Filing Small Claims - Question

Anyone ever file a small claims lawsuit? Here is the scenario. My friend was sending his kids to this club to learn gymnastics. He paid one set fee for the tuition & had to pay another amount about $4000 to the Parents Association of that Gymnastics club. The $4000 was put into an account where money would be taken out to pay the coaches and fees for each of the competitions for the kids. Anyways my friend D, took one of his kids out as she needed more of a challenge. The association got mad for whatever reason and asked him to take out his other 2 kids as well. Anyways the initial fees he paid for the year will be Pro-rated & the check will be mailed to him in about 8 weeks. Now out of the $4000 he put into the account to the parent’s association, they are refusing to give anything back pro-rated…they owe him $2200.

He wants to file small claims against them? The contract even said that if individual pulls out, the fees would be returned pro-rated…etc. Now this parents association has like 3 board of directors and a few employees. When he files the claim should he include just the name of the association or also include the name of the board of directors? If anyone can help, it’d be appreciated.

Mods I am not sure what forum this belongs to, please change to proper one if this is wrong

Re: Filing Small Claims - Question

Attorney general bro...always works.

Anybody??

Afro-sheen, I don’t have an answer but do have a question. Have you tried looking at some websites? This one provides a lot of info on various types of lawsuits, including Small Claims:

Things also depends on which state you live in as most laws governing such things are under state jurisdiction.

thanks tofi baba
yeah he's done some research online. I told the dufus to go to his local courthouse & visit small claims unit just to make sure...

um.......if the contract created by the association claims that money will be pro-rated if one is pulled out.......and they refuse to pay up......they are breaching their own contract..... POING!!!!????.........

Your friend has to thoroughly read all the paperwork provided by the company….starting from contracts to anything that has to deal with that association. There will definitely be loop holes within the contract. When those loop holes are found one must go to the small claims court and present solid in writing proof that in the occurrence of the event in which one has been pulled out, the customers will get their money pro-rated and returned. It doesn’t matter who’s on what board of what directors for the simple fact that, what is in writing stays that way and both parties must abide by those rules set forth……..ghod mujai bhook laagree hai

o and hows uncle auntie!?

Umm Prodigy...are you who I think you are....meri saheli ka chota bhai...
Salaamz!!! :)
Ammi abu are good. Chotu Sparkle is doing good too, shararti as ever.

Judge Judy :D

Hanj Ji it is me...DON!!!!!!......lol.....im glad 2 here that....ima be honest i miss yer pops.....its been a minute......and u need to bring that child to my house!!!!!......i wanna give him a mo hawk !!!!!!!.......hope it helped....i dont remember much from undergrad law ....lol....but u get the gist of it lol.......or he can judge judy!!!...HOLLAAAA!!!!!!