Females looking at photos or videos of male genitals and vice versa

Re: Females looking at photos or videos of male genitals and vice versa

Legally you can and its allowed if you're over 18.

Morally no, but then that depends on your values and own morals.

Religiously, absolutely not. Its haram.

Im sure if you're old enough to be asking this question, you're certainly old enough to distinguish between right adn wrong.

Islam does not permit it without valid reason. That's my understanding of the issue.

Viewing genitals for educational purposes, or because of profession (doctor), or within the context of a marriage, or a mother changing diapers.........all of these situations are more reasonable/acceptable and I'm guessing all these scenarios would be sufficient to satisfy any curiosity that one might have about the issue.

However viewing pornographic scenes for the heck of it (whether male or female) whether on tv, Internet, in a book is obviously not allowed in Islam.

And as for your friend who thought you were strange because you refused to watch private body parts on tv......is she Muslim? Culture and religion play a big role as well. Perhaps your friend is from a culture/religion which does not frown upon such viewing.

And if your friend is Muslim, then please understand that Muslims aren't perfect and may not follow every rule in Islam......but that doesn't make what is forbidden permissible.

^You shouldn't do things just to please a friend. Surely, you wouldn't jump of a cliff because a friend has no qualms about doing it and thinks you're weird for not jumping. Listen to your own conscious, your own heart, your own belief system. People will always have opinions about you and everything else in the world. You should do what you know and feel in your heart and mind to be right.

And in one of the posts above you said, "If I want** to see them myself, either of male or of female, I will just take a look**. I'm not in school right now, I don't have any medical reasons either. If I want to have a look at them, it would be for different reasons." **Based on this statement, if you're telling us that you will **go ahead and look at genitals if you want to see them........then **why **are you worrying about whether it is wrong or right to do so? If you've decided to do whatever you **want **anyways.....then why bother about if it is right or wrong, allowed or not allowed.

People (Muslim and Non-Muslim) will always judge you and ask why you're doing this and why you're doing that. So instead of satisfying their wishes and trying to gain their approval.....do what you know and feel is right. And if you place religion to be the guiding force in your belief systems, then follow what religion says. But to give into other people's views is not healthy. One has to be stronger than that.

If people accuse you of things that you have not done.......then you can either 1) get upset and say/prove that you're innocent or you can 2) Ignore them and let them think whatever they want. BOTH of these reactions are fine. IF people have already MADE UP THEIR MINDS that you are 100% guilty.....then all the evidence in the world is not going to convince them because they are that closed-minded.

As far as **Hazrat Aisha **is concerned. Why are you comparing yourself to her? She is called the Mother of Believers. Here you are Notorious, complaining about how poor you were wrongfully accused.............when people had the NERVE to accuse the beloved wife of the Prophet and "Mother of Believers." These people DID NOT CARE AT ALL that she was the WIFE of the Prophet SAWS. These people DID NOT CARE about the HIGH POSITION and STATUS that she had........they ACCUSED her anyways! YOU are complaining about little ordinary YOU being accused........when such a prominent figure herself was accused with little regard to her position and status.

Allah had revealed verses in the **QURAN **that were meant to prove hazrat Aisha's innocence and also teach a lesson to those who wrongfully accuse others of being unchaste. Here is the verse:

[FONT=Book Antiqua] "Surely those who invented this calumny are a band from among you. Do not deem this incident an evil for you; nay it is good for you. Every One of them has accumulated sin proportion to his share in this guilt; and he who has the greater part of it shall suffer a mighty chastisement. When you heard of it, why did the believing men and women not think well of their own folk and say; 'This is a manifest calumny!' Why did they not bring four witnesses in support of their accusation? Now that they have brought no witness, it is they who are the liars in the sight of Allah"** (An-Nur, 24:11-13)**
Listen, Notorious........what is your belief system? I get the feeling you're doubtful about Islam. Whatever your beliefs are, I'm not going to judge you. You're entitled to your beliefs. If one believes in the Quran, then one would believe that Hazrat Aisha is innocent because the Quran is Allah's word. But you're comparing Hazrat Aisha to your own self. Did you exist during the time that Hazrat Aisha was living? Were you able to see her facial expressions when she was accused centuries ago? No, you weren't. You're only making an assumption. And you might even argue that I did not exist during that time period either......so how do I know that she's Innocent? Well.........I'm basing her innocence on the** Quran,** which i believe is Allah's word. And you're basing Hazrat Aisha's innocence not on the Quran........but on your own past experiences of accusations. Just because every detail of her history has not been recorded (such as whether or not she felt guilty) does not mean that she's guilty.

One thing I've noticed about you, Notorious, is that you relate every topic to your past experiences. You've even managed to connect the topic of VIEWING GENITALS to your past that was full of wrongful accusations. It's like EVERYTHING.......comes back to YOUR PAST. It seems to me Notorious, that you're DWELLING on the past too much. You have not moved on from your past. You keep coming back to it. I've noticed that a lot in your threads. And even in this one......you brought up your past of being the victim of wrongful accusations. Nobody in this thread is accusing you of anything.........but then you start bringing up how if you were accused of doing something immoral nobody would believe you.......and then you go on to connect it to a prominent religious figure whose innocence is confirmed in Quran.

^ I feel that you need to work towards getting over your past and not letting it taint everything.......including religion.

^ You said in an above post.......I always do get in trouble for nothing. So, if it's not too haram, I might as well have a look sometimes. Refusing to see those things, causes too much trouble. But if it really is too much haram, I'm not going to. That's why I wanted to know how negative it actually is. Because I do realize it's better not to. Well to answer, your question, it's not allowed. So unless you have valid reason situation, then don't do it........as you said it's "better not to do it."

And very likely nobody will ever accuse you of having any other reasons for liking it and nobody would ever give you any trouble about it. You are so lucky. I hope you realise how lucky you are.

I know what's right and wrong allright. But what use is it all, if even Muslims start behaving negatively towards me, just because I refuse to do something like that because of Islam? I've said no, for Islamic reasons, and yet, even Muslims started behaving negatively towards me.

It seems if I would do something a bit haram, then suddenly everyone starts treating me normal, even Muslims...

I understand what you mean. Scholars give an explanation for it that "stains are more prominent on white cloth". When because of good character of a person people develop good reputation for him/her, they don't tolerate even a minor mistake by him/ her as compared to the person who commits those sins in daily life as frequently as drinking and eating.

With time because of your good reputation people become more keen in observing you and don't tolerate even a minor act beyond their expectations, even if it is a misunderstanding, because they respect you. It is similar to a situation when a person is sitting in a glass house on the top of a mountain, from where everyone can observe him and point him out.

The only way to get rid of this criticism is to fall from the artificial mountain on the top of which people have placed you. Which means you have to ruin your reputation, because when you would be on the bottom of the mountain, a lot of your sins would not be clearly visible to common people because you are at the same level.

I know it is not good, but this is the way it works. And I am sure you don't want to ruin your character in order to save yourself from criticism. You have to live with it and ignore it even if people misunderstand your intentions. Because your intentions are not to please people but your ultimate LORD. Give explanations to only those who sincerely want to understand your intentions.

It's not only in the past, this thing now is also in today. And it's the same kind of trouble as before. People still wonder about why I didn't do something years ago, they treat me negatively because I did or didn't do or say something years ago, or even one year ago, they just won't leave me alone. And this thing, about me having refused to look them, this thing happened now again, recently, I said I'm not allowed and don't want to and then now, again there were immoral lies about why I don't want to look at them.

So, if it's not too much haram, I'm really thinking about accepting it and having a look so at least even the Muslims will start behaving normal towards me...

And I've never ever said or thought to be equal to Hazrat Ayesha (ra)! You've misunderstood, misinterpreted my words. Whenever we have problems, or we have to make some sort of decision, we always look at the Quran and people also look at the Hadith, at the lives of the Prophet (pbuh) and his family and the Sahaba (ra). We try to find something that they said or maybe something that happened to them that could apply to our own situation in todays world, then we try to understand our situation or make our decisions about life in our world here, today. That's the only reason I took that example...

Nobody is equal to the Prophet Muhammad (saww), yet everyone tries to read or find anything he said about whatever topic, or whatever is written in the Quran, to find out what exactly there is about the topic we want to know something about. That doesn't mean that any Muslim who does that thinks he or she is equal to the Prophet Muhammad (saww) or even Allah! We all know our own place in the world...

Once again, I do something normal that any other Muslim does, who wants to know what Sahaba, Prophet (saww) and his family said about or did in certain situations, to know what to do in our today situation, or to understand something about our situation today, all Muslims do that, but nobody accuses other Muslims of thinking they are like the Prophet (saww) or his family members. Yet, when I now just thought about the immoral accusations against Hazrat Ayesha (ra), you are now accusing me of strange things.

I've always honoured her and always believed her to be innocent. I know how it feels when you are falsely accused. Why can't I like all other Muslims who do that, read about what the Prophet (pbuh) and his family members did when they were in some similar kind of situation in their own time? Why do I get strange accusations when I do that?

Everybody always says, the PRophet (saww)/Prophets (saww) familymembers (ra)/Sahaba (ra) did that or said that, he handled that particular problem like that, so we should in our situation today like him do this or do that or think this or whatever. But when I do the same thing that any other Muslim does, that even our Prophet (saww) encouraged us to do, I get in trouble!

And never once did I say or write that I doubted the moral behaviours or thoughts of Hazrat Ayesha (ra)!

I'm not living in the past, I live in today. Yet other people don't like that. They don't even like it when I'm happy, I've noticed all that. Other people around me, still ask and wonder about things that happened years ago, they still tell lies about me based on those things happened years ago. They won't leave me alone. Even when I said or didn't say or did or didn't do something a year ago, they keep wondering about that and saying strange things about that and won't leave me alone. I move on, they don't. I'm happy today, they don't like it.

And yes, if I want to see anything I want, I will without having to find any excuse like most people do. First, I have to know how negative it really is.

I've lived completely in Islamic way for some time, I didn't even talk or look at males, I was living in my own Islamic little world of my own, I was so happy, just me and Islam, and people were all telling immoral lies about why I was covering myself, reason was Islam, they made up immoral lies about it which aren't true, I was not shaking hands with males because of Islam and people and among them Muslims too, were telling immoral lies against me about why I didn't shake hands with males, etc. Yes, it's easy for anyone to say, don't care at all, but you know, it was difficult for me to get finally to the point that I don't care anymore what they say. Now I can finally say, I don't care about them. It wasn't easy though. It's not easy to do or not to do something because of Islam, and then both non-Muslims and Muslims treating you negatively because they start telling immoral lies about why you do or don't do something.

Very true!

Notorious, do you live in a small and close-knit Muslim/Pakistani community by any chance?

notorious, in my opinion if you keep blaming others for your feelings you will always be this way. Its a miserable loop. others' action >> your reaction (cause and effect) and so on.

All you have talked about is others say/said this and that and thats why I do/did this and that. You need to get this > No one can cause you to be happy or unhappy. You have to take responsibility for your feelings and emotions.

Its the meaning that you give to what people say >>> wow so they said this which mean I should be happy >>> hmm they said that which mean I should be sad. They are not making you sad or happy but you are. I know everyone seeks others approval for social and personal reasons but that should not be the defining factor, especially when their approval/disapproval is making a huge impact on your system.

And please for GOD sake, do yourself and your religion a favour and dont bring religion into the simplest of matters like this. Common sense works just fine if you have the basics straight.

In short if you (I am talking in general) blame and complain about others for your actions and feelings you are a loser. Thats how life is. Get over it or stay a victim your whole life, the choice is yours.

Peace.

^ Can I get an autograph please? :)

:blush:

notorious, dont take what I said seriously. I just realized other’s approval is damn important :D.

@notorious. Though I might be wrong, but from my personal observations, usually it is very difficult for a sincere and sensitive person to not take seriously (or ignore) the words of family members, close relatives and dear friends. Though it is easier said than done, but the best way is to not give explanations where you know it is of no use, but do take time to sincerely explain yourself where you feel it is necessary to do so. It is never a good idea to bottle up your (unavoidable) natural feelings/thoughts inside yourself and let it gain intensity inside you up till the time it makes its way out in the form of explosion of emotions. At times it is easier to ignore harsh comments of people (not related to you) but I do understand that when it comes from very close people, it hurts a lot, no matter how much we try to change our sensitive and sincere nature and falsely convince our self to become insensitive. In "those" specific cases it is always good to clear misunderstandings through polite communication and sincere understanding (At times even through "jokes with wisdom" one can convey ones point effectively without hurting anyone).

May Allah (swt) bless us all with the wisdom of solving our problems through appropriate use of words and actions.

p.s. It is always good to remind oneself to start every conversation and act "in the name of Allah(swt)..." so that seeking of the barakah (blessings) of Allah (swt) makes it easier to achieve our goal.

Some of what you say is true, but not all of it.

Environment does have some sort of effect on you.

And yes, I did cause unhappiness in my own life, when I was listening to my family members and doing everything they want. I should not have listened to my family. Then today I would have had a better life. My biggest fault, obeying my family. That is true, I should have had the guts and courage to stop listening to my family years ago. My own fault. I blame myself less for that though nowadays, the way I was brought up, was impossible to dare to do it at the time.

But not everything you do is only because of yourself. People do it all the time, behave in a certain way because of the environment.

And I'm not happy because of other people right now, I'm happy because I'm having a great time. In fact, everybody wants me to be unhappy, yet they see me smiling and laughing, they don't like it and I don't care. I keep laughing and smiling and they hate it. They try to make me unhappy and it's not working. Deep inside I also laugh at the people who purposely try to make me unhappy in one way or another and are failing. Because I feel very happy right now.

I don't care anymore what anyone thinks about me, only a few people. For me it still is important what the few people I do care about think about me. That's perhaps a mistake, I don't know. But that's the way it is right now. But I don't care about the rest anymore.

I like what you wrote. Very sensible, though not entirely accurate about human behaviour and thought.

Yes, though the community is a lot bigger nowadays then when I was growing up. There are more people now.

I like your sense of humor.

Common sense is fine, it's even in religion.

But as a Muslim, it's difficult to separate religion from daily life. Being a Muslim is something you do every second of the day. You can't say, I won't be a Muslim from that hour until that hour, you have te be a Muslim always. Or if you don't want to, then just have no Islam in your life.

But yet, very interesting comments and thoughts and I will take it serious.

I don't think it's very important that everyone likes you, but to me personally, it is important what my friend thinks of me, her opinion and that of other few people I do care about in my life, are very important to me.

I want people to hate me for something I really did do wrong, and not hate me for things I never did or said.

But never mind this topic now, I've had my answers and I've had some other strange comments. Maybe I've misunderstood some, but I have my answer now. I'm not going to tell you what I will do, I leave that to everybodies imagination.

Thanks everyone for the replies. Especially Intoxicated, Redvelvet and Submission to Peace, because you all had very interesting posts that even got me thinking. I like that.

And sorry if I have misunderstood anyone. If I have, let me know.

Redvelvet, I think I've misunderstood you when you wrote this:

*As far as Hazrat Aisha is concerned. Why are you comparing yourself to her? She is called the Mother of Believers. Here you are Notorious, complaining about how poor you were wrongfully accused.............when people had the NERVE to accuse the beloved wife of the Prophet and "Mother of Believers." These people DID NOT CARE AT ALL that she was the WIFE of the Prophet SAWS. These people DID NOT CARE about the HIGH POSITION and STATUS that she had........they ACCUSED her anyways! YOU are complaining about little ordinary YOU being accused........when such a prominent figure herself was accused with little regard to her position and status.

I first didn't read with much attention what you wrote. So it was as if you were accusing me of saying I'm equal to Hazrat Ayesha (ra), but now that I've paid more attention to what you wrote, I think you were actually trying to make me understand that if people could accuse someone like Hazrat Ayesha (ra), then why wouldn't they accuse someone like me, who is just a normal person, a nobody in fact. I think you were trying say that all kinds of people get accusations, if someone like Hazrat Ayesha (ra) got accused, why does a nobody like me complain, is that what you actually meant?

Have I misunderstood you first? You were trying to comfort me instead of accusing me of something I didn't say? In that case, I admit my wrong, my fault, and I apologise to you.

ok. I just saw "something" intentionally out of curiosity but it turned out to be educational for me (thing I did't know) .......... so I guess it'd be counted as "allowed" :@:

Agree with you kay hamaisha sub ki naheen sunna chahyay. Apni khushiaan bhi daikhni chahyaay. Jo aqalmand hotay hain wo sirf apni khushi daikhtay hain aur family ki khushion ko bhaar main daltay hain. Family ki khushi ki khatir chahaay apni sari khushiaan bhi qurbaan kar do to bhi wo khush naheen hotay so bahtar hai insaan sirf apni khushi ko ahmiaat day kar khud ko to khush kar sakta hai. Ub mera aisa khiaal hai pehlay naheen tha.

You are right we are not allowed to see anything according to Islam. I know you know that and want to make sure by asking ppl on gs.

Ghalat aur buray loag aap kay achchay kaam pay bhi aap ko bura kahain gay. So don't mind. I know that and I'm victim of those type of ppl too.

Jo khud buray aur gunahgaar hotay hain wo doosron ki achchion main bhi burai nikaal letay hain hain aisa sirf wohi kartay hain jo aap kayy khair khuwah naheen hotay.

Bohat achcha karteen hain aap jo khush rehteen hain. Hamaisha yoon hi khush reh kar apnay budkhuwahon ko aur unki sazizosh ko maat dain.

Buray loag sub ko bura banana chahtay hain aur apnay toar par poori koshish kartay hain. Achcha muslim to wo hai jo data rahay sari dunia ki mukhalifaat kay bawajood.

Choti choti baton main quran, islam aur hadees ko lana aur un say khud ko milana ya muwazna karna koi buri baat naheen. Choti choti baton main agar zara bhi shuk ho to us pay poochna bhi koi bura naheen balkay achcha hai apnay chotay chotay confusion bhi door kar lia jaay.

Common sense bayshak batata hai jawab achchai aur burai ka laikin phir bhi pooch lia jaay to koi muzaiqa naheen.

Allah sub musalmanon ki help karay loagon kay ghalat ilzamaat say bachnay ki aur un say nibard azama honay ki bahtar tor par taufeeq day ameen.