Should feedback be an open forum?
Should we make it such that only the poster sees his/her posts and responses?
Re: Feedback
i see too many tamaashbeens sitting on the aisles looting mazay .. i wana kick their rear ends with my peshawari chapal on.
I agree . The feed back is for the management to read and respond.
If the real purpose of having a feedback forum is like establishing one to one contact between moderators and general users , and keep it safe from others .. It could be done via Pms :)
Democracy doesn’t means the bludgeoning of the people by the people for the people.
Should we make it such that only the poster sees his/her posts and responses?<<<
Yes.
a. Poster opens a topic, and for responding, person must be member of mod/admin team.
b. Poster only sees topics opened by poster.
I think Feedback needs to be open to all readers - yes, it will attract tamaash beens, sure. But it being open does greater good than evil.
I will be honest and say Feedback is the one place I get to see the administration and mods doing their jobs and fulfilling their roles - and it's appreciated. Otherwise, it seems they are just hanging about doing nothing. This is a good place as it is - should not be restricted and someone has already mentioned the notion of democracy and what it means. Let's do things the right way here. :)
There's a lot of value in collective feedback from multiple users who may add valid and valuable comments to other members' topics.
I agree that the current model can lead to chaos but implementing an individualized model is not the answer. It goes against the essence of an online "community".
Also, as straight-up mentioned above, this is perhaps the only mechanism through which the administration maintains transparency and fosters perceptions of trust in the member population. Learning about the various resolutions being enacted by the admins and mods as well as the technical problems being addressed goes a long way in building confidence in the admin team's competence and integrity. Going to a stricter model will inhibit this organizational trust.
i see too many tamaashbeens sitting on the aisles looting mazay .. i wana kick their rear ends with my peshawari chapal on.
maaf kardo, bachay hain! ... waisay bhi aj kal jaali Peshawari chappal ban rahi hain, toot jaigi wo ... in k liay to CAT ka joota chahhayya :-D
i would say No, you keep it an open forum for all members to view because most likely someone else would have the same question/problem and this would save their and your precious time. Plus it lets us the guppies know whats going on in th GS Tech World and keeps us connected. Or like maybe someone isn't aware of an issue or a new program at GS, this way they could find out about it...Not to forget the fresh from the oven ideas members bring.......thats just my point of view as a member =)