Fatwa issued against Meera /CR's counter Fatwa against Aishwarya

Re: Fatwa issued against Meera

:confused: what it has to so with publicity stunt? He can sign up 10 movies but still she need to get public attention.

mera matlab tha bhaisahab kai she has done 'dat' scene prolly in one of the films she digned in india and sachai bahir nikal ayee hai.

Yaar jitni Indian movies tum nai daikhi hain us ki aadhi English movies bhi daikh laitay to tumhain pata lag jaata kai main prince of bel air wala smith nahin hoon.

hoe

The Publicity Trick apparently is a winner for she is all discusssed on gupshup atleast.

Congrats Meera :D

this must be that Imam from that “online Nikah transcript thread”
The Imam - “Baby Cause I’ma Thug” :smiley:

oh yaar aap itna sanjeeda kyun ho jatee hou, mein mazak karta houn tumharey saath by calling u prince of bel air.

ahahahahahah.. :rotfl:

Fatwaa against Aishwaria Rai

How dare you ?? :mad:

How can you Think of kissing some guy in holywood movies ??

If you want to kiss, do it in Hidustaan or do it with desi guys :blush:

You are already a good actress, please do not show your legs, arm ,belly (button :love: ). It is a sin. :nono1: Please do cover up in modest Islamic dress. As there are millions of Muslim fans who like you, and adore you :jazak: Allah tumhain nazar-e-bad se bachey. Mashallah

Plz some brother post a nice picture of Ms Aish, so that logon ki aankhoon ko thandak miley

Re: Fatwaa against Aishwaria Rai

Re: Fatwa issued against Meera /CR's counter Fatwa against Aishwarya

one of the funniest things I have ever read...:D

Re: Fatwa issued against Meera /CR’s counter Fatwa against Aishwarya

Nice and openminded article about the issue.
Meera, morality, & culture vultures
http://jang.com.pk/thenews/mar2005-daily/02-03-2005/oped/image/Shakir-Husain-tiff.gif
I never thought I would ever use Meera, morality, and culture in the same sentence, but such are the times that Meera has become the platform for debate on how far the State can go to regulate what a private citizen does outside the country, and what constitutes as ‘vulgarity’. When news of the ‘infamous’ kiss between Meera and an Indian actor broke in Pakistan, the reaction was exaggerated and ridiculous. Meera had taken permission from the Ministry of Culture to act in Mahesh Bhatt’s movie Nazar, and the project was hailed by one and all as the beginning of a new era in Indo-Pakistan cultural ties. As the readers know, Pakistanis are a ghairatmand nation and when it was discovered that Meera had kissed an Indian, and that too on film, all hell broke loose. A spokesman for the Ministry of Information had the following pearls to offer to Pakistan’s Online News Agency, “Meera’s actions were against Islamic ethics and moral values. Pakistani actors who go abroad are ambassadors of the country and not allowed to spread vulgarity.” Following the government reaction were private citizens who threatened the actress’ life as a gentle reminder of their displeasure. No expert on religion or culture, but I’m sure that death threats are part of neither. Sections of the press then reported that Meera had been fined by the Government for her ‘scene’, and that a ban was being considered on Pakistani artists from performing across the border. Ladies and gentlemen, have we all lost our minds?
According to press reports, Mahesh Bhatt brought the subject up with the Prime Minister, Shaukat Aziz, in Delhi, and the PM assured the film director that no action was going to be taken against the actress, however, “Pakistani artists should be sensitive to their moral and cultural values”. **General Zia’s reign of terror helped to confuse things immensely in this country where for ten years we, as a nation, pretended as if Pakistan was a part of the Arabian Peninsula whereas this is clearly not the case. **Before the protectors of Pakistani morality and culture pontificate on Meera’s actions they should buy themselves tickets to a Punjabi or Pushto flick in order to do some research. For the uninitiated, I think it is much more vulgar to screen a 300 pound woman:D (note: the author holds no grudge against 300 pound women) squeezed into a skin tight outfit, hose her down with a water pipe, and then have her gyrate senselessly for fifteen minutes than it is to screen a kiss in a movie. Is this not against our culture and morality? Think of the Islamic womenfolk who are exposed to such loutish behaviour every single day! Though I haven’t seen the movie yet, but surely Meera’s scene with Ashmit Patel in Nazar will be far more offensive than what we see on our screens.

The only voice of reason so far from the government has been from the Minister for State for Culture, Muhammad Ali Durrani, who is quoted as having said, “The Ministry has no mandate to interfere in an artiste’s affair when one was performing in an Indian flick in one’s individual capacity.” While a spokesperson of the Ministry of Information felt that actors going abroad were also “ambassadors”, which is absolutely correct as they are cultural ambassadors, and are in no way representing Pakistan in any official capacity nor is the government paying them to do so; hence they are not answerable to the State for their actions – either on the screen or off it. Yet let’s consider the case of a government official, no less than the Secretary of the National Assembly, who was arrested by the London Metropolitan Police for excessive drunken behaviour and sexual assault.:eek: He was returning from official business in New York via the appropriately named Virgin Atlantic Airlines and decided to get absolutely wasted after which he started to ‘fondle’ the female passenger sitting next to him who was immediately upgraded to business class as she refused to sit next to the man! All these are facts picked up by the national press from The Telegraph, a solid British newspaper. Now here is a case where the government should be showing some serious concern about ‘Ambassadors’, moral and ethical values of the nation etc. Here is a senior civil servant flying on official business on a ticket paid for by the government acting as if he’s on a pleasure cruise. Action taken? He has been removed from his position and has been made ‘OSD’ or Officer on Special Duty. The funny thing about OSD is that you still get your salary but you get to sit at home while you wait to be reassigned! Think of it as a paid vacation till the powers to be quickly forget your offence and you’re back in the game. Net result? Nothing. Rather than waste time, energy, and resources, the Ministry of Culture should focus on rescuing endangered historical sites, promoting Pakistan’s rich tradition of theatre and drama; rather than trying to censor actors and actresses. Censorship never works and all the vultures of culture have to do is tune into a cable network to see that a whole lot more than ‘kissing’ is being shown right here in Pakistan!

so now ppl like meera (from hira mundi) are having their share of publicity...what has the world come on to :D

one of the alltime funniest story. :rotfl: :rotfl:

they can make a movie on all this stuff.. it would be more original than most of the stuff meera's worked in

they pretty much showed the entire song on geo news :rotfl: the mullahs should have censored and fined Geo news for treating us to such vulgarity :hehe:
It is nothing different from what other heroines do in India or Pak.

I missed it, rukhsaraunty, when did they show it? And wats with the counter fatwa issued against aishwarya, whats that all about?

^ don’t know about the Aish issue.
Geo showed it at the beginning of this week during their news hour :smiley: hahahhaa! I saw it during the 5:00 pm news show. They showed atleast 2-3 minutes of footage of Meera under the waterfall and swinging on a rope and getting up close and personal with a very ugly looking fella.
I thought to myself now that we have seen everything, what’s the point of banning it :rotfl:

:smiley: abhee ishq k imthaan aur bhee heen :slight_smile:

Meera’s Scenes in that Indian Movie… :nono: :lahol: