowning: .