Female Imams: Why not?

Re: Female Imams: Why not?

There is a hadees jiska mafhoon hai ‘If you don’t have hayaa, do whatever you do’. :hmmm:

^^^ I guess people can question hadees, but most Muslims won't question Quran. So, does the Quran says you can't pray behind a female imaam. If so, I would like to know where?

Btw, if this type of congregational prayers/meetings meet spiritual needs of those praying who are we to question it? After all, if religion is about meeting spiritual needs than dogmatic rituals are less important b/c God is all knowing.

BTW what are the historical instances where females lead prayers in Muslim world (as referred in the article)?

Did Prophet's life had such instances where he encouraged Umhat ul Momineen to lead prayers (not to unsegregated gathering, but just females). Females used to pray in Masajids during Prophet's time, but separately from males.

^^^ True, but time has changed. During prophet's time people use to ride camels (still do) and fight wars with swards. Should we go back in time? Should modern transportation be outlawed b/c its not Sharia compliant? Like everything else...religions and religious beliefs must be flexible enough to catch with times.

Neither gayness nor female imamate for the awam was practiced by the people who brought us our religion. Despite what people say regarding homosexuality being "natural", murder and other forms of social obscurity are also natural and it is within our human capabilities to mould ourselves away from certain inclinations and harbour different ones through practice and discipline. Some men are periled with the urge and other men are not, but all men are required to abstain from anything "homosexual"

flexibility should have limits. Its not same thing to drive a car instead of riding a camel and allowing different genders to pray ghutna ghutne ke sath mila ke jhappi paa ke. Sharia hasn't forbidden use of modern technology (We all know this and this argument doesn't support female immamte ).

Time has also changed with the availability of time with people. In the name of flexibility, lets make an amendment in deen to pray just for two times as it is more convenient to modern societies.

^ Beautiful answer muqi

abhi make-up ke sath nahin hai, warna aur khoobsoorat lagti (ye post) :cb:

Well, if prayers help in meeting spiritual needs why limit to 5? You can pray as many times as you like. Btw, it seems like people are more focusing on dogmatic approach and rituals than prayers. If you have hard time concentrating on your prayers b/c of attractive imaam...male or female...than problem is not with imaam but you imaan (faith).

Islam is the religion of nature. It does provide ways where you don't have to face situation where your faith is examined on daily basis.

We can't conclude that a person's iman is weak when he/she gets attracted to natural things. We can conclude a person's iman is weak, when he /she indulges in acts which are forbidden / have no proof of practice in Prophet's life / and which can lead to unwanted situation (committing of sin).

That is precisely the point brother Shamraz ... Islam is a tradition first and then a philosophy second ... We do what others did before us before trying to rationalise what we do ... if we get this order the wrong the way round we will end up changing the religion drastically.

Most people won't know how to pray Salah if it wasn't for the Hadeeths or the Sunnah of Prophet Muhammad (s.a.w.). Are those hadeeths questionable too? How about the ones that outline what is Halal for consumption, and what is haram?

When we start to compartmentalize Sunnah and Quran, and do not take them as a whole package, the religious compass would be inaccurate because the entire foundation of the faith, its' practice, and daily dealings are derived from observing the actions of Prophet Muhammad (s.a.w.), because his seerah was the Quran and since most people will not question Quran, those same people also would have no problem adhering to authentic hadiths because Qurans repeatedly commands to Obey Allah and Obey the Prophet (Peace be upon him). You learn to live according to Quran by following both Quran and Sunnah. Sunnah is Quran implemented in everyday matters. They're inseparable.

But of course, if someone's looking for backdoor to the faith to introduce things they feel should be a part of the deen, then they will use all sorts of schematics to try and be a new and improved muslim. La haula wala quwwata illa billah.