Fashion blunders made by men

right, and thats why I was focusing on colour, cut, and what to pair plaid pants with.
bozo the clown look wont work for most people
although one of my punk rocker pals in college had red plaid pants he wore with doc marten boots etc, but a fit lead singer of a punk band can pull it off out of shape Ilyas bhai at a valima can not :slight_smile:

so instead of saying, no plaid pants…its not loud or bright or sponsored by technicolour pants, :slight_smile:
lets educate people not just say no to stuff without qualifying specifics

Most men can't carry-off plaid. You're right about pairing it well and accessorizing it accordingly. Most men aren't lead singers, they can carry-off just about anything and get away with it too. When I use the word 'plaid' it's not the subtle woven material in shades of ink, grey or steel grey's that you speak about but the 'clowny' variety which Ali Azmat can carry-off but normal men would only make a spectacle out of themselves.

The links you've posted are acceptable.. and it'll look great on someone with a great physique too.

Re: Fashion blunders made by men

most men can rock plaid if its the right plaid , colour pattern size and cut
and unless they are very obese it will be just fine..and that too for plaid pants on their own..

if we are talking suit, glen plaid or price of wales plaid suit is a classic..and its modern interpretation rocks.

read up

How To Pull Off A Plaid Suit - AskMen.com

at the end of the day, one has to dress appropriately for age, complexion, physique, climate, season..and what does not stick out like a sore thumb in the locale they are in, being unique and standing out is all sticking out..not so much.

so as I said its is really less of what not to wear, but to have a better idea of how to wear it.

anyhoo, we are essentially saying the same thing, there are fauxpas committed by many desi men that they need to get some education on. details and perspectives may vary based on experiences and locale but in essence we are saying the same thing

one interesting observation though, and you ladies can comment on it (and the few dudes who showed up :))
the examples are all about western clothes I think aside from the dulha and gym socks..

does it mean that deis men have mastered the desi clothes look? I think not..probably better at it but there are issues there too.. right?

Shalwar kameez with waistcoats :nono:

never?
or is it certain type of kurtas with certain types of vests?

Personal choice X2, I don't like them :/

Somehow they always remind me of the Shareef Braatheraan

Errrm, talking about Men's Shalwar Kameez ... thinking that no underwear is required under shalwar kameez is ..err .. down right disgusting

All those that didn’t think about it before will surely think about it now :smack2:

Gina

I have not done the vest and kurta shalwar thing in many years, went from vests to ajrak to shawl to sherwani

but found a pic from early 90s. This was for 14th august events, and the first time I really started wearing kurta shalwars.

ummm colour ka bhi zara khayaal rahay..:D

X2, occassions and all are different. But it's the people wearing them everyday. shalwar kameez-vests and shalwar kameez-shawls uffoh!

What next, colorful naara's? Naara wallets?

dizzy

:D yes no polka dots one under white cotton shalwar

Gina you are used to seeing men with tidds wearing vests. You should go to Karachi sometimes.

wearing socks with khussas.

please

just

don't.

true and I suppose the type of kurta and color, fabric etc plus cut matters. like a really loose kurta and shalwar with a button up vest kinda gets a little strange look since its all neat and clean to the waist and then loose.

It has to be said that depending on physique, fabric, colour choice, people can really do things that
I know a couple of older gentlemen who do a white kurta shalwar with a blue blazer, and it looks good, I dont think I can pull it off but they do it and make it look good. one of these gents has for years been wearing tweed sports jackets with heavier material kurta shalwar in winter and one of em afghani woolen hats and suede shoes and looks very dignified, I have not had the guts to try it.

I know it looks stupid but most of the khussaas are made out of raw leather and they can get uncomfortable too soon. Without socks, they only work for people like Shahzada Saleem who used to lean down on his couch smelling rose or eating grapes whole day.

a couple of things

get well fitting khusas, so its not pinching the top or rubbing the achilles or crushing toes..and then get an insert. socks not needed, plus the material of the khussa will help too, dont get the stiff carboard types, go for the softer more pliable types

oh yeah and for ban-manus feet, trim the top o the foot too :) that may be a good idea

Actually I do have a khussa made out of soft leather nbow that I think of it.

Agree…

Never wore a khusa, as TLK said too uncomfortable.