film actors in islam

Re: film actors in islam

shabash.

I know a Muslim actor here in LA and he chooses roles that he feels are not against his beliefs. I don't think he would take romantic roles that involved anything physical.

nah, your life mission is service to humanity

if you pay your taxes , rents and bills , follow the speed limit then is it okay to rape women or kill some one you really hate?

But to answer your question, inshAllah if you steadfastly hold on to five pillars Allah will guide you to the right path. Namaz buriyoon say rokti hai. Or so i believe.

One way to think about it is this. Just an idea. Most of us Desi kids who grew up here in the West never really had rolemodels who were like us (actors). It’s become such a cliche now that an actor goes into rehab, gets divorced, has illegitimate kids(sp?) or takes really crappy acting work just to stay in the business.

Is it so hard to imagine a Muslim actor that generations of Muslim kids can look up to and say, “Hey you can live a good, clean life and be an actor?” Movies are a very powerful way of delivering a story that affects people emotionally. If a young person can sit down in a theatre and watch someone who he can admire rather than violence and sex then I’m all for it.

//You have been told already, such stuff is strictly not allowed. What else do you want? and what do the 5 pillars have to do with it? The five pillars make you a Muslim, you acting in the movie, is forbidden...but doing it will not make you a kaafir.
//
So the judgement has already been pronounced. People all over the world please take note. On a personal note dont you watch any soap on TV. Well isnt that haraam. Please provide a judgement...
Am eagerly waiting.

//I know a Muslim actor here in LA and he chooses roles that he feels are not against his beliefs. I don't think he would take romantic roles that involved anything physical.//

Isnt that hypocrisy of the worst order. He choses roes that he feels are not against his beliefs. If he is a mainstream actor, he would definitely be acting in soaps that defy his beliefs. By acting in such soaps isnt he in a way promoting those soaps. They might go around running ads like "The best islamist in town is acting in our soap...So what is preventing you (muslim) to watch this serial"

It’s not a soap. I don’t know what your perception is of television is…if you’re just against t.v itself. But not all actors are doing romantic and silly stuff. Anyways i’m curious to know what your reasons are for thinking that acting is completely forbidden? I don’t think you gave a specific reason. I myself am an artist and you could argue that it’s completely forbidden to create art because you can’t draw the human form or face. But not all art is about creating realistic portraits. There’s all sorts of art. Many different ways of expressing ideas. I feel the same way about acting. It’s not haram for Muslims to express themselves through art or acting or free speach.

Agreed it is not soap. Arent you contradicting your own statements in the post.

According to you, acting is not about creating realistic portraits. So you just show nature and have only voice overs I suppose..

if its is an indian movie actor and actress then its halal 100%. if pakistani then haram 500%. and if its your fav hot guy in the movie then to hell with haram & halal you are already in jannah. :P :D