Fear of .....

This is probably going to sound a bit silly, but its rather true.

I have a fear of being wealthy. Please dont laugh!!! I think this fear comes from watching a bit too many mob movies as a child and reading non-fiction stories that related to problems due to wealth (and obviously other things.) Its like the Puff Daddy(a.k.a. P. Diddy) lyrics…“Mo money mo problems”.

It’s like how I have heard many celebrities for example say that they have a hard time finding true friends because so many people want to know them for their fame and wealth. Obviously celebrities are not the only examples…but I just used them as one.

Then you think, is it such a bad thing that people want to know you for your wealth or status? Why do people get acquainted with others? Dont a lot of people want to gain something from others? Whether it be insight, knowledge, help, etc.

Anyway, going back to my point. I dont know if its realistic. I recall reading in hadith how the prophet(pbuh) would make du’aa(prayer) to have himself protected from excess wealth. It made me relax alittle to know that it may not be such an exaggerated fear.

I told my brother about this, and he thinks I’m being a bit silly. He said keeping your wealth isnt such a bad idea. It’s funny because at the same time, I would like certain things that cost $$. Isn’t it ironic?

What do you fear? What do you think of this fear of mine?

Learn to love yourself, then learn to love one-another

What i deduce is that it is a mixture of what u said i.e. the fear of the consequences and responsiblities that come with wealth and power. I also feel that ur unsure and scared of having wealth because reading ur posts and observing ur way of thinking (being religious and innocent) i feel that ur a kind and sensitive person and u want to do somthing useful with the money but at the same time ur afraid of the possible avidity that may arise from being rich... The only way i feel u can eliminate this fear is by getting ur "morals straight".. i mean , making a promise to ur self that "i SHALL donate this amount of money out of my job" ... that works for me

i am scared of making ppl hurt and sad (kinda stupid i know

)

Munni it's a genuine fear, and I'm so moved by your noble thoughts that I offer you this friendly advice.

Whenver you doubt that you're getting wealthier than you can handle, I'll always be there to take that burden off of your shoulders. Don't rule me out when unloading cash. PLEASE! I'll take my friend's 'problems' even if it means having to live in 'wealthy misery' myself.

So fear not and just write those checks. In fact.. I'm so concerned about the well being of your wrist that I suggest you write one big fat one and get it over with.

Sincerely. your friend in wealth.

This Space For Rent

btw, the fear is not unfounded with yer regular dose of cheeze cakes and all

Life main tEnSiOn!!!

burn your home and start living in the jungles..thats what i did the last time i became fed up with materialistic life…

those lizards sure do taste good, especially when they are extra crunchy..ymmm

Wealth itself or striving to acquire wealth is not bad but rather what it makes you as a person is what determines good or bad.

I fear the 7 deadly sins. Out of those I fear lust the most.

Jitna Diya Sarkar Nay Mujko, Itni Meri Auqat Nahi, Yeh Saab Tumhara Karam Hai Aqa, Mujh Mein Aisi Koi Baat Nahin.

Love happens once . . .

I agree with SS

Munni btw I feel kind of same. BUT I also believe as long as you work hard for your money and its not haram but raised in a halal way you should not fear that anything bad will happen to you because of your wealth. In this case its your right that you have that money and spend in whatever way you wish after paying zakat.

One thing should not be forgatten in that case, to help others in need from your halal money is even more a better protection from becoming corrupt and its feel good to help others. Wealth comes and goes, you never know you may one day land in a position where you may need help from others.

I would say its moral if you got your wealth from your job or business nothing wrong with it, one thing I dont want or like is the wealth that comes from cheating others, playing in casino, or from some kind of jackpot, moneywashing or blackmailing, ect… these ways are not right and moral, if someone is involed in these activities than the fear of being wealthy and its side affects are justified.

[This message has been edited by SADI (edited December 21, 2001).]

hey no need to worry…
take my account number and transfer all your money to me…
anyone who has such a fear can do the same…
will be glad to help u get rid of the fear…
and also the wealth

Munni

I have a very similar fear, but its not quite a fear of being wealthy, its more a fear of having a luxurious and comfortable life.
(cos they not neccassirily related)
Last year when i was reading the quran i came across this surah though, and im paraphrasing
it said "do they not see that they are tested once or twice a year ? "
cant remember the actual ayah number or anything, sorry.

But i sorta realised that, no matter what status or position your in, ur always tested in life, and u always come across difficulties. Its unavoidable, its inevitable.

I have many fears like urs,
Used to be sooooooo shy of going grocery shoppping
Had a big fear of Suhaag raat too

)

Im not married yet, but i my fears have calmed down alot.

You tend to realise, that alot of other people are in the same boat.

You have to weigh things up
What are the consequences likely to be depending on ur course of action

Hope im making sense

Inshallah if u have to work really hard for ur wealth, u wont feel so bad.
Cos its not same as acquiring the wealth thru illegal means, where you would have alot of guilt to live with.

Hope that helps

all the best

GammaDilation,

Its not stupid being scared of hurting ppl and making them sad, I am too! I believe whatever you do, comes back to you. It's hard to always say and do the right thing. I believe if you try though, the effort does count.

PakisaniAbroad,

You are such a kidder! smile I believe in helping people, especially those who dont have the available means to earn for themselves. smile

Khanzada and ThandyMazaq,

You two are a riot!

SarahSplendor,

Thank you for the compliment, however I am undeserving and farrrrrrrrrrr from being sweet! Just ask my mom how I dont help around the house enough! big grin.

ghalib,

Yes, how you use it and how you look at yourself and others when you have it, is a determining factor.

CocoNut,

Gotcha!

SADI,

I agree with you, money comes and goes. My fears center around how I will spend it and how I will acquire it, with things such as interest(riba) in the market and what not.

armughal,

you are like PakistaniAbroad! hehe, smile

eemo,

I have the same fears, plus a billion more probably, hehe. Well, I also was reading Qur'an and hadith and I recall reading that your wealth should be spent on the needy along with yourself and family of course. My question is, how much? Do you know what I mean? For example, lets say I buy a Mercedes. Is it wrong that I bought that and spent so much money when I could have gotten a Honda Civic and spent the rest of the money on needy people in Tibet? You see what I mean here? sigh It's so complex because on one hand I wouldnt mind nice things and on the other I worry if I have nice things! I'm so messed up!!! sigh

P.S. I am realizing that others have similar fears, and for me thats good to know because I need advise and hope to help others with any advice I might be able to give! Insha'Allah.

Thanks all for the replies! smile

Learn to love yourself, then learn to love one-another

Lol

http://www3.pak.org/gupshup/smilies/hula.gif

and more…

http://www3.pak.org/gupshup/smilies/hula.gif

Munni, I can understand your fears exactly. I fell the same way... but I am far from rich. If I did become rich, I would certainly like to take the wealth and help other needy people across the world. I need not much for myself, only a roof over my head and foot to eat. Orphanages would be my first stop, there are so many children in which to help. At the same time....yes, money does make the world go round, but it only takes a little money to survive, this is no sense in "hording or storing up on money", cuz most certainly, you cannot take the money with you when you die and you cannot buy yourself a seat in heaven. So to me, sharing your wealth with other less fortunate individuals seems to me as the best reward we can do. This reply here from me, a poor lady on earth, but with rich and wealthiness in my heart.