Favourite Pakistani video

Since PCG started a topic on Music videos. Lets see everyones all time fabvourite videos…

Mine has to be ‘Us Rah Par’. this video is just brilliant. Very different. All of Pakistani musicians show themselves as rich yuppies in videos with nice cars and going out with nice looking girls who live in beautiful mansions! And in ‘us rah par’ Junaid portrays this Taxi driver from karachi and tapori who falls in love with a poor gaanay waali from the street! I must say that ‘us rah par’ was just brilliant!

Hmm...tough question...

Here's the top 10:

Junoon: Zamaaney Kay Andaz - for providing a promising perspective on Pakistan's future

Ali Haider: Jadoo - colorful, fun, good-looking people, phunny

Junaid Jamshed: Us Rah Par - for above reasons

Hadiqa : Boohey Barian - so sweet!

Junaid Jamshed: Aankhon Ko Aankhon Ne - a video NOT based on mainstream punjabi culture - also, its very artistic. Also, jj looks hot in this video.

Oh of course! How could I forget: Najam's Pal Do Pal is one of the best videos also. I dont know why Iraj doesn't go into acting.

I definitely agree! Pal do Pal by Najam was just brilliant. Najam has a lot of potential and has a very sincere fan following!

I still think that Najam hasn't gotten a break yet.

As for Junoon's Andaaz, I don't know PCG I think it was a mediocre video. Nothing specail about it. But then again I think Junoon have lacked in video creativity since begining of there careers. Or perhaps this video has been aired on Prime TV too much might be the fact that I really dont care about it anymore...

***na kia ker yaar - by DR & BILLA…

funny-te-uniQue…:)…

must c 4 all…

God bless u all…

DerVaisH

Ai khuda jazba-e-ehsaas na bakhsha hota…
Acha hota ager pather ka tarasha hota…
Waja-e-tehQeer hon insanon mein insan ho ker…
Pather ka hota to inhe insanon ne pooja hota…

Hey Ali how u doin mate? well my fav. videos are “Musafir” and “Tum Duur thay” both by Vital Signs … “Us Rah Par” bhee bure nahe hay … i like the girl in that video

JJ of VS

Maula, Yeh Shaam, Pal Do Pal, Jat Chariya, Ucchian Majajan, Yar Bina ...

Hi!
havn't seen many but "us rah par" by juned jamshed is great it compliments the song.
loved it.

**bhaRhe* chalo ke tajasus kaa naam iimaa'N hai*

yaar give a reason too why you like the video! whats so spacial about it!

i like hadiqa kiani's dupatta because its an action type of video very different from all others. i think she took the idea from the movie matrix.

<::~Is thaT all You got? ::~I'll Take youR best Shot~::>

"JATT" by abrar-ul-haq
luv that video..

The Game Responds:

*Lucky Ali with his *entertaining* light bulbs and all....Oh well.....whatever....*Runs away*...People,That Is All.* 

It's not how you play The Game,*shmucks,it's how The Game plays you.*

I really enjoyed Junoon's "Ehtesaab", because it was showing the corruption and truth of Pakistan. The song is pretty good, and the truth is right there in the video.

Also we can't forget Dr. Aur Billa's "Ab Kia Karon", such a simple video, but really funny and unique. It is different than other videos and amuses the audience, rather than making it into a video story.

Abrar's "Billo" will always be another legend video. For obvious reasons.

Although this video was made in India, Adnan Sami Khan's "Teri Unchi Shaan", is a really funny video and choreographed, thus same for JJ's Us Rah Par.

Actually lots of new Junoon videos are really good! with digital picture quality and great art/graphics computer technology.

PCG - yaar I have one complain or question. Why do you have to bash punjabi's somehow, in some sort of way in every post your write? I'm not being mean hehe just wondering what Punjabi has to do with every topic.

Strings..."Anjane Kyun"

Just makes be feel real FREE!!!

Excellent Pace too!

May The Madness Be Upon You!!!

The Game: Which lunky ali are u talking about? The paki version (sajjad ali's bro) or Indian one?

Champ: I dont have anything against Punjabi culture. If you've read some of my previous posts on various subjects, you'll see that I like Punjabi culture a lot - just as much as I like sindhi culture, balochi culture, etc. The problem I have is not with Punjabi culture, but the way its being forced down everyone's throats. And yes, I mean forced down, in terms of entertainment. Go ahead and make a list of all singers/bands and look at the ratio of punjabi acts to non-punjabi acts. Look at the ratio of hit punjabi songs to non-punjabi songs. You'll see that Paki entertainment is highly Punjabi. Also, I dont know about Indus and ARY digital and other paki channels, but I have Prime. And I can tell you that channel is predominantly being run by Punjabis becuz most of the entertainment they show is Punjabi. I like to see Punjab be represented on one of our international and private channels. But I also like to see other cultures represented equally. Yes, they do show sindhi dramas, etc. But the majority of the entertainment being shown on any single day is punjabi. Our punjabi films are more popular than Urdu films, although i dont know why -- I personally think most punjabi films are worse than urdu films. And not many pple even know that we have a Pushto film industry (which sucks the most in terms of vulgarity) And as much as Bhangra is cool and fun to listen to - my friends and I do bhangra all the time -- there are various other cultures in Pakistan that need just as much exposure as Punjabi entertainment. And after a while, it gets tiring to hear one bhangra hit after another. I sincerely hope that some day in the near future, Pakistanis will be jhooming to sindhi pop songs, pushto pop songs, balochi pop songs, seraiki pop songs, etc just as much as we jhoom to Punjabi pop now. You might say that all of these cultures do produce music of their own. However, I would like to argue that other than Rahim Shah, none have made it mainstream and none have ventured into fusing their folk into pop. After all, its Pakistan, not Punjabistan.

PyariCGudia,

I know exactly where you are coming from! I don't have any subscription to the Pakistani channels here in the US, so I cannot access how much there is a Punjabi influence. How about writing up a memo/paper to Prime TV with your concerns, I will help you with that and I am sure many guppies would readily sign it!

Whenever their is a majority, their is bound to be some greater influence of that culture. You can see that in Hollywood, the Anglo-Saxon influence is far greater and though the minorities have tried to do a lot to get into the competition its still not enough. Let me give you the example of 'Sienfeld' ... an all white show! Have the viewer ship of 10 times that of any other show on prime television!

The responsibilities in such casess is shared. The majority should give others equal chance to impress their culture and if they are lagging behind then maybe help them gain that momentum. But the others should put in their share of efforts too!

Another reason is the huge 'commercial' influence on the entertainment industry. Music in particular is no more an ART of self expression, but a business of demand & supply. You will see many singers release their new singles strategically depending on the season, population and what's more IN. Gone are the days when musicians/entertainers would produce something as an emotional outcry, now its just about $$$. Whatever sells will be shoved down your throat!

p.s: Punjabi movies suck so bad that I would rather watch a Chinese flick muted! Do you by any chance have "Hay jamaloo" on mp3?

My first fav choice "Tumhara aur mera naam" than "Us Rah per".....both are just amazing videos.

Ahmadjee - of course, i'm well aware of the whole demand and supply bit of the situation. However, Punjabis may be a majority when singularly compared with other cultures in Pakistan, but it is not a majority when compared in terms of punjabi vs. non-punjabi. Even if it is a majority then, the margin is not too great. So thus, since the number of non-punjabi speakers is probably more than the punjabis, I would honestly say that there really should be no reason for dominance over the entertainment industry due strictly to population size. I would say that the main reason for Punjabi dominance on the entertainment scene is that Punjabi culture is generally more open to entertainment and allowing their children to step into the field than other cultures. Balochi and Pushto cultures are still not open to the idea of women singing and acting and are often disowned or kicked out of the home if they do step into the industry. There have been many cases of Pushto women going into films or acting and they have been killed by family members for doing so. Sindhi culture and Punjabi culture, by comparison is quite open to entertainment, and even then Punjabi entertainment is still dominant over sindhi, mainly because sindh is economically weaker. If there is a lower state of living in one state, that state will naturally not have a flourishing entertainment industry than a more wealthy state, mainly becuz its inhabitants are busy worrying about where tomorrows roti is coming from. But yes, I think I will write a draft up to send to prime, which I'll try posting up here if I get it done b4 my spring break is over. I would love any input from any1 regarding the letter. You guys can pm me with anything you'd like included in the letter and I'll keep you anonymous if you wish. Thank-you.