Female education and desis

Last night I had this conversation with a DABBA. as you can see, it points to a very interesting fact that although we desis do encourage our sisters and daughters to get education and do well in schools, BUT when it comes to USING that education in real life, we still have that 19th century mentality. whats the point of educating them when they are not allowed to make good use of it!
your views on this?

Re: Female education and desis

but i AM allowed ..........

Some of parents still think in Pakistan that its not right for a gal to do job but I think now society is changing.Lot of ladies are working for example look at lady police force :hehe:

I completely agree with you, times are changing but there are a lot of desis out there who still have that mentality. e.g my parents, im currently doing a law degree, but ive been told as soon as i graduate im getting married. when i say what about getting a job, the response is 'there is no need for you to work if you get married into a good family, but its always good to have a degree'...i dont get it...if im slaving away at uni for 3 years i wanna be able to get something out of it too...hmmm...and they want educated girls for their sons BUT want them to be houswifes...crazy...

well its true for alot of desi parents. they want their daughters to get degrees in IT or med or law but when it comes to practicing and using their knowledge they hesitate they jst want to waste their money and time of their kids i wud say.

if they dont want their daughters to work and want them to stay at home and be nice wives and mothers then y dont they send them to some home making insttutes??? y law or med or IT??? jst to waste their time and to snatch sum other willing and deservng person’s rght (seat) and waste their own money??? :rolleyes:

i remember when i had to make my choice about my studies i chose arts but my dad went like art? thats a waste! then i chose medical but my dad had problems he was like y medical? u knw thats alot of hard work and all that so i said fine i chose IT still hes like i dunno wat ur gonna do with IT?? i dont understand! but he let me do it sumhow. he shud’ve said clearly that sweetie i want u to become a good wife and sent me to a nice cooking school! :rolleyes:

its not like if we work or have IT degrees we’r gonna be bad wives or sumthing :rolleyes:

but yeah desi men cant argue with them.

Except 4-5 main cities for Pakistan, rest is full with so conservative people, they don’t even allow women to study after hight school let alone doing job. Just look at the situation in NWFP… etc..

I wonder what will it take for Pakistani’s to change their physedo-mullah mentality !

thats not pseudo mullah mentalty. thats sumthing totally cultural ts like "hum beti ke ghar ka paani bhi nahi pete" and "humare khnadaan main larkian kaam nahi kartin" nuthing to do with mullaiat. never heard them saying its unislamic for women to work but always heard them saying ke log kia kahen ge!

Cultural too, but its more from pyesdo-mullah's,.. coz this exist all over the Muslims countries.. from Indonesia to Morocco

"humare khnadaan main larkian kaam nahi kartin & "hum beti ke ghar ka paani bhi nahi pete" .. .this came from sub-continent culture, but Indian's left it behind, unfortunately we are still having it !

then it makes it a asian thing cuz we r the one that think that u shunt bite the sweets when ur with guests:D. again i dont agree that they think its unislamic. cuz they r prefectly fine with others working but not their own daughters or wives. even heard them lecturing others about that its ok for women to work in islam but its not in our culture of family.

so it more like they r stuck up with their own dumb traditions.

Idiots, that sort of mentality is so depressing :(

i think no point in pursuing education that you donot intend to employ later in your life. however i do have certain misgivings about certain careers be it for males of females. i like islamic perspective on it. however sometimes individuals change their minds. when their daughters are young they are all like 'she can be whatever she wants to be' and when she is an adult their prime concern for her is to settle in marriage. tricky subject , i wouldnt be quick to condemn parents if they had solid reasons for changing minds. however if it is social hogwash then i pity them.

i dont understand that conversation at all but u've raised a really good (and quite sad) point.
:(

What is a DABBA?

Me neither..

If mi madre ever thought that, atleast I could live off the government and not have to work! :snooty: