I have an almost 9 month old. When he was born, he was 7lb. Pretty soon he put on a lot of weight. During his 4th month visit for vaccination, he was in the 95th percentile for weight but only in 50th for height. It has held steady since then. He was exclusively bf during the first 6 months, then my supply dramatically decreased and now he is on Similac(formula). I introduced solids at 6 months.
He consumes 24-26 oz of formula per day . I give him mixed veg(1/3 cup ) once a day: I pressure cook carrots, cauliflower , beans with little turmeric and grind with 2tbs of cooked dal and 2tbsp of cooked rice . Other times he has 4 tbsps of prepared oatmeal with little mashed apples. I am worried that I may be over feeding him. I don’t force him to eat or anything if he does not want to.
His pediatrician said that he will lose weight when he becomes mobile. He has been crawling for a month now and has been pulling himself to a standing position from past 2 weeks but his weight percentile is still holding steady. I am worried that if this continues , it may lead to childhood obesity .
Any suggestions regarding his diet would be much appreciated. It would be great have some sample feeding schedules for 8/9 month old.
Thanks.
Im not a mum ( or even married) but common sense shows that what you are feeding him is good healthy food, its not sugar or fat its all fresh and healthy.
Babies also eat as much as they want to eat they stop when they are full, from my experience of looking after cousins babies.
Also i think your doctor is right the wieght will fall off as he becomes more active.
he is only 9 months old bless him i dont think you need to worry especially as you are feeding him good healthy food.
Other parents will probably be more helpful, but common sense and an objective view point tells me you are doing fine!
my nephews were very chubby until they were breast fed.. as soon as they weaned, the chubbiness disappeared but then by that time they were a lot more active too so no worries, your kid will be just fine too!!
He is eating healthy stuff. This won't lead to childhood obesity. Just make sure you have distinct mealtimes. And continue with the great feeding you've been doing so far!
oh thats exactly how my baby was! and people scared me that there might be a hormonal problem :s anyways, he became leaner and lost some chubiness when he became more active (mashAllah) and also close to the time he began teething. He had an upset tummy for days and he didn't drink as much milk during that time
babies that drink formulla milk are normally chubier
dont force him and ask a child specialist cuz my aunt used to over feed my czn nd now she has some breathing problem
still its not much to worry
My daughter was born with very low birth weight became obese by the time of 4th month of her arrival in this world People literally used to comment that "kitni moti bachi hai " she rolled over a little late and doctor attributed this to her body weight. He advised me to meet a nutritionist who will guide me to reduce the formula quantity given to her. Anyway I did not meet any nutritionist and I carried on with proper formula feeding. Once she started crawling her weight got better . Now at 18 months masha allah her weight is absolutely normal. Don’t worry once babies become mobile/active and start crawling / walking the weight automatically comes down.