this is a great column by rauf klassara for our respectful muhajir community.
Muhajir community has so many shikway from everyone…today kalassara is asking them few questions as well.
this is a great column by rauf klassara for our respectful muhajir community.
Muhajir community has so many shikway from everyone…today kalassara is asking them few questions as well.
Re: few questions for you my dear muhajir brothers
and yes can some literary muhajir brother on this forum please convince janab shakee adalzada to start writing bazigar again............if you have not read bazigar, you have missed a big part of urdu literature
Too much headache Zara hat Kay.
To keep it short, the biggest crime that was done against muhajirs was when Bhutto nationalized the private sector and then people were imported from outside city to those old jobs. People in their blinders can make all sorts of excuses for it like some characters do on this forum, but the point is that even Baluchis don't like others to have first dibs on jobs in gwadar or saindak etc.
as priva
You can see the popularity of mqm going down as things did improve in Karachi and the party couldn't justify all its behavior. Perhaps that is what is needed in Sindh wrt PPP, but where do you think PTI has a better chance of winning today? Karachi or perhaps Hyderabad or interior Sindh? They didn't even field Canidates in the interior. PTI has also disappeared from the Karachi scene considering the fact that it did pick up seats like the bigs hot arif alvi.
Seats? Only Arif Alvi picked up NA-250 that too after an intense fighting for a re-count. And that's only ONE MNA seat in the whole of City and probably just 3-4 Provisional Assembly seats.
Arif Alvi is one of very few MNA's who is so actively involved in his constituency and maintains connection on grass root level. But let's not kid ourselves that somehow Arif Alvi's respectability in Defence and Clifton is enough to make him a household name in Karachi. Ironically, PTI's opponents in Karachi successfully bring the party down for being too posh and rich looking.
I really don't see PTI ever breaking through Karachi's lingual, ethnic, geographical and class barriers to become the party of the City. Other than that, it's a same old story, likes of Arif Alvi, Naz Baloch, Ali Zaidi, Imran Ismail, Faisal Wadda would win the usual so called posh constituencies in free and fair polling, and that's about it. Too bad Asad Umar fghts from Islamabad.
They ain't winning jack from rest of the Sindh - at least in my lifetime.
Wasn't Sub Rang the digest that only used to print one edition a year? I remember that was its uniqueness as Suspense, Jassosi, Sarguzasht etc were all monthly and Sub Rang used to print only one edition a year.
When did it stop printing?
Btw how much improvement can govt jobs bring to a community? After all there are a few jobs
Wasn't Sub Rang the digest that only used to print one edition a year? I remember that was its uniqueness as Suspense, Jassosi, Sarguzasht etc were all monthly and Sub Rang used to print only one edition a year.
When did it stop printing?
yes nikema....you are right. sab rang used to come once a year and people used to wait for it for so long. all the copies would be sold in hours. shakeel adalzada sahib was the editor of sab rang and the quality of magazine was very high. shakeel sahib himself used to write bazigar novel in sab rang which published for good 15 years. I think it stopped sometime in 2001...he started it again in 2006 but stopped again.
Btw how much improvement can govt jobs bring to a community? After all there are a few jobs
I am a proponent of private sector, but the dynamics were different when everything was nationalized and only govt was providing jobs. Heck, no jobs is part of the reason we got Isis in Iraq.
Local jobs in govt do help people get a stake in govt and society of a country. You would have to do that in Baluchistan if you truly want to end the insurgency there.
if PTI can't capitalize when mqm is not doing well, then perhaps you guys aren't all the hope and change that we were led to believe :D my point was that there was a time that mqm won in the posh areas of Karachi as well. They had operations done against them and they still swept the elections in those early days.
Anyway time for starting the fast.
PS Why am I seeing huma's avatar all over the thread?
I am a proponent of private sector, but the dynamics were different when everything was nationalized and only govt was providing jobs. Heck, no jobs is part of the reason we got Isis in Iraq.
Local jobs in govt do help people get a stake in govt and society of a country. You would have to do that in Baluchistan if you truly want to end the insurgency there.
But its not like no local jobs for muhajir. The issue was federal jobs which are only a few.
if PTI can't capitalize when mqm is not doing well, then perhaps you guys aren't all the hope and change that we were led to believe :D my point was that there was a time that mqm won in the posh areas of Karachi as well. They had operations done against them and they still swept the elections in those early days.
Anyway time for starting the fast.
PS Why am I seeing huma's avatar all over the thread?
MQM swept Karachi because it was fighting on ethnic lines and control of just one or two Cities. MQM could conquer Karachi through exploiting ethnic tensions and widening divides whereas PTI's success is limited in Karachi because it can't do any of that. Yet unlike MQM, due to this very reason PTI has a massive appeal and vote bank outside of Karachi. So they are on the right track.
I think PTI is generally confused and demoralised after NA-246 defeat when they taught Saulat Mirza's confession, raid on 9-0 and truth behind Baldia Town factory would make a dent in MQM's vote bank. But alas, you simply cannot underestimate the curse of ethnic xenophobia in parts of Karachi/Sindh.
Every weak and poor community faces injustice in Pakistan. It is just that Urdu Speaking community of Karachi is much more vocal and politically active for their rights (which is not a bad thing).
The stimulus was mostly the fear of losing advantages that the community had after creation of Pakistan. They were the most literate people with an established commerce and business culture. They thrived well until 70s when other communities started catching up and creating regulation to give themselves a better playing field.
There was foolishness behind all , Shifting Capital from Karachi to Islamabad while East Pakistan was with us , Making one Unit and than a foolish way opted to dissolve that , merging all small units into four provinces including Karachi was a blunder mistake . And than making/promoting MQM for very small interests big mistakes
MQM swept Karachi because it was fighting on ethnic lines and control of just one or two Cities. MQM could conquer Karachi through exploiting ethnic tensions and widening divides whereas PTI's success is limited in Karachi because it can't do any of that. Yet unlike MQM, due to this very reason PTI has a massive appeal and vote bank outside of Karachi. So they are on the right track.
I think PTI is generally confused and demoralised after NA-246 defeat when they taught Saulat Mirza's confession, raid on 9-0 and truth behind Baldia Town factory would make a dent in MQM's vote bank. But alas, you simply cannot underestimate the curse of ethnic xenophobia in parts of Karachi/Sindh.
I don't man (figuratively) but didn't PTI just lose in cantonment elections. Punjabis are getting happy with metro buses and qeema paratha kiya bura hai during time of elections? In fact, someone from lahore actually mentioned that fact that campaigns used to be so much fun where you would eat this at PPP camp, go to JUI camp eat that and PML-n would give you food too... :D
Every weak and poor community faces injustice in Pakistan. It is just that Urdu Speaking community of Karachi is much more vocal and politically active for their rights (which is not a bad thing).
The stimulus was mostly the fear of losing advantages that the community had after creation of Pakistan. They were the most literate people with an established commerce and business culture. They thrived well until 70s when other communities started catching up and creating regulation to give themselves a better playing field.
Regulation is one way to put it, but even PPP's own gillani admitted that nationalization was a blunder. Maybe, in 100 years, someone else in PPP might admit that doing quotas only instead of merit destroyed PIA, steel mill, railways etc. Imran khan says it so though not so much since he knows that he won't win an election. Sometimes his ambiguity can give you hope..
Nationalization was not a blunder. It was politically motivated crime, the effects of which we still suffer. How come there was nationalization and farmlands remained in private hands?
This is such a biased article. The people who migrated from India left EVERYTHING behind and by everything I mean big houses (haveli type), businesses, all their money, jewelry etc. They started here all over again.
As for the writer complaining that the mohajir did not educate them, well it wasnt their duty to educate you! It was the government's responsibility to build schools everywhere. But the quota system is almost a crime and nothing the writer says can justify it.
As far as the siraikis are concerned, I guess the writer has forgotten that mqm raised the demand for a separate siraiki province.
I am not really much into politics now but this article is so accusatory and reflects the hatred that the writer has for other ethnicities.
and yes can some literary muhajir brother on this forum please convince janab shakee adalzada to start writing bazigar again............if you have not read bazigar, you have missed a big part of urdu literature
بارود کی کھیتیوں میں پھول نہیں کھلتے اور جب بارہ جماعت پاس بنبندوقچی حکومت کریں تو ادب شاعری فنکاری کبھی پنپ نہیں سکتی
We have been over this many times...
and no Bhutto did not Introduced any Quota System ... all he did was re adjust the already implemented quota system according to the new post 72 Pakistan realities.... and this re adjustment cut deep into their power base and that hurts..
by the way ... quota System was actually introduced by Liaqat Ali khan as early as Sep 48 it was some what adjusted in Nov 49 ...
it was heavily titled in the favor of Mohajirs ... Mohajirs were then 3 % of Total Pakistan's population both East and West were given 15% Quota ... Karachi had a seperate 2 % Quota ..... Karachi was Federal Territory not considered a Part of Sindh .... Bengalis were given 40-42 % ... Punjabis including Bhawalpur which then was a seperate state were given 22 % ....and here is the Ironic Part...
Sindh + Balochistan + NWFP today's KPK ] three Provinces were given 17% Quota ....!!
it was given constitutional cover by 56's constitution implemented for 15 years... then in 62's constitution extened for another 10 years.... hence it remained in force till Dec 72
Dec 71 saw Pakistan dismember and now ground realities emerged... Bhutto merely re adjusted that to the new ground realities of Pakistan ...when we lost Bengalis ....and Punjabis from 28 % became some 60-62 % ....and the Division in Sindh became prominent ethnic Division ..... all Rural Area had negligible Urdu Speaking Population and alll Urban Areas had practically No Sindhi population in it... Bhutto wisely called this Urban / Rural Divide ... and not Urdu /Sindhi Divide ....and the Quota for Sindh with i think was some 19 % was divided accordingly ..... 60/40 .......though Population wise Urdu speaking population was 22-23% of Sindh Population ...
..so this re adjustment cut deep into their Power base... and while at one time ..the were some 65 % of Beaurucracy .... suddenly the numbers dropped to some 22 % that a sharp decrease....and created the feeling of victimhood... and augemented the victimhood mentality ..which we see today ..
but then it was a time for turmoil.... too many things were happening ...not only in Pakistan but around it .... and it created tensions...
for example .... in 71 Pakistan was broken , then there was a Religious revolution in Iran , then Russia invaded Afghanistan ., the fall out of both in form of non-Pakistani Migrants was faced by Karachi ...Iranians did not stayed long ...the moved to other areas... while Afghans... they deeply entrenched themselves ...and with nothing at stake for them .... brought havoc in the social and cultural life of Paksitan ..., there is another factor of East pakistanis ... mostly who came here were deeply disillusioned had a deep grouse against the Paksitani establishement....and some of those were battle hardened and ruthless in search of revenge .... and that was later exploied by Altaf...any way ......Bhutto was removed in 77 .and then subsequently hanged .Zia's distortions started to take roots..... and a lot ... it all had its impact... Pakistan from a tolerant progressive forward looking Modern state .... about turned into a intolerant , deeply divided and fragmented in all apsect ... political , ethnic , language wise... Religion wise... in short all sort of fragmentation started taking roots.... and the Result .... is the what we see today...