Fasting is not accepted if one doesn’t pray

Question :

Is it permissible to fast without praying?.

Answer :

Praise be to Allaah.

No good deeds will be accepted from one who does not pray – no zakaah, no fasting, no Hajj or anything else.

Al-Bukhaari (520) narrated that Buraydah said: The Messenger of Allaah (peace and blessings of Allaah be upon him) said: “Whoever does not pray ‘Asr, his good deeds will be annulled.”

What is meant by “his good deeds will be annulled” is that they will be rendered invalid and will be of no benefit to him. This hadeeth indicates that Allaah will not accept any good deed from one who does not pray, so the one who does not pray will not benefit at all from his good deeds and no good deed of his will be taken up to Allaah.

It seems from the hadeeth that there are two types of those who do not pray: those who do not pray at all, which annuls all their good deeds, and those who do not offer a particular prayer on a particular day, which annuls the good deeds of that day. So annulment of all good deeds happens to those who forsake all the prayers, and annulment of the good deeds of a particular day happens to the one who omits a particular prayer.

Shaykh Ibn ‘Uthaymeen was asked in Fataawa al-Siyaam (p. 87) about the ruling on the fasting of one who does not pray.

He replied:

The fast of one who does not pray is not valid and is not accepted, because the one who does not pray is a kaafir and an apostate, because Allaah says (interpretation of the meaning):

“But if they repent [by rejecting Shirk (polytheism) and accept Islamic Monotheism], perform As-Salaah (Iqaamat-as-Salaah) and give Zakaah, then they are your brethren in religion”

[al-Tawbah 9:11]

And the Prophet (peace and blessings of Allaah be upon him) said: “Between a man and shirk and kufr stands his giving up prayer.” Narrated by Muslim, 82. And he (peace and blessings of Allaah be upon him) said: “The covenant that separates us from them is prayer; whoever gives up prayer is a kaafir.” Narrated by al-Tirmidhi, 2621; classed as saheeh by al-Albaani in Saheeh al-Tirmidhi.

This is also the view of most of the Sahaabah, if not their consensus. ‘Abd-Allaah ibn Shaqeeq (may Allaah have mercy on him), who was one of the well-known Taabi’een, said: The companions of the Prophet (peace and blessings of Allaah be upon him) did not think that omitting any action made a person a kaafir, except for prayer. Based on this, if a person fasts but he does not pray, then his fast is rejected and not accepted, and it will not avail him anything before Allaah on the Day of Resurrection. We say to him: Pray then fast, because if you fast but do not pray, then your fast will be rejected, because acts of worship are not accepted from a kaafir.

The Standing Committee (10/140) was asked: if a person is keen to fast in Ramadaan and to pray in Ramadaan only, but he stops praying as soon as Ramadaan is over, does his fasting count?

They replied:

Prayer is one of the pillars of Islam, and it is the most important pillar after the Shahaadatayn. It is an individual obligation (fard ‘ayn), and whoever does not do it because he denies that it is obligatory, or he does not do it because he is careless and lazy, is a kaafir. With regard to those who fast Ramadaan and pray in Ramadaan only, this is trying to cheat Allaah, and unfortunate indeed are those who only acknowledge Allaah in Ramadaan. Their fasting is not valid if they do not pray at times other than Ramadaan, rather this makes them kaafirs in the sense of major kufr (kufr akbar), even if they do not deny that prayer is obligatory, according to the more sound of the two scholarly opinions.

Islam Q&A (www.islam-qa.com)

JazakAlalh for sharing! I know quite a few people who love to fast in Ramadan (which is good) but miss their obligatory prayers. Prayer (salat/namaz) is the pillar of Islam.

i totally disagree with this fatwa....

fasting and prayer r two different fardh, and one shud not be an obligation for the acceptance of the other....

does it mean that if someone does not fast in ramadhan then his/her prayer is not accepted either????

I know people who pray five times a day, but when it comes to haqooq-ul-abaad, they are big zeroes. They lie, cheat, hurt others...

I also know people who dont pray five times a day, but are nice to others, help others in distress and are fair.

I dont the first batch of people are going to end up in heaven ;)

When someone posts something in this Forum, is it always necessary to bash the thread. At this rate we will have no one but a select circle posting in this Forum arguing gleefully amongst ourselves because everyone else will have left out of disgust at the level of acrimony. When someone posts something informative about Islam, like Swera has done, just give her credit for posting it - she is trying to share information about Islam, she is trying to will us to become better Muslims. Why do we have to throw cold water on it. Instead of five lines such as, "I disagree blah blah blah", why not just say - Thank you for sharing that Swera, may Allah Guide us all on the right path.

It's just so frustrating. When someone does something good, acknowledge it. No one is perfect, let's try to help each other become better Muslims, not discourage each other. That's all i mean - let's help each other in becoming better Muslims, life's too short to be constantly arguing!

Sorry if i offended anyone. i could be wrong, just my personal opinion.

Thank you for sharing that Swera, may Allah Guide us all on the right path.

p.s. that was too tempting Nadia_H :-)

*Originally posted by Nadia_H: *
When someone posts something in this Forum, is it always necessary to bash the thread. At this rate we will have no one but a select circle posting in this Forum arguing gleefully amongst ourselves because everyone else will have left out of disgust at the level of acrimony. When someone posts something informative about Islam, like Swera has done, just give her credit for posting it - she is trying to share information about Islam, she is trying to will us to become better Muslims. Why do we have to throw cold water on it. Instead of five lines such as, "I disagree blah blah blah", why not just say - Thank you for sharing that Swera, may Allah Guide us all on the right path.

It's just so frustrating. When someone does something good, acknowledge it. No one is perfect, let's try to help each other become better Muslims, not discourage each other. That's all i mean - let's help each other in becoming better Muslims, life's too short to be constantly arguing!

Totally agree with you Nadia... though i can bring up so many hadith regarding how storngly those things are inter-linked .. but then again .... whats the purpose.. This thread and its purposed will be destroyed.
-Salman

Originally posted by SalmanNY: *
**Totally agree with you Nadia... though i can bring up so many hadith regarding how important those things are inter-linked .. but then again .... whats the purpose.. This thread and its purposed will be destroyed.

Brother Salman, i can also bring many hadiths that emphasize Muslims should be good towards each other. Some of Islam's fundamental principles are kindness, justice and respect - towards everyone. We can have no better example of how to live our lives, other than Prophet Muhammad (may Allah's peace and blessings be upon him). This man, even when he disagreed with someone, he couched his disagreement in the softest of words in order to cushion the blow. i don't remember one instance of him raising his voice against anyone. His behaviour towards everyone was absolutely exemplary. He is our example in humanity. Look at us here, in this Forum - all we do is nitpick and disagree. i just find it frustrating because i think it's massively discouraging. When someone is trying to do something good, i would wish we encourage that person and collectively pray for guidance and wisdom from Allah. Let's not create more divisions amongst ourselves, haina?

This thread and its purposed will be destroyed.

i think many previous threads have been destroyed by lack of respect.

Talking about wrecking threads, i don't want to wreck this thread any further so i will keep my mouth quiet. Sorry about the above, just wish we would all just get along sometimes. Life's too short to be fighting constantly.

*Originally posted by Nadia_H: *

this has to be the worst post i've seen from u....

u want to tell us that if tomorrow someone posts something like "muslims can pray only 2 prayers in a day and thats enuff" and gives some quotes from some ppl, we say "jazak Allah thank u for sharing and bla bla bla"....

this is a discussion forum....
ppl r expected to discuss things here....
and i think its just so right to agree or disagree with anything....

i feel its some false information she is sharing with others....
and i dont see any valid reason why i shud not post a msg declaring my disbelief in the posted matter....

Mughal bhai, please dont get offended for what i have to say. So far is thread per aap hi object kertaye hooye nazar aa rahaye hein… for what swera has to say :rolleyes: …

Other than that, Apka poora poora haq haye apni opinion dainaye ka ( besides the fact that you are quite old of a figure here on gupistan ) I respect you for your bilieves in religion especially against (Qadiyani/Ahamadi). As for your statement below

I will just say this solely for sake of discussion ( as by any means i dont mean to argue with you ), Namaaz tou prophet Mohammad :saw: per bhi maaf nahi thi forget about having the doubts whether rodha is accepted if Namaaz is not prayed. Though Namaaz and Roza are one of the main pillars of Islaam, BUT, Namaaz in respective order comes FIRST. So forget about going in to the depths of Quran and Hadiath , it’s about common sense that ager aik insaan Islam kaye itnaye baraye farz ko hi nahi poora ker raha tou wo kaisaye imagine ker sakta haye kaye uska Roza, namaaz kaye bhagair perhaye qabool ho jaye ga? These are just my thought for your discusion sake. Other than Allah s.w.t bheter jaantaye hein kaye wo kiski namaaz aur kiska roza qabool kerein.
Jazaak Allah
-Salman

**Prayer - Salat

So on the other hand we see that salat, the second pillar of Islam-you cannot leave it. Five times a day you are obliged to do it and you cannot leave it for any reason. No reason. No excuse. there is a very severe penalty for leaving prayer. If you are sick and you don’t fast there is no penalty. If you are poor and you have no money to give zakat there is no penalty. If you cannot afford to go to hajj there is no penalty. But for leaving salat there is a very high penalty - hellfire. Ma bayn al-kufr wal iman tark al-salah, - What is between belief and disbelief is leaving prayer. So there is no way, no excuse for any sick person, for a person with or without money, he or she has to pray. Five prayers. The sick person who cannot pray standing can sit and pray; who cannot pray sitting prays lying down, one who can’t pray lying down may pray with his eyes. Salat has to be performed. Oh Muslims don’t avoid giving salat its importance. No**

Reference

both r fardh....
even hajj is fardh....
so if someone does not do hajj (when he is able to), then his prayers/roza/zakat r all "annulled"????

*Originally posted by armughal: *
both r fardh....
even hajj is fardh....
so if someone does not do hajj (when he is able to), then his prayers/roza/zakat r all "annulled"????
Absloultey Correct !

JazakkaAllah
-Salman

*Originally posted by SalmanNY: *
I respect you for your bilieves in religion especially against (Qadiyani/Ahamadi). As for your statement below

Salman, you respect people only if they believe in Ahmedi bashing? Sad...

As for Nadia's post, armughal is right. This place would be really boring if we kept on saying, mashallah, jazakkallah, I agree with you. Discussion is good, provided no religion bashing takes place here. There was none over here, until SalmanNY brought ahmedis into this thread yet again.

Salaam!

Okay, so whatever I post go in arguing, why? 

I don’t know. Don’t want to know.
Amargul, okay you disagree, fine...But why don’t you read a few times with open eyes & open heart you may find something, you didnn’t before.
Salat is very important, Fasting is as well. Lakin jaab hum roza rakhaiN gay & baas soya rahaiN gay, , correct kay rozay ka kooch sawab zaroor milay ga but kitna?
Allah says, Roza mery liya hay or maiN hi is ki jaza dooN ga. So I am NOT JUDGEING anyone, just wanted to shae something....(How important salat is)
Ya saab Allah pay hay wok is ki choti si baat pay pakaR kaar lay or kis ko us ki namazaiN bhi na bacha sakaiN> There are many exsample. Lakin we have to try to do as much as we can.
Ask imama yourself. He’s there to answer. When you start arguing bohat kooch nikalta kehnay ko, & yes you can say whatever you want, kioNkay I think bandha isi tarah sikhta hay kay ask, & say jo wo sochay agar wo wrong ho to apna wrong way daroost karay, or if he\she is right so, hum kooch na kooch seekh hi lain..lakin kehna kis tarah chahiya wo bhi laRi ki tarah nahiN kay agla bandha gusay maiN aa kay wok eh day jo wo nahiN kehna chahta:)
So Thanks everybody for replying.:)
& Nadia thanks for defending me!

“Spock” Salman isn’t ahmadi, I think....:-\
( I hope I didn’t said anything wrong, if I did....May Allah forgive me, ameen)

This is Ramadan and I am not going to entangle myself in any arguments with yourself or with others. Peace :flower1:

Swera, Thank you for sharing and i sincerely mean that :flower1:

My pleasure Nadia:)

Thanks.

does not do Hajj: knowingly denies Hajj as the fard.

*Originally posted by armughal: *
both r fardh....
even hajj is fardh....

ofcourse i dont mean that ur posts r bad…
u r perhaps one of the best to post here…
and thats why i dint expect such from u that u shud discourage debate…
specially one that is free of insults and actually trying to convey a mesage…

this is also, i think, the first time i put up a debate on any of swera’s posts…
so u cant blame me for ‘ruining’ threads like this…

and even if i disagree, its not with swera, its with the guy who issued this fatwa (and yes i do have a lot of respect for uthaymeen)…

Originally posted by ramyssysIX: *
**does not do Hajj
*: knowingly denies Hajj as the fard.

i meant, he is lazy or miser when it comes to this matter....
but does believe that Hajj is fardh....

most ppl who r lazy in prayers very well know about the obligation of prayers....
and some might even have a fair amount of knowledge about the rewards/punishments associated to prayers....

believing that a certain 'pillar' of Islam is not fardh, takes one to kufr....
being lazy in the action, is a different category i think....

Im sorry but I do agree with armughal because i saw it on an islamic TV programme where people phone in and ask the moulvi questions. This question was asked and they said you do get reward for fasting even if you dont pray but of course the prayer is very important. But the prayer is seperate and fast is seperate, just like hajj zakat are seperate. So if you do a good deed you will be rewarded but if you leave prayer you will have to deal with the consequences.
sorry if that doesnt make any sense.