i dont know it, a lot of you probably know some words…
my only connection is that my mom took it in school ![]()
so enlighten me, no links!
i dont know it, a lot of you probably know some words…
my only connection is that my mom took it in school ![]()
so enlighten me, no links!
Re: Farsi words
hey nice thread...
so far i've learnt how to greet, order food and ask haal ahwal in persian. so i'm gonna start with greetings.
salam
durud [greetings]
subh bakhayer [good morning]
asr bakhayer [good afternoon]
shab bakhayer [good night]
ruz bakhayer [good day]
Hall a shuma chitoray=How are you.
Bay daal kay boodum = Boom = Ulloo
I bet you know alot of farsi words, since almost every second Urdu word is derived from farsi.
Khoda = God
Rang = Color
Aasman = Heaven
Hafte = Week
Khanum = Lady
And so on...
^oh wow, that is cool!
keep going hareem and mirch :D
:D some more...
yes=balay or formally Aray
no= na or formally nakhayer
please=* lutfan* (same in Arabic)
thanks= mirsi(same in French), mamnoon, mutashakram, sipasguzaram
How can I help or here you are*= bifar maeed* (they use this phrase a lot in farsi)
you're welcome=khwahish me kunam
welcome=khush aamdeed
excuse me=* bibakhsheed*
pardon? or excuse me?=bibakhsheed
I'll post more tomorrow inshallah
Khuda Nighadaar= may God be with you
Zameen jum'bad na jum'bad gul mohammed
Merci, not mirsi. LOL
And BTW, most of the time we change the O from farsi words into an U. Such as with the word "Khosh" from Khosh Amadid, which we have changed into Khush.
Here is another one for you
Khoob = Great
Merci, not mirsi. LOL
And BTW, most of the time we change the O from farsi words into an U. Such as with the word "Khosh" from Khosh Amadid, which we have changed into Khush.
Here is another one for you
Khoob = Great
yes it's true and Khan*um in Urdu is Khana*m....and few other small differences here and there.
Khoob also means "well, fine".
someone asks you: how are you?=tu Chetori?(tum kaisay ho) or formally shuma chetor hasteed?(aap kaisay hain)
you say= Khoobam (I'm well)
Note: shuma is also plural form of you.
Another interesting point about farsi is that the adjective comes before noun or pronoun, so if you say "my dear" in persian it's "Jaan(dear)-e-man(my)"
Similarly read this phrase from right to left and you'll be able to construct it in farsi.
Cold dark night
shab-e-tareek o sard.
Allama iqbal poetry …Eghbale Lahori) “Tanhayi” in farsi with trans …
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=OdQOWwDV500&feature=player_embedded#at=57
ZabuN-e- YaaR-e-Maan farsi - wa maaN Farsi naami daaNaam :)
Pakistan’s National Anthem is mostly farsi.
Pak sar zamin shad bad
Kisware haseen shad bad
Tu nishane azmealishan
arze Pakistan
Markaz e yaqin shadbad.
Pak sarzamin ka nizam,
quwat e akhuwat e awam
Qaum, mulk, sultanat
Painda tabinda bad,
shad bad manzal e murad.
Parcham e sitara o hilal
Rahbar e tarraqi o kamal
Tarjuman e mazi shan e hal
jane istaqbal
Sayyai, Khudae zul jalal.
English tranalation
Blessed be sacred land,
Happy be bounteous relam,
Symbol of high resolve,
Land of Pakistan.
Blessed be thou citadel of faith.
The Order of this Sacred Land
Is the might of the brotherhood of the people.
May the nation, the country, and the State
Shine in glory everlasting.
Blessed be the goal of our ambition.
This flag of the Cresent and the Star
Leads the way to progress and perfection,
Interpreter of our past,
glory of our present,
Inspiration of our future,
Symbol of Almighty’s protection.
Urdu version is here:–>
No mostly, its all farsi except one word 'ka'
Pak sar zamin shad bad
Kisware haseen shad bad
Tu nishane azmealishan
arze Pakistan
Markaz e yaqin shadbad.
Pak sarzamin **ka** nizam,
quwat e akhuwat e awam
Qaum, mulk, sultanat
Painda tabinda bad,
shad bad manzal e murad.
Parcham e sitara o hilal
Rahbar e tarraqi o kamal
Tarjuman e mazi shan e hal
jane istaqbal
Sayyai, Khudae zul jala
Manzil-e-Murad :ASA:
abay I copy pasted from Mirch
And that's why they say ' Naqal k leay bi Aqal ki zarooRat hotee hai ' :)
And I copied from official Pakistani Govt. site , mera kia kasoor ? Is qasoor farsi lafz ?
Are you serious Mirch, that typo is in official pakistani site .. ![]()
I think Qusoor is arabic.
Yep pakmission.ca