Feminine Names

The recent hurricanes to hit USA have been given feminine names…Rita and Katrina… I often wonder about this use of feminien names to identify hurricanes…aisa kyun hai :confused:

please be serious here… :mad:

Re: Feminine Names

Fortunately (or unfortunately) those two feminine names were destructive to say the least; otherwise, the naming convention does allow names like David, Bob etc. but they are very kind in nature more often than others.

this issue has been beaten to death couple of times… garay murday na ukhara karo :o

hain ...acha....magar mainay tou nahi dekha na wo sab topics...so mujhay dobara information dou....hehe

Rita and Katrina were scientists who discovered those hurricanes.

I think I was the only serious poster in this thread so far as per the thread opener request.

:alhamd:

Tropical storms are names in alphabetical order (starting the alphabet over each year), alternating between male/female names. Also they are named in advance, so it's just a coincidence that the recent bigger hurricanes to hit USA have been given feminine names...

yeah thas a news for me alisha..thanks..you are so sweet....

it alternates b/w a male and a female name and they are decided in advance not by the scientist who discovers them as someone said. Here is the list for 2005 which grew to the end of the alphabets and is now on to greek alphabets.

Arlene
Bret
Cindy
Dennis
Emily
Franklin
Gert
Harvey
Irene
Jose
Katrina
Lee
Maria
Nate
Ophelia
Philippe
Rita
Stan
Tammy
Vince
Wilma

you want us to be serious after looking at your avtaar :p

^^:rotfl:

yep that someone was me. I was misinformed then. Thanks for the clarification.