Farooq-e-Azam- Hazrat Umar Ibn e Khatab(ra)

Re: unparalleled ..... unparalleled .... unparalleled ....

jazal-al-khaire.

thanks, dawa dil for sharing this humbling knowledge and reviving the faith.

dushwari

^^ thanks bahna... :)

I request all themembers...if you have any saying of umar..his life incident...his justice...which is his hallmark...any angle of his glorious life..then plz..share with us.....

as Imam Ghazzali...the grestest philosopher of islam writes that....

Wherever the remeberance of ibne khattab is done.....Allahs blessings ...reveal from sky on this gathering or meetng....

so ..if you share something about him...allah will definitely senf blessings and rehmat on you..you family..and on GS..etc...inshallah...

Jazakallah brother dawa_i_dil for such a nice thread

Narrated Ibn Abbas:

While I was standing amongst the people who were invoking Allah for Umar bin Al-Khattab who was lying (dead) on his bed, a man behind me rested his elbows on my shoulder and said, **"(O 'Umar!) May Allah bestow His Mercy on you. I always hoped that Allah will keep you with your two companions, for I often heard Allah's Apostle saying, "I, Abu Bakr and 'Umar were (somewhere). I, Abu Bakr and 'Umar did (something). I, Abu Bakr and 'Umar set out.' So I hoped that Allah will keep you with both of them." *I turned back to see that the speaker was Ali bin Abi Talib. - Al-Bukhari Volume 5, Book 57, Number 26*

Narrated Ibn Abbas:

When (the dead body of) 'Umar was put on his deathbed, the people gathered around him and invoked (Allah) and prayed for him before the body was taken away, and I was amongst them. Suddenly I felt somebody taking hold of my shoulder and found out that he was 'Ali bin Abi Talib. 'Ali invoked Allah's Mercy for 'Umar and said, "O 'Umar! You have not left behind you a person whose deeds I like to imitate and meet Allah with more than I like your deeds. By Allah! I always thought that Allah would keep you with your two companions, for very often I used to hear the Prophet saying, 'I, Abu Bakr and 'Umar went (somewhere); I, Abu Bakr and 'Umar entered (somewhere); and I, Abu Bakr and Umar went out."' Al-Bukhari

2 Likes

subhannalah..this shows love of ali with umar......

umar had ordered thatwheenever ali will be in Masjid Nabwi..and if some case of justice come..then even i cannot give the ruling..as ali has more knowledge....

and once umar said..if there had not ali..umar would have ruined.....

this shows how they love each other..thats why ali married her daughter to her...

but some people intentionally want to spread hatred among them...to divide the muslims...

** Umar and the Egyptian ... the peak of Justice**

** Once an Egyptian person took a part in race with the son of conqueror of Egypt and one of the greatest millitary commander of islamic history..Amr bin al'as(ra) ...the egyptian defeated his son...his son start beating tha poor Egyptian and said that we are the sons of respected people...that egytian came to Madina ...met umar(ra) and told this to umar(ra) ...umar(ra) called for amr bin alas(ra) and his son ..when both came ...umar(ra) asked his son that did you beat that poor Egyptan...his son said yes Ameer-ul-Momineen..... umar(ra) took his kane(kora) to egyptian and said beat him...on each stroke...umar(ra) repeated this sentence ..."beat the son of respected people" ......... when egyptian took his revenge ...umar(ra() said ...beat his father also...if his father had not on such a high post...his son would have done this !!!!!!!

then umar (ra) said that golden sentence of history **

*A Amr bin aala's(ra) ...Logo ko to uun ki mao nai azad paida kiya tha....tum nai kab sai unahi ghulam banana shooru kar diya *

** umar and the fish..... peak of control **

** Al-Hasan said: 'Umar entered in upon his son 'Asim when he was eating meat and he said, 'What is this?' He said, 'We had a craving for it. He said, 'Every time you crave something, do you eat it? It is sufficient wasteful extravagance for a man that he eats everything he has an appetite for.' Aslam said: 'Umar said, 'There occurred to my heart a desire for fresh fish.' He (Aslam) said: Yarfa' mounted his camel and rode four miles there, four miles back, buying a basketful and bringing it back. Then he went to his camel, washed it, and went to 'Umar. He said, 'Let us go and I will look at the camel.' He said, 'Did you forget to wash this sweat beneath its ears? Have you tormented an animal for the appetite of 'Umar? No! by Allah! 'Umar will not taste of your basket **

dawa-i-dil.........I respect shias and their belief........as i respect all the sects of Islam.

AOA

that's not a big issue

1) man made list
2) Genghis Khan is there too ( and what do u think of him and is 29th)
3) Augustus Caesar is thee too ( and is 18th)
and so on

Any one can rank any one in any number and can look at any individual from his own point of veiw but as a MUSLIM importance lies in the eyes of Allah (swt) and Mohammad (pbuh) and that suffice.

From a different angle even if I AGREE:
Umar said "Oh Ali (as) u r mine and all muslim MULLA from today" that makes Ali the best without any ranking.

take care and khuda hafiz

Re: unparalleled … unparalleled … unparalleled …

Nice thread. Don’t know how many of you have ever checked out

www.sahaba.net

jishah.....shahiba....

i think you are a pretty good and excellent knowledge of history...but sorry to say that .....you disappointed me.....

in previous posts... i have given the quotes of Abuzar Ghaffari...Ali..Abdullah ibne Masood..which you consider as "sahabas" ...and still you are so ignorant of the status and merits of umar......

its totally waste to spit on moon.....

Aahmed...nobody is worshipping umar...but neither its means that we cannot quote the greatness and uniqueness of this great man....

Thusayn...its useful to debate with you as you cannot believe on go..prophets..imams...as invisible...things......

Umar....whose greatness is accepted by the whole world...in every age....in every time...and if few ignorant do not accept that....its not mean hat majority is wrong...!!!!!

AOA

Let me ask few questions dawi-dill/ Us_resident:

from writers perspective;

1) is a christian beleiver an accepted authority for u
2) isn't he an ordinary man
3) isn't his collection based on influence and he in his ranking does not consider a quality but quantity ( hitler, genghis khan, ceaser and so on and ranked higher than umer. u should have objected the list to be wise instead of rejoycing, as we shia do. we consider no list and clearly states Ali(as) is the best after prophet with out any order and if u google u will find a lot of objections from christians instead of enjoying Jesus being 2nd on list. Heeray kee pehchaan johree ko hotee hay naa kay kaam akaal ko according to quran non beleivers are kaam akaal so want umer listed by kam akals)

from Islamic perspective:
1) is he (umer b Khitab or any other khalifa) ranked in quran
2) is he been given any special rank by Prophet (pbuh) proof means MUTAFIKA]
3) for better understanding of ranking from quran and Hadith please read KITABCHAA by Khalifa Mamoom Rashid ( SUNNI and son of haroon rasheed), a debate among mamoon and scholars of his time from quran and hadith to c who is the highest in rank after prophet
4) for further understanding ask about TAFZEELEE IHLE-SUNNAT (sunni school of thought)

i hope it works.

Now little more for Us-resident bror/sis:

do u really live in US, if yes then please I request u to open ur eyes and read ( bakol-e shair "

"hum to kabaa bee gaye, kalisa bee gaye
platanay pay bee waisay tay jaisay janay say pehlay"

To declare any one any thing and be authentic u need to have clear understanding of that with fromal education and degree unless ur declaration is wrong and against the laws set by Human and off course ur statement completely goes against quran and sunnah. In favor of Umer u forget to follow ur prophet and shariaa. Allah may bless u and give u vision and pateince to hear/see first, digest/understand 2nd and transfer after haqul-yakeen only.

take care and Allah Hafiz

Re: unparalleled … unparalleled … unparalleled …

nice site but almost all sahaba websites quote from a book of abdul wahid ahmed …very little independent research.

bro jishah… isnt umar[ra] amongst the early muhajireen and the righteous amongst them along with the ansar and “those who follow them in goodness” are assured of reward in the hereafter

for god sake...jishah...... !!!!!!

have you not read early posts...that you are putting forward such foolish questions.....

all unanimously agreed that 6 places...quran revealed what umar said.....and many also belive 21 places..or incidents...all are quoted in previous posts...have a look.....

on the day of badr...the greatest of all the prophets(pbuh)...and the greatest man after all prophets ..abu bakr was on one side to give pardon to badr prisoners..umar ..said...no..kill them all...and every blood relation kill his own kinship....

and do you believe..Allah..neglected his most beloved prophet(pbuh) and abu bakr ...ruling...and voted in favour of umar......

on which thinking...the aats of purda revealed...as prophet(pbuh) never orderd his wifes to do purda....

I agreed with my Lord in three things; I said, 'Messenger of Allah, if only we were to take the Station of Ibrahim as a place of prayer,' and there was revealed, '... and take the Station of Ibrahim as a place of prayer.' (Qur'an 2: 125). I said, 'Messenger of Allah, both good and bad people come to visit your wives; if only you would order them to wear hijabs,' and the ayah of the hijab was revealed. The wives of the Prophet, may Allah bless him and grant him peace, united in jealousy, and so I said, 'Perhaps his Lord, if he divorces you, will give him in exchange wives better than you, ...' and it was revealed just like that (with exactly the same words, see Qur'an 66: 5).
(Umar , the Great )

and you are asking about his ranks given by prophet(pbuh)....more than 20 25 ahadees...i have given previous...and still you are saying this ....khuda kai liyai.....jishah.....mat mutnaza banao...uun hastio ko...jiin kee soch par quran uttarta hai......

** Ahadees quoted previous summary **

1.prophet(pbuh) describing white palace of umar in jannah
2.prophet(pbuh) giving milk to umar..means knowledge...
3.prophet(pbuh) saw umar with longest shirt means knowledge of deen....
4.shaitan changes the road on which umar travels...
5.muahaddis and mujaddid of this nation...
6.allah put truth on umar tongue...
7.in dispute...quran revealed with umar pow..as ali...also said that..i given before ....
8.allah put truth on umar tongue...
9.prophet(pbuh) said...if thee had prophet after me..it would have umar...
10.prophet(pbuh) looking shaitans of men and jinn which fled from umar.....
11.truth shakes hands with umar...
12.allah place truth on umar tongue as said by abu zar ghaffari...
13.umar is the lamp of people of garden...
14.umar is the locked door of all fitnas..and will be broken...
15.his anger is might and his good pleasure is judgement...
16.shaitan afraid off umar...
17.every angel of heaven respect umar and every shaitan fear of him...
18.prophet(pbuh) said,...after me truth is with umar...
19.prophet(pbuh) dream of buket pulling by umar....
20.shaitan met umar..fell upon face...
21.jibril said that islam will weep over his death...
22.whoever angry wiyth umar..angry with me..whoever loves umar..loves me....

and you are saying about mamoon rashid.....whose mother and wife all werr kattar shia irani...influenced by baramakas......1400 years...thousands of great scholars and muhadisseens....unanimously agreed upon one thing...and you are giving us the ruling of Mammoon Rashid...who killed Imam Ahmed bin Hanbal...for not decralaring Quran as a khalq....

**for god sake...in biasness..not go so far...that you start degrading this man....jis ko khuda kai mehboob aur 1,24,000  nabio kai imam nai ghilafai kaaba ko pakkar kar allah sai manga tha !!!!!!**

and you are saying Michael Hart...do not come up with jusice...thats why he placed Muhammad(pbuh) at 1...Newton at 2..and Jesus at 3...the book told about most influencial personality....

was not umar...that conquered the most part of the world..in just few years ..that still all great millitary commanders and tactics finders amazed on that...and still today...all regions are major muslim part of the world....

are the conquests of Gengais khan ...Julius ceaser or any other like...alexander the Great are so sustainable.....why you not accept that tuth...ust because...you do not like umar...as your historians ...of persian origin...have filled your books with psuedo stories about umar...and neglected his merits and greatness....as he conquered iran...and in persian nationalism...the historians...did this....

and i have already quoted in "shia and sunni muslims" post sytrtedby "Pag@l" that...till 5 century...all shias great scholars unanimously agreed that quran was incomplete....and still you are beleiving in those scholars...rijal kashi...tafseer qummi...najashi...etc what they have written ill against umar...and other sahabas.......

what they have written about the most supreme thing of islam...quran...could not they write even worse against sahabs...which is relatively lower merit than quran ......

Just forget about Michael Hart.......

do you know...who is Gibbon !!!!!!

do you know what the standard of his master-piece *The Decline and Fall of the Roman Empire * !!!!!!

and see what this greatest historian of the world is saying about umar ....

*Yet the abstinence and humility of Umar were not inferior to the virtues of Abu Bakr: his food consisted of barley bread or dates; his drink was water; he preached in a gown that was torn or tattered in twelve places; and a Persian satrap, who paid his homage as to the conqueror, found him asleep among the beggars on the steps of the mosque of Muslims. Economy is the source of liberality, and the increases of the revenue enabled Umar to establish a just and perpetual reward for the past and present services of the faithful. Careless of his own emolument, he assigned to Abbas, the uncle of the Prophet, the first and most ample allowance of twenty-five thousand dirhams of pieces of silver. Five thousand were allotted to each of the aged warriors? The relics of the field of Badr and the last and the meanest of the companions of Mohammad was distinguished by the annual reward of three thousand pieces. Under his reign and that of his predecessors, the conquerors of the East were the trusty servants of God and the people; the mass of public treasure was consecrated to the expenses of peace and war; a prudent mixture of justice and bounty maintained the discipline of the Saracens, and then united, by a rare felicity, the dispatch and execution of despotism with the equal and frugal maxims of a republican government." *

Do you know who is *Professor Philip K. Hitti * !!!!!!

do you know his book History of the Arabs ...!!!!!! which is considered as authority on the arabian culture and history....

just see.....

*Simple and frugal in manner the energetic and talented Umar (634-644) who was of towering height, strong physique and bald headed, continued at least for some time after becoming the Caliph to support himself by trade and lived throughout his life in a style as unostentatious as that of a Bedouin Sheikh. In fact, Umar, whose name according to Muslim tradition is the greatest in early Islam after that of Mohammad, has been idolized by Muslim writers for his piety, justice and patriarchal simplicity and treated as the personification of all the virtues a Caliph ought to possess. His irreproachable character became an exemplar for all conscientious successors to follow. He owned, we are told, one shirt and one mantle only, both conspicuous for their patchwork, slept on a bed of palm leaves, and had no concern other than the maintenance of the purity of the faith, the upholding of justice and the ascendancy and security of Islam and the Arabians. Arabic literature is replete with anecdotes extolling Umar's stern character. He is said to have scourged his own son to death for drunkenness. Having in a fit of anger inflicted a number of stripes on a Bedouin who came seeking his succor against an oppressor, the Caliph soon repented and asked the Bedouin to inflict the same number on him. But the latter refused. So Umar retired to his home with the following soliloquy: 'O son of Al-Khattab humble thou wert and Allah has elevated thee, thou went astray, and Allah hath guided thee; thou were weak, and Allah hath strengthened thee. Then He caused thee to rule over the necks of thy people, and when one of them came seeking thy aid thou didst strike him! What wilt thou have to say to thy Lord when thou presentest thyself before Him'. The one who fixed the Hijrah as the commencement of the Muslim era, presided over the conquest of large portions of the then known world, instituted the state register and organized the government of the new empire, met a tragic and sudden death at the very zenith of his life when he was struck down by the poisoned dagger of a Christian Persian slave in the midst of his own congregation."

do you know who is *Sir William Muir * !!!!!!

do you know...what he has written in his fmous book The life of Muhammad about muhammad(pbuh) 9 wives !!!!! do you know....how staunch critic of islam he was !!!!!!

and this staunch critic of islam...see ...what he writes about umar !!!!!!

Umar's life requires but few lines to sketch. Simplicity and duty were his guiding principles; impartiality and devotion the leading features of his administration. Responsibility so weighed upon him that he was heard to exclaim 'O that my mother had not borne me; would that I had been this stalk of grass instead!' In early life, of a fiery and impatient temper, he was known, even in the later days of the Prophet, as the stern advocate of vengeance. Ever ready to unsheathe the sword, it was he who at Badr advised that the prisoners should be put to death. But age, as well as office, had now mellowed this asperity. His sense of justice was strong. And except it be the treatment of Khalid, whom according to some accounts, he pursued with an ungenerous resentment, no act of tyranny or injustice is recorded against him; and even in this matter, his enmity took its rise in Khalid's unscrupulous treatment of fallen foe. The choice of his captains and governors was free from favoritism and (Al-Mughira and Ammar excepted) singularly fortunate. The various tribes and bodies in the empire, representing interests the most diverse, reposed in his integrity implicit confidence, and his strong arm maintained the discipline of law and empire. . . Whip in hand he would perambulate the streets and markets of Madina, ready to punish slanders on the spot; and so the proverb Umar's whip is more terrible than another's sword'. But with all this he was tender hearted, and numberless acts of kindness are recorded of him, such as relieving the wants of the widows and the fatherless

The whole history of Umar shows him to have been a man of great powers of mind, inflexible integrity and rigid justice. He was more than any one else the founder of the Islamic empire; confirming and carrying out the inspirations of the Prophet; aiding Abu Bakr with his counsels during his brief Caliphate; and establishing wise regulations for the strict administration of the law throughout the rapidly-extending bounds of the Muslim conquests. The rigid hand which he kept upon his most popular generals in the midst of their armies, and in the most distant scenes of their triumphs, gives signal evidence of his extra-ordinary capacity to rule. In the simplicity of his habits, and his contempt for all pomp and luxury, he emulated the example of the Prophet and Abu Bakr. He endeavored incessantly to impress the merit and policy of the same in his letters to his generals. 'Beware' he would say of Persian luxury both in food and raiment. Keep to the simple habits of your country, and Allah will continue you victorious; depart from them and He will reverse your fortunes'. It was his strong conviction of the truth of this policy which made him so severe in punishing all ostentatious style and luxurious indulgence in his officers. Some of his ordinances do credit to his heart as well as his head. He forbade that any female captive who had borne a child should be sold as a slave. In his weekly distributions of the surplus money of his treasury, he proportioned them to the wants, not the merits of the applicants. 'God' said he, 'has bestowed the good things of this world to relieve our necessities, not to reward our virtues: those will be rewarded in another world'."
**Lives of Successors of Muhammad

*Washington Irving *

To Umar's ten years' Caliphate belong, for the most part, the great conquests. He himself did not take the field, but remained in Madina; he never, however, suffered the reins to slip from his grasp, so powerful was the influence of his personality and the Muslim community of feeling. His political insight is shown by the fact that he endeavored to limit the indefinite extension of Muslim conquest, to maintain and strengthen the national Arabian character of the commonwealth of Islam; also by making it his foremost task to promote law and order in its internal affairs. The saying with which he began his reign will never grow antiquated: 'By God, he that is weakest among you shall be in my eye the strongest, until I have vindicated for him his rights; he that is strongest I will treat as the weakest, until he complies with the law'. It would be impossible to give a better general definition of the function of the State."
**The Encyclopedia Britannica

^JazakAllah brother dawa-i-dil.