Feroz Khan in Pakistan

http://ww1.mid-day.com/news/city/2006/april/136108.htm

Lahore: A drunk Feroz Khan got into a fight with the anchor of a party in Pakistan late last night. The party at Lahore’s Royal Palms, was held to celebrate the successful premiere in Pakistan of Akbar Khan’s film Taj Mahal.

The anchor, Sakre Aalam, was asking Bollywood personalities for their reactions to the release of Taj Mahal and their views on Indo-Pak relations in the entertainment business.

When Aalam questioned Manisha Koirala, the actress hesitated a little, so Aalam said, “Ma’am, you are shaking, so let me not ask you the question.”

Hearing this, Feroz Khan, who was standing next to Manisha, flew into a rage and pounced on Aalam, saying, “You had better say sorry or I’ll beat the s**t out of you.”

His younger brother Akbar and son Fardeen intervened and kept the situation from getting out of hand. Soon after, Shatrughan Sinha led Feroz to a corner, pacified him, and kept him apart from Aalam.

An eyewitness told MiD DAY, “Feroz was very drunk. Usko chad gayi thi.

The eyewitness said, “He didn’t know what he was doing. He just went at the anchor for no reason. When Aalam interviewed him, Feroz talked too much. He started speaking about secularism and went on a complete tangent.

“The anchor hinted to him that he was going overboard, by saying they did not take their guests’ trespasses seriously. Feroz did not take that comment lightly. What transpired during Manisha’s interview was a result of what Aalam had told him earlier.”

The source added, “Feroz should have realised the importance of the occasion. This is not the right way to behave at a place when so many high profile people are around. Things got nasty.

“Feroz has a habit of meandering when he is in front of a mike. He even criticised George Bush in Delhi on Monday, where they had stopped to meet Information and Tourism Minister Ambika Soni before leaving for Lahore.”

Though Feroz was unavailable for comment, director Mahesh Bhatt confirmed the Lahore incident. “But we must not let such trivial matters tarnish the glory of this historic moment between India and Pakistan.”

Feroz had gone to Pakistan with brother Akbar. Sanjay Khan, Pahlaj Nihlani, Fardeen Khan, Shyam Shroff, Shatrughan Sinha, Mahesh Bhatt, Vikas Mohan, and several actors from Taj Mahal were also present

Re: Feroz Khan in Pakistan

a drunken feroz khan lashing out at a reporter........what a great posterboy for secularism. this is as it should be.

The Bollywood Khans are known for their erratic behaviour. There are exceptions of course like Aamir, but the rest are a unique bunch. From Feroz Khan to Fardeen to Salman .. each is unique

I don't even consider them true Khans. They're all hybrids and have hindu blood flowing in them. A true muslim doesn't marry a hindu (eg. Shahrukh, and Saif "Khan")

So he pounced on Fakhre Alam according to BBC...

its fakhre alam not sakre alam.

anyways i saw the interview where fakhre alam handled the situation very maturely. feroz went on an on about "im proud to be an indian" and fakhr just said u are our guest so we respect you.i wonder why that got to him?... also that rekha left from the airport cuz there wasnt enough security...people were pushing them around. fardeen however was very very sweet...

I am a proud Indian: Feroze Khan

http://www.expressindia.com/fullstory.php?newsid=66840

Press Trust Of India
Posted online: Friday, April 28, 2006 at 1725 hours IST

Islamabad, April 28: Veteran Bollywood actor Feroze Khan’s comments highlighting the comfort levels of Muslims in India in comparison to that in Pakistan set off a heated verbal exchange between him and another person during the premiere of ‘Taj Mahal’ in Lahore.

Feroze Khan, who is in Pakistan along with his family including son Fardeen Khan, to attend the premiere of his brother Akbar Khan’s film ‘Taj Mahal,’ got engaged in a war of words with Fakhar-e-Alam, who was anchoring the function during the movie’s release in Lahore on Tuesday.

“I am a proud Indian. India is a secular country. Muslims there are making lot of progress. Our President is a Muslim, Prime Minister a Sikh. Pakistan was made in the name of Islam but look how the Muslims are killing each other,” Feroze Khan was quoted as saying during the premiere by the local daily ‘The Nation’ today.

Not stopping at that, he went on to say, “I have not come here on my own. I was invited to come. Our films are so powerful that your government could not stop them from long,” the daily reported.

His comments set off a backstage row between him and Alam, who took up the issue with the 67-year-old actor resulting in a heated verbal exchange. The other Indian film stars and delegates apologised to Alam over the incident, the report said. The Indian delegation that attended the premiere included Minister for Tourism and Culture Ambika Soni and Congress MP Rajiv Shukla.

Feroze Khan later denied making any remarks against Pakistan or its people. “I have a lot of respect for the people of Pakistan who received us with great love. It is a matter of pride for me that the film of my brother is being exhibited here and people not only gave a very warm welcome to the delegation but also an encouraging response to the film too,” he was quoted as saying by another newspaper ‘The Post’.

“Fakhar-e-Alam showed disrespect to my colleague Manisha Koirala by asking a question in an indecent manner. I asked him to be responsible and not ask such questions. I did not use even a single word to disgrace Pakistan, the Pakistani people or my hosts. Any such story can be concocted. How can a staunch supporter of friendship between two neighbouring countries speak any word that could harm the peace efforts?” he asked.

Feroze Khan’s comments drew mixed reaction in the media here. Reporting on the ‘Taj Mahal’ premiere, ‘Daily Times’ said “although the announcer made glaring mistakes in pronouncing names, Feroze Khan saved the evening by taking over and delivering a grand speech. He praised the Indian and Pakistani leaders for making such an event possible. His speech was met by loud applause,” it said.

‘The Nation’ said the incident left a "bad taste in the mouths of Pakistani audience and artistes to see the other side of the Indian hero’s personality.

Feroz Khan is a total embarrasment for Indian actors. He’s nothing to be proud of. :rolleyes:

Pagal ka bachcha!!lol

Feroz khan has been in Pakistan before. I saw him at Asif Zardari and Benazir's wedding in Kakri Ground. I guess he was invited at that time too.

hmmm well he doesnt exactly act like a muslim

Feroz Khan? Does anyone really care? He hasn't made a decent movie in 20 years.

Bollywood has always taken great pride in swearing by secularism. But when Feroze Khan, one of its well known faces, sought to wear it on his sleeve in Pakistan earlier this week, it created a controversy of sorts.

Khan’s comments on the comfort levels of Muslims in India in comparison to Pakistan was the subject of a row between him and a TV anchor, Fakr Alam, at the premiere of Taj Mahal in Lahore. The veteran actor is currently in Pakistan with his family, including his son Fardeen, to attend the premiere of the film, made by his brother, Akbar Khan.

“I am a proud Indian. India is a secular country. Muslims there are making lot of progress. Our President is a Muslim, Prime Minister a Sikh,’’ he told the anchor when sought for a TV byte. The media reported that he went on to criticise Pakistan, saying, “Pakistan was made in the name of Islam but look how the Muslims are killing each other.” Khan denied this, saying he never made comments against Pakistan and only took up cudgels with Alam after the anchor showed disrespect to his colleague, Manisha Koirala, also part of the Bollywood delegation.

how is he gonna deny this? i mean i SAW him on tv making those comments. :confused:

Feroze says Fakhar-e-Alam spoiled dinner

LAHORE: Indian actor Feroze Khan has said he loved Pakistan and Pakistanis but regretted singer Fakhar-e-Alam’s remarks about Indian actress Manisha Koirala at a dinner a day ago, which spoiled the event. In a hurriedly called press conference at Pearl Continental Hotel, Feroze Khan regretted that Fakhar-e-Alam picked on Manisha by saying she looked nervous at the dinner. “I was told that women are given respect in Pakistan but Alam’s remarks to Manisha were contrary to my belief,” he said. Feroze praised Manisha for not responding to Alam’s remarks and said that he (Feroze) wanted to leave the function because of Alam’s “bad attitude”. Feroze denied reports that he had run up to the stage to beat up Alam and said Alam was propagating the incident in the media. The veteran Indian film star also announced a Rs 200,000 donation for the October 8 earthquake-affected people. staff report

http://www.dailytimes.com.pk/default.asp?page=2006\04\29\story_29-4-2006_pg13_2

Pak should ask Feroz khan to pack up and go home. Who cares about a has been moron.

Feroz Khan was the original hot-blooded filmi hero, the dapper bad boy whom women loved to hate.

Feroz Khan was the original hot-blooded filmi hero, the dapper bad boy whom women loved to hate. Cowboy shoes and bandanas, brawls and a foot forever in his mouth, you can love him or hate him, but there’s no way you can ignore him.

His behaviour at Taj Mahal’s premiere in Pakistan, where he made anti-Pak statements and shouted at an anchor caps a long and illustrious career. DT brings you a few interesting snippets from Bollywood’s grapevine…

Khan’s fascination with steeds dates back to his school days. At a time when his classmates would come to school in staidly conventional cars and buses, Khan, on a whim, would come riding on horseback.

During his heyday, Khan’s parties in Juhu could be heard miles away. Not only were they lustily loud, apparently more abuses, and often scuffles, were exchanged in one evening of festivity than gifts.

During one of Fardeen’s baby showers, Feroz decided to have him dipped him in champagne.

Once, he got so frustrated because he just couldn’t get a shot right that he vented his frustration by hoisting the camera into the sea.

It’s heard that once he apparently called Sanjay Dutt over for breakfast and sat attired in a zany sarong. As the conversation got going, he was oblivious to his sarong coming open.

Dutt squirmed, and later told friends that he would have been happier if Khan had worn something underneath the sarong too!

BJP admires Feroze Khan for his remarks in Pakistan
New Delhi, Apr 30 (UNI) The Bharatiya Janata Party today came in support of Bollywood actor Feroze Khan, who created a flutter through his reported statement criticising Pakistan over the condition of Muslims in the Islamic country.

Hailing Khan as a true “nationalist” and a “humanist artiste,” BJP Vice-President Mukthar Abbas Naqvi said in a statement here that the actor was bold enough to be vocal about the “human rights violations” and “biased treatment” of Muslims who migrated there from India after the partition in 1947.

Khan’s reported statements were made in Lahore during the premiere of Akbar Khan’s “Taj Mahal - An Eternal Love Story” on April 28. He was part of a 38-member delegation from India to Pakistan on the occasion of the official screening of an Indian film there after a gap of 41 years.

The statement was reported by a Pakistani daily which said Khan criticised the condition of Muslims in Pakistan and praised India’s secular traditions.

While revealing that he had written to Khan in appreciation of his reported comments, Mr Naqvi regretted that the other members of the Indian delegation had “apologised” to their Pakistani hosts for his remarks.

“Khan has made Indians feel proud by presenting a clear picture of India,” he said, while pointing out that “…there are some people who take pride in praising even the wrong side of Pakistan when they are in that country,” he said.

http://www.deepikaglobal.com/ENG3_sub.asp?newscode=138410&catcode=ENG3&subcatcode=

Without praising India’s so-called secularism and pakistan’s bad treatment to muhajirs mukhtar abbas cant survive in the BJP without making these kind of statements

Acha bharati woh hai jo pakistan ki burraye karay aur mohajiron par zulm india ko bataey.

Urdu speaking people did face discrimination but nothing like what indian muslims face.Muhajirs have gained so much in pakistan and nothing in india after partition

why’d he come to pak if hes such a ‘proud indian’…loser…both him and his bachay suck…he can take his kids and himself to hell..oh i meant india…:hoonh: jk…its all ignorance…no one asked him to talk about it pak/india relations…but im guessin thats why he came… to say crap… so meh let him talk…no ones gonna care…

How did he manage to get drunk? Would you not require alcohol for that?