I have a very honest question, what does it mean to be a feminist? I mean I really don’t know, I have a few ideas but none have ever been concrete, they all might make sense…
So what is it?
I have a very honest question, what does it mean to be a feminist? I mean I really don’t know, I have a few ideas but none have ever been concrete, they all might make sense…
So what is it?
Well, in simple words, it would mean someone who believes in the social, political, and economic equality of the sexes.
That would be someone who will believe in the equality of rights regardless of gender.
We all should be the feminists.
islam also gives equality.we should abide by its laws.
Top 10 things pakistani feminists like to say, LOUDLY
Hum Sa ji
LOL LOL LOL LOL
ji that was funny :):):):):)
HSHTSA,
Goood one..... :)
Even a man can be feminist. So the top 10 are not right unless there are no male feminists in Pakistan.
HSHTSA...
Now I wonder where you got that top ten list from....?
Feminism is often misunderstood...
Feminists are often considered as, radical grp of women involved in male bashing etc. Infact feminism is abt basic rights, abt equality. The basic idea is of an ideal world, against oppression, not only for women, but for all species of life. As a matter of fact, there isnt even one of us who has not been benefited by feminism.
Still, the word is taken in such a negative way, that a lot of us who identify with it, are not comfortable in calling ourselves as feminists.
Dear Nick,
Islam as practised today DOES NOT preach or provide equality for:
1) Women;
2) Non-muslims;
3) even muslims, e.g. shias.
To assume otherwise is sheer ignorance!
Femism is a disease that almost all abcd ladkian is having. It make the abcd ladkian think she can abuse shareef Pakistani admi and destroy is life. It teaches the aurat that she doesnot have to do what mard say. It teaches aurat to be proud of being a kuch nahin. It must be stop verry fast.
Well guys aj kal to larka bhee apna ap ko feminin bana ta hain....like extra makeup,light lipstick, kan may bunda,hath mai chain ,gala ma locket,sirf dress ka faraq ho ta hai....yar naraz mat ho na....
dil....dilseee
See, so many ideas, and all are different, so how do you know what it is...even if there is a set definition, everyone still has their own interpretation of it...But i would like to agree with Roman, ZZ, zainab and others who said that it stands for equality, thank you for helping me understand!
Man, someone mailed me this list year and i thought it was funny. Sheesh. No need to get offeneded.
Thanx Nadz and Imranz for seeing the lighter side of the list ;)
Feminism has done a lot to improve a woman's role in politics, work, etc. But men still rule the world. Why do our super models have to be tall and thin? Who set these standards? MEN. Why do women have to shave their legs and other areas? MEN told them to. Why do women have to wear high heel shoes? MEN. You get my point.
But women have yet to set standards for men.
hum...it is sad and interesting that there would even be a need for feminist to exist, but that is because there is a need for equality, yeah Fanatic men rule the world but it should be innate in them not to take all the power, but thats not the way it is...
Dear Fanatic!
that true....I dont get it why women are struggling this meaningless fight about the equality. They cant win this game so long men exist in this world. They are just like Tyrranousaurus. the men will lose only when qiamat come. The word "feminism" came into the dictionary not so long time ago (historically). When someone clever woman realized that they are living in men dominated world they found up the word "feminism". They want same right as men. That is feminism.
ok this is very interesting i read all the posts ....
Zainab ji is right ......feminism is not a curse or some thing to be looked down at ...its just a struggle to provide women their rights to exist as a humanbeing in the world ....... :):)
Abdulmalick ji
u are correct in everyway :):):)
Muqaddir ji
yes we all know how shareef u really are
---nadia winks* at others------
Fanatic ji
ok u have this wrong that women beautify themselves for men ......
if i comb my hair i will do it for myself cause i dont wanna look like a moron
if i wash my face i will do it for myself cause i dont wanna go out inthe world with a dirty face
if i take a bath i will do it for myself caue i dont wanto be stinking like hell
in conclusion in order to be sucessful in life one has to be self confident :):):)
women donot want the same rights as men ....thats wrong ....everyone knows that men and women are physically different in every aspects .......
however women struggle not to be abused by there husbands just cause they are woman
women struggle not to be harrased at work just cause they are woman
women fight against being raped just causse they are women
the list goes on of the injustices provoked on women just cause they are women .....
HumSa ji :):)
Adbul Malick wrote:
"Islam as practised today DOES NOT preach or provide equality for:
1) Women;
2) Non-muslims;
3) even muslims, e.g. shias.
To assume otherwise is sheer ignorance!"
Practiced by who? Me, you, your mom? The fundamentalist monolithic Islam you talk about in your posts is not practiced by the majority of Muslims. If you think it is - your the one being ignorant. Your a confused person.
Achtung ;)
Hi :)
Feminism, it seems to me, in the beginning was good--and a reaction to the oppressive laws of the Church which existed in Europe till then. The right to vote, to inherit, to earn a living..these rights are legitimate.
phir kya huwa? it all went crazy! people like Germaine Greer--the devi of feminists--started saying things like men and women are identical in all aspects--all men are potential rapists--men are bastards--etc .etc.
the end result is that due to a combination of feminism and related ideas like the sexual revolution, the traditional family unit is in crisis today in the West, broken homes are common, marriage is fast becoming a 'has been', children are growing up without the support of a traditional parentage and thus not being rasied properly, therefore they end up being neglected and turning to crime, drugs, violence..basically society is tearing itself up at the seams. and it all can be traced back to the radical feminist movement of the 60s...
the really sad thing is that the only people to have benefited from the feminist movement are....MEN! Yes, women are enocuraged to parade around naked on tv, magazines, etc. in the guise of freedom..so that the men in power can satisfy their lust! this is freedom??!
how many 'unattractive' [as defined by the current fashion of thin and supermodel like] women have made it in this society? a woman is judged on her sex appeal now only!
now women do 2 jobs---a career..and also the housework when they get home!! Stats show that most guys expect women to do the housework still!!!
yet look how beautifully Islam treats women; [and our model is the traditional society in Madina--not today's pakistan!]; the respect as a mother [paradise is at the feet of the mother], as a wife, as a daughter, as a sister; the right to a career is there too although the role of a mother is consdiered more important--and is; she can vote, inherit property, choose or reject her marriage partner, learn knowledge...she is RESPECTED in society; the hijab ensures that she is not treated like a sex object; even now men give more respect to a woman in a hijaab than one without one--it is a n honour for her; the right to dissolve marriage...etc etc.
so Islam has all the positive aspects of feminism already in it---without any of the negative aspects! if only people would realise this and practise it..and not be mislead by the modern western liberals...
"Today I have PERFECTED your religion for you".
I wish women would take the Honourable Wives of Habib Allah alayhi salaato salaam as role models and not Germaine Greer, Hillary Clinton, Madonna, or any other kuffaar women...
Similarly, the men must take the Companions as role models....
even now, if you live with a family that actually practises islam--you will see how beautifuly and respectfully treated the wone are--and how happy they are! The men HAVE TO, by shariah, provide for them; they are like princesses....respected, cared for, loved.
Not lusted after and disrespected. I once saw a woman working a night shift in a supermarket--stacking shelves and doing manual work--I was doing a summer job for some xtra cash there--and seeing her like that broke my heart; what kind of freedom is this???! she said she had to do it to bring her kids up...
is this what we want for our women?