Favorite passage(s)

What are/is your favorite passage(s) from a book, poem, or a movie?

I have many for equitable, differing reasons and tastes. Here is one of them:

It was the best of times, it was the worst of times, it was the age of wisdom, it was the age of foolishness, it was the epoch of belief, it was the epoch of incredulity, it was the season of Light, it was the season of Darkness, it was the spring of hope, it was the winter of despair, we had everything before us, we had nothing before us, we were all going direct to heaven, we were all doing direct the other way–in short, the period was so far like the present period, that some of its noisiest authorities insisted on its being received, for good or for evil, in the superlative degree of comparison only.

• Charles Dickens, beginning passage of “A Tale of Two Cities”.

That was nice! I liked it.

Stud

Thanks man, I am glad you liked it.

What I am writing need few moments of seriousness ...read seriously and try to understand it might become your fav too...

I am Quoting

"Allah says , I am just as My slave thinks I am, (ie I am able to do for him what he thinks I can do for him ) and I am with hin if he remembers Me. If he remembers me in himself , I too , remember him in Myself ; and if he remembers me in a group of people , I remember him in a group that is better than them; anf if he comes one span nearer to Me , I go one cubit nearer to him ; and if he comes one cubit nearer to Me , I go a distance of two outstretched arms nearer to him; and if he comes to ME walking , I go to him running."

(Sahih Al-Bukhari, Vol 9, Hadith No 502)

I read and tried to understand and believe it or not everytime I read it it giives me strength that Hercules might have lacked ;) Now I think I can do anything! and I am loved and cared for........

nice verse Rania...simple yet so POWERFUL!

My Most Fav Line From “Ancient Mariner”
Water, water, every where,
Nor any drop to drink.
and…
by
A.H.Auden…

He was my North, my South, my East and West,
My working week and Sunday rest,
My noon, my midnight, my talk, my song;
I thought that love would last forever: I was wrong.

by Pushkin…

I’ve lived to bury my desires,
And see my dreams corrode with rust;
Now all that’s left are fruitless fires
That burn my empty heart to dust.

ok ok here is the last one ppl…don’t be mad…but i have millions of fav quotes

http://www.pak.org/gupshup/frown.gif

This is my most Fav ;)enjoy

First Fig By Edna St. Vincent Millay

My candle burns at both ends;
It will not last the night;
But, ah, my foes, and, oh, my friends -
it gives a lovely light.

Ciaoo :wink:
Rab Rakha I mean

Here's my fav passage:
-- Tintern Abbey (William Wordsworth)

The still, sad music of humanity,
Nor harsh, nor grating, though of ample power
To chasten and subdue. And I have felt
A presence that disturbs me with the joy
Of elevated thoughts; a sense sublime
Of something far more deeply interfused
Whose dwelling is the light of setting suns,
And round ocean and the living air
And the blue sky and in the mind of man:
A motion and a spirit, that impels
All thinking things, all objects of all thought,
And rolls through all things. Therefore I am still
A lover of meadows and the woods
And mountains; and of all that we behold
From this green earth : of all the mighty world
Of eye and ear - both what they half create
And what percieve; well pleased to recognise
In nature and the language of the sense
The anchor of my purest thoughts, the nurse,
The guide, the guardian of my heart, and sould
Of all my moral being.

Its long but it holds great meanings.
There are more passages all from Wordsworths poetry but I guess this one is enough. :)

Assalam-o-Alaikum,

Rania bahot achay! I am impressed. 

Allah Hafiz

Rania, It's a great one!

NaikLarki and Sadaf:
Absolute pleasure - beautiful passages

Here two others of my favorites ones from the movie, Zero Effect:

Daryl Zero (The character played by Bill Pullman): I can't possibly overstate the importance of good research. Everyone goes through life dropping crumbs. If you can recognize the crumbs, you can trace a path all the way back from your death certificate to the dinner and a movie that resulted in you in the first place. But research is an art, not a science, because anyone who knows what they're doing can find the crumbs, the wheres, whats, and whos. The art is in the whys: the ability to read between the crumbs, not to mix metaphors. For every event, there is a cause and effect. For every crime, a motive. And for every motive, a passion. The art of research is the ability to look at the details, and see the passion.

Daryl Zero: Now, a few words on looking for things. When you go looking for something specific, your chances of finding it are very bad. Because of all the things in the world, you're only looking for one of them. When you go looking for anything at all, your chances of finding it are very good. Because of all the things in the world, you're sure to find some of them.

hmmmmm from movies too......
movies zayada dekhti nai per buhttttt pehlay eik indian movie dekhi thi....uss mein gulshan grover kehta hei :)

"Mundi Kaat Ke 6 inch Chootha Ker DooN ga"

:)Ciao :)

Achaa movies ki bhi ho rahi hai???
To main kion peechay rahoon.

From Braveheart:
In the battlefield William Wallace addresses his army:

I am William Wallace, and I see a whole army of my countrymen
here in defiance of tyranny. You have come to fight as free men, and free men you are. What will you do with that freedom? Will you fight?

Veteran: (to William) Fight against that? No, we will run, and we will live.

William: (in reply) Aye, fight and you may die, run and you'll live. At least a while. (shouting to all) And dying in your beds many years from now, would you be willing to trade all the days from this day to that for one chance, just one chance to come back here and tell our enemies that they may take our lives, but they'll never take our freedom?! Alba gu brath! (Scotland forever!)

I loved this part. :)

Aik aur.. aik aur!!
From the same movie.
When Robert the Bruce betrays Wallace in the battlefield and later realizes that what he did was wrong.

Robert: I have nothing. Men fight for me, because if they do not, I throw them off my land and I starve their wives and their children. Those men who bled the ground red at Falkirk, they fought for William Wallace, and he fights for something that I've never had. And I took it from him when I betrayed him and I saw it in his face on the battlefield, and it's tearing me apart.

Take nobody's nonsense. The only time you should go down on your knees is when you pray.

I have read some great passages but I don’t really remember any…
Today I friend was telling this poem named Eye bank ..I lliked it..
Its in urdu ..(sorry for inconvenience) I asked her to write for me
It’s for your eyes.

Main to is karb-e- nizara say tarrap utha houn
Kitnay aissey hain jinnhay hassrat-e-binaaiee hay
Jin kee qismat main kabhee doulat-e-deedar naheen
Jin kee qismat main tamasha na Tamashaee hay

Jo yeh kehtay hain keh sooraj ko nikalta dekhain
Jo yah kehaty hain keh manzil naheen rasta dekhain
Un say kehdo wo aayan mery aankhain lay lain
Un say kehdo wohh aaayan mery aankhain lay lain

Iss say pehlay keh yeh jisam fana ho jaaye
Is say pehlay keh koi hashar bapa ho jayaan
Iss say pehlay keh yeh khakasta jan bhee na rahay
Khak honay say bacha lay koi mery aankhain
Apnay chehray peh laga lay koi meri aankhain

Kon she paaay ga par meri in aankhon keh azzab
Kiss may yeh hosla ho ga kay hamaisha dekhay
Apny palkon kee saleeboan peh utartay hooay khawab
Kin jee kirchoan kee chann rooh main bus jatee hay
Zindagee, zindagee bhar kay liyay kurlatee hay

Faraz

One of my favourites, from Henry V. The St Crispin’s day speech before the battle.

We few, we happy few, we band of brothers;
For he today that sheds his blood with me
Shall be my brother; be he ne¹er so vile,
This day shall gentle his condition:
And gentlemen in England now a-bed
Shall think themselves accursed they were not here,
And hold their manhoods cheap whiles any speaks
That fought with us upon Saint Crispin¹s day

[This message has been edited by Fraudz (edited April 07, 1999).]

Sarinha -
tu ne dekhi hay woh paishani, woh rukhsar, woh hont
zindgi jin ke tasawar mein luta de hum ne
tujh pe uthi hein woh khoi hoi sahar aankhein
tujh ko maloom hai kuyoon umar ganwa de hum ne

Faraz's 'Nuskha Haay Wafa' is one of my treasure books. I perform 'wazoo' before I pick it up and read.

CM:
Beautiful and inspiring, man.

oooppssss

I meant Faiz's 'Nuskha Haay Wafa'

Re: Favorite passage(s)

One of my favourite verses from 'Ode on a Grecian Urn' by John Keats,

*When old age shall this generation waste,

Thou shalt remain, in midst of other woe

Than ours, a friend to man, to whom thou say'st,

'Beauty is truth, truth beauty,—that is all

Ye know on earth, and all ye need to know. *

Whats yours guppies?

What a great thread.....
Thanks for reviving it DB.

^Trying to get some intellectual conversation started around here, but looks like I may be expecting more than I should hope for :-)
Btw, great to have u back. Missed ya!

here's mine...! i really like this guy's work. it's all amazing..and quite though provoking..

Khalil Gibran
'On Children'

And a woman who held a babe against her bosom said, "Speak to us of Children."

And he said:

Your children are not your children.

They are the sons and daughters of Life's longing for itself.

They come through you but not from you,

And though they are with you, yet they belong not to you.

You may give them your love but not your thoughts.

For they have their own thoughts.

You may house their bodies but not their souls,

For their souls dwell in the house of tomorrow, which you cannot visit, not even in your dreams.

You may strive to be like them, but seek not to make them like you.

For life goes not backward nor tarries with yesterday.

You are the bows from which your children as living arrows are sent forth.

The archer sees the mark upon the path of the infinite, and He bends you with His might that His arrows may go swift and far.

Let your bending in the archer's hand be for gladness;

For even as he loves the arrow that flies, so He loves also the bow that is stable.

I love this quote from Good Will Hunting.

"So if I asked you about art, you'd probably give me the skinny on every art book ever written. Michelangelo, you know a lot about him. Life's work, political aspirations, him and the pope, sexual orientations, the whole works, right? But I'll bet you can't tell me what it smells like in the Sistine Chapel. You've never actually stood there and looked up at that beautiful ceiling; seen that. If I ask you about women, you'd probably give me a syllabus about your personal favorites. You may have even been laid a few times. But you can't tell me what it feels like to wake up next to a woman and feel truly happy. You're a tough kid. And I'd ask you about war, you'd probably throw Shakespeare at me, right, "once more unto the breach dear friends." But, you've never been near one. You've never held your best friend's head in your lap, watch him gasp his last breath looking to you for help. I'd ask you about love, you'd probably quote me a sonnet. But, you've never looked at a woman and been totally vulnerable, known someone that could level you with her eyes, feeling like God put an angel on earth just for you. Who could rescue you from the depths of hell. And you wouldn't know what it's like to be her angel, to have that love for her, be there forever, through anything, through cancer. And you wouldn't know about sleeping sitting up in the hospital room for two months, holding her hand, because the doctors could see in your eyes, that the terms "visiting hours" don't apply to you. You don't know about real loss, 'cause it only occurs when you've loved something more than you love yourself. And I doubt you've ever dared to love anybody that much. And look at you... I don't see an intelligent, confident man... I see a cocky, scared s*tless kid. But you're a genius Will. No one denies that. No one could possibly understand the depths of you. But, you presume to know everything about me because you saw a painting of mine, and you ripped my fking life apart. You're an orphan right? You think I know the first thing about how hard your life has been, how you feel, who you are, because I read Oliver Twist? Does that encapsulate you? Personally. . . I don't give a st about all that, because you know what, I can't learn anything from you, I can't read in some f**in' book. Unless you want to talk about you, who you are. Then I'm fascinated. I'm in. But you don't want to do that ,do you sport? You're terrified of what you might say. Your move, chief."