Fasting on the 9th and 10th of Muharram

:salam:

Please note: Tomorrow and the Day after i.e. Saturday and Sunday are the 9th and 10th of Muharram and these are of the most recommended nafali fasts to perform.

JazakAllah for the reminder.

Yes
and tommorow night is the night of amals.
some amals for the night
In this night, Imam along with his relatives and ashaab remained busy in ibaadat-e-ilahee. Some aamaal of this night are as under:
· Waking all night in ibaadat, it is as he has performed ibaadat with mala’ika (angels), and it is equal to 70 years ibaadat in reward;
· Hold majaalis of Noha and matam to commemorate Imam Hussain’s (A.S) martyrdom;
· Mourn and lament for Imam’s museebah (affliction);
· Visit the Holy grave of Imam Hussain in Karbala and if not possible then recite ziarat-e-Imam Hussain (A.S).
Imam Jafar-e-Sadiq (A.S) said : he who spend this night while lamenting for Imam’s museebah will in the day of resurrection, be raised while covered with his blood as the martyrs of Karbala will, and whoever recites Ziarat-e-Imam Hussain (A.S) in this night is as he martyred on behalf of Imam Hussain (A.S)”.
· Perform 4 rakaat prayer, in each rakaat 50 times Sura-e-Touheed ought to be recited after Sura Hamd;
· Invoke Allah’s blessings on Holy Prophet Muhammad (P.b.U.H and His Aal) and his Aal (darood);
· Curse upon their (A.S) enemies.

Re: Fasting on the 9th and 10th of Muharram

Jazakallah!

thanks for the reminder :)

it's Sunnah to fast either the 9th and 10th of Muharram, or the 10th and 11th.. the reasoning being that the Jews used to fast on the 10th, so Rasulullah (saw) taught to fast two days instead.

the 10th of Muharram is on Sunday.

everyone should do their best to try and fast.. most people are on holidays and maghrib comes so quickly this time of year anyway. :p hehe

Jazak’Allah khair!

So it’s day of saturday and sunday OR sunday and monday, right?

jazak’Allah khair

Yes :)

btw I just fixed a mistake in my original post; 10th Muharram is on Sunday.. so as you said, either Saturday+Sunday or Sunday+Monday.

yeah that's where I got confused, wanted to see if you caught it :p

None of these actions are sanctioned by Islam.

The Prophet (sas) never did any of these nor did he make anyone from his family or his companions do any these acts, when the closest of his relatives were killed and their bodies mutilated....a good example: Hamzah (rah)

Thanks for the information. :k: will be performing amaale ashura inshallah.

Thanx for the reminder bro,
:insh: i’ll be fasting :slight_smile:

:phati: i thought i fasted on the wrong day ,a day earlier i mean

you can never fast on a “wrong day”, if nothing else woh nafli roza qubool hoga inshallah.. unless you fast on Eid of course, then you’re in trouble :stuck_out_tongue:

Rabzz is from fiqh Jafariya not Ahle sunnah Uncle. It’s written in their books likewise what’s written in our book we perform those sunnahs. :halo:

^^ Just because something is written in some book ... doesn't necessarily mean it is legal.

If someone wants to promote these alien practices he should open up a new thread...and not corrupt a thread that is opened in the name of Islam.

the very reason we are so divided

just live and let live :sunnyboy:

Please be more respectful of others' beliefs.. We didn't see any Shias coming in here and bashing our understanding of ahadith and sunnah; and likewise no Sunni should declare the beliefs of others as "alien." How ironic that the teacher of Imam Abu Hanifa was none other than Imam Jafar. Sure, many of us here are probably Sunni but we should give the utmost respect and love to others and respect their point of view also. :)

Uncle, please refrain from passing verdicts on the school of thoughts other from yours, particularly when you know little about them. For Allah (swt) said in the Holy Quran not to speak of which you do not know.

Much appreciate bro Sarmad's response.

Condolence to all the lovers and followers of Mohammad wa Aale Mohammad for indeed it is a very tragic day for them and us.

Nani aur me fasted on sat+sun...although here, it is sun+mon...insha-allah, did it with good intention...so...yayyy

Uncle I AM FROM AHL-e-SUNNAH AND PROUD OFF IT but my UNCLES never taught me to hate or disgrace any other muslims or sect even non muslims like hindu and christian,i dint know which kind of learning you have learned MAY ALLAH GUIDE YOU.

SARMAD BHAI IF PEOPLE LIKE YOU AND ME are in abundance,islam can surely be called a religion of peace BELIEVE IT.