Fear Allah with regards to your wives !!

A Muslim sister killed and then decapitated at the hands of her own husband!
Another beaten and bruised for the pettiest of reasons….for not being able to cook to his liking!
And yet another shunned, tortured then divorced just because she didn’t give birth to a male child!
And the list for domestic violence goes on and on…..
Subhaan Allaah!

Are we living in the twenty-first century or is this the time of jaahilliyah?
And these are Muslims, yes Muslims, who are carrying out these vicious acts of barbarism and cruelty!
The recent murder of a sister at the hands of her own husband is surely a wake-up call for all us Muslims. But it should be especially so for all those brothers out there who abuse and torture their wives and lash out at them in moments of anger, for anything and everything that just doesn’t suit their fancy.
This is a kind of behavior that cannot, should not, and will not be tolerated in the Muslim community.
I want to ask those brothers who abuse their wives, hit them for every little thing and torture them physically, mentally and verbally……
Does Islaam really allow you to beat your wives and hurt them in this manner?!!
Where in the Sharee’ah does it say that it is okay to abuse your spouse and oppress her however you like?!!
Did the Prophet (sal Allaahu Alaiyhi wa sallam) EVER treat any of his wives that way?!!
Would Allaah be pleased with such an action of yours?!!
What would you say to Him when you stand in front of Him one Day?!!

These are some of the questions you need to seriously ask yourself.
Yes, it is true that Allaah has ordered the wife to obey her husband and he is the head of the household. But just as she must obey you, you must love and respect her too. Don’t forget that she has rights over you too. Allaah says:

“… And they (women) have rights (over their husbands…) similar (to those of their husbands) over them, but men have a degree (of responsibility) over them…” [al-Baqarah:228].

Ibn ‘Abbaas said concerning this aayah: “It is their (women’s) right to good companionship and proper treatment on the part of their husbands, and their duty to obey and do what their husbands tell them to do.”
Ibn Zayd said: “Fear Allaah with regard to them (wives) just as they should fear Allaah with regard to you.”
Don’t you realize that Allaah has enjoined upon you to treat your wives in a good and proper manner and to treat your family well? She is to be honored and treated kindly, even if there may be something about her that you don’t like.

“and live with them honorably. If you dislike them, it may be that you dislike a thing and Allaah brings through it a great deal of good” [al-Nisa’:19]

And don’t you remember that you are a shepherd and you are responsible for your flock?
The Prophet (sal Allaahu Alaiyhi wa sallam) said:

“Every one of you is a shepherd and every one of you is responsible for his flock (those under his care)… a man is the shepherd over the members of his household and he is responsible for them…”(Bukhari, Muslim)

And if you fail in your responsibility towards your wives, do you realize what a big sin that is?!! Do you want to risk Jannah for that?!!

“There is no person to whom Allaah has given responsibility and dies neglecting that responsibility, but Allaah will deny him Paradise.” (Muslim)

Doesn’t it occur to you that violence with your wife is a violation of the trust which Allaah has entrusted you with?
The Prophet (sal Allaahu Alaiyhi wa sallam) said:

“Fear Allaah with regard to women, for you have taken them as a trust from Allaah…….” (Muslim)

Isn’t the manners of the Prophet (sal Allaahu Alaiyhi wa sallam) a good enough example for you?
Our Prophet (sal Allaahu Alaiyhi wa sallam) said:
“The best of you is the one who is best towards his wife, and I am the best of you towards my wives.” (Tirmidhi, Ibn Maajah, saheeh by al-Albaani).

And I want to remind you, my brother, that oppression is haraam.
Allaah says in a Hadeeth Qudsi:

“O My servants, I have forbidden oppression for Myself and have made it forbidden amongst you, so do not oppress one another.” (Muslim)

Never forget that the one who will behave in this manner will have a painful punishment. That’s because Allah is watching you and able to deal with you however He likes and whenever He likes.
Allaah says:

“The way (of blame) is only against those who oppress men and rebel in the earth without justification; for such there will be a painful torment” [al-Shooraa:42]

And lastly, don’t misuse the verse (Surah al-Nisa’:34) about admonishing the wife, forsaking her bed and then ‘hitting’ her if you suspect some ill-conduct from her. That ‘hitting’ is not really ‘hitting’ at all. It is supposed to be just a light tapping with something small. And that too, ONLY in case of serious moral misconduct after talking, advising and keeping away fails. Someone asked Ibn ‘Abbaas, “What is the kind of hitting that is not harsh?” He said, “It is with a siwaak and the like.”
So think about this issue and remember that the men who are violent against their wives are not really MEN at all. They are actually cowards who want to use their physical strength to overcome their own insecurities, helplessness and lack of self-confidence. So be a REAL MAN and fear Allaah with regards to your wives and treat them kindly.
May Allaah enable us to see the Truth and practice Islaam in the real sense of the word. Ameen.

by Asma bint Shameem

Re: Fear Allah with regards to your wives !!

Does Islaam really allow you to beat your wives and hurt them in this manner?!!
No, You can not beat your wife.

** Where in the Sharee’ah does it say that it is okay to abuse your spouse and oppress her however you like?!!**
There are various scholars who support the idea of wife beating. I watched a video in which Abdul Rehman Green or Yusuf Estes were supporting wife beating and suggesting that miswak stick is best tool of beating.
I personally don’t support above idea.

Did the Prophet (sal Allaahu Alaiyhi wa sallam) EVER treat any of his wives that way?!!
No, wives of Prophet (saw) were exemplary. Neither we are prophet nor our wives are like them. :hmmm:

Would Allaah be pleased with such an action of yours?!!
No.

What would you say to Him when you stand in front of Him one Day?!!
Do we need to say anything to Allah. He knows everything very well.

This is beautiful ayah… :lajawab:

A shepherd can use stick to keep his sheeps under control. Now this is not my word. I am just using scholarly interpretation of our Uleam. :5:

Wife beating: How Prophet (saw) behaved, when couple of munafiqeen spread rumors about Ayesha(RA). Did he(saw) grab stick and hit Ayesha(RA) ?

yeh jo word control hay na yeh tu hay hee ghalat is rishty mein na bv shuhur ko or na shuhur bv ko control kary…phley tu rishta samjhna chahye isi rishty se naslain abad hoti hain…tu yeh rishta sab se acha or khubsurat hona chaiye..samjhney ki baat hay…thank you for answering question…hopefully you are very good to bhabi inshaAllah

I was saying that how our scholars will interpret the hadith of Bukhari…

han sab ki apni understanding hai…but sab baatein akay yahin ruk jati hain…
**لَّقَدْ كَانَ لَكُمْ فِي رَسُولِ اللَّـهِ أُسْوَةٌ حَسَنَةٌ
** may Allah grant us deep understanding of ayaat ameen

If you want to use Islam to justify your stupidity, then that’s already being done. Seems like a common habit amongst muslims these days. It’s a fashion now to be retarded then say Islam told you to beat your wife or choke your daughter or stop women from going to school or blow up their schools or bomb the Sphinx and other such waste of time destructive behavior.

I hope on Jusgement day when these idiots are judged it’s like broadcasted in big screen plasma TV for everyone to see.

I have heard…and it would be good if someone could verify this…that one of Rasool SAWS’s last admonitions before his passing was to treat the women with respect and that he had said this thrice. I tried searching this reference online but couldn’t find it…so again…if anyone can verify for it I’d appreciate it. If it is correct, then I am amazed. He could have given any other admonition and repeated it thrice…bit tor him to emphasize respect of women several times makes me wonder if he …in his wisdom…knew or perhaps was shown by Allah that in our modern times women will be less respected than perhaps even the times of jahiliya. And shame on the Muslim men…be they Arab or Desi…who hit their wives, who verbally abuse their wives’ family members, who think it’s okay to give gaaliyan to her parents and siblings. And what has always and especially disgusted me are the husbands and in-laws who forbid the wife from visiting her parents. I can’t stomach that. So your wife is expected to do khidmat of your parebts and to ensure their comfort…but you forget that her own parents are also mortals that can pass away at any moment and that she should get to visit them as well. I have heard of two cases…first a cousin of mine whose in-laws have set a time kimit fir how long she can visit her parents…and another couple where the husband and his mom imposed a punishment on the wife that she cannot visit her mom for a year. What the hell is this? How sick and cheap is it to use your wife’s family as a way to punish or torture her? And what is even more disgusting than the men…are their moms and sisters. Much truth in the clasic saying that aurat ki dishman aurat hai. Saasain and nandain and biviyan all three plagued with insecurities and robbing each other of sukoon. And it’s especially appalling to see oppressive behavior from women and men who pray 5 times a day and fast in Ramzan. Somehow sunnat is only limited to these exercises and little attention is given to behavior that is just and fair and humble and respectful as opposer to being all about self-entitlement. Society will deteriorate with the disrespect of women…whether that is done through the shedding of her clothes to where she is objectified or through verbal/physical and other forms of oppression.