here is anoth
http://www.gupistan.com/gallery/2/moeen2choti.jpg
er one!
what did you do to the guy in the last picture... he looks like he's in a bad mood.
Why is it that when Paki celeb. put on make-up, they look like clowns?
hey ali … pics turned out good man. i like my picture (i am the one standing behind sajjad) … and sajjad looks PISSED
ghalib bhai- that’s so freaky!
http://www3.pak.org/gupshup/smilies/eek.gif
i was IM-ing that very thought to Bhola#1 just before I read what you wrote! Like minds! hahahha.
http://www3.pak.org/gupshup/smilies/flower1.gif
play on.
Ali....both you and Bhola#1 look like you've gained weight.
Kya khatay ho aaj kal? Still having those dinners at your place?
Sajjad Ali had a real bug fight with Moeen Akhter right before thois photo. I was cheering up sajjad telling him the show was great. Lekin he was pissed. And as for Muzna jees comment, aaj say me and Bhola Dieting shuru!
Are these pictures taken at the concert that was on last sunday at T.C. William High School?
ummm…i dont know if you’re Pakistani…but can u please say PAKISTANI instead of “paki”?? This is supposed to be an insulting slang but its sad to see how many Pakistanis have adopted it and use it when talking about their own country!! How can u expect others to respect us if you dont???
Hey, I really love to see celebs pissed off like that! DOn’t they look so cute?
Anyways I think I’ll save this pic to my harddisk.
AOA,
Yahya
Allah knows best…
Oh I Believe Sajjad was pissed cuz he was surrounded by guys instead of girls…
hey hk i was surprised to know that paki is considered as an insulting term. But here in states Its really common to use the term paki. I never hesitated calling myself paki, I thought it was pretty cool.
Probably it depends in different localitites.
Ali Beta, you seem to be throwing in this pic too.
By the way when was this concert...
In case you have not noticed I am from WVU.
Just because its used so often doesnt make it any less insulting…many young Pakistanis use it in Canada as well and its so ironic because they have no idea that its supposed to be disrespectful…the British came up with it as an insult for us…its very prevalent in the UK as well…
Anyway, its your life, do whatever you want.
I just have more self respect for myself and my country.
hmmm… hk, ghalib, sherrybaba and others
my 2 cents… i guess it it really depends on whose saying the word paki or the context in which its being said..if you look at the word WOPS that italians are use themselves.. (or do they?)…well some do i think ..
and wop only means without papers..because when they came to north america they didn’t have any papers.. now do you use it as a derogatory term.. i guess that would depend on the evolution of the word… like even the n word.. i mean it’s used a lot in rap music.. but i still think it is derogatory..but if they use it themselves.. does it make it okay? does it send a mixed signals… i mean in mixed groups i have seen brown ppl call themselves paki.. but then the “i’m allowed to call myself that cuz i am one” saying applies .. what the caucasion folks think..who knows…but honestly.. it is the attitudes that you hold and how its being said… noone denies that it can be racial putdown word.. but also used to describe yourself…
like on a side note: and this is what i wanna share as well when it comes to changing ppls attitudes… on a bus one day.. my cousin was sitting next to a white older lady.. and there were a lot of brown ppl on the bus.. so i guess the lady didn’t think my cousin was brown too… cuz she turns to her and says something like “these pakis smell” so my cousin politely turns to her and says “smell me” so she does and the lady comments oh you smell nice… so my cousin says.." not all pakis smell" and walked off the bus.. that probably stunned the woman i imagine..
what do i know.. oh sorry for going of topic. ta ta
[This message has been edited by ~Amber~ (edited October 26, 2000).]
o.k… I have a feeling that this thread is gonna evolve into a hot debate about wheter “Paki” should be considered a casual slang or a slur. Before it does, it will be good to move it to Culture section…
This is abviously about difference of opinion and varrying perception of the word and how one likes to view it in context. Yes, I am aware that this word is used as slur by the Brits but I choose not to let brits’ prejudice dictate my perception of this word. NExt thing you know, they might use the word “Desi” as a slur for all people of the Indian subcontinent. I simply don;t see how self-respect can be left at the mercy of others. It can’t be this fragile.
If a Brit chooses to call me a Paki, instead of feeling intimidated or resorting to vilence (two common responses), I would rather walk up, hold my head high, look the person in the eye and say, “Yes, I am from Pakistan. How can I help you?”
yeh cheez ghalib!!!
Originally posted by ghalib:
**o.k… I have a feeling that this thread is gonna evolve into a hot debate about wheter “Paki” should be considered a casual slang or a slur. Before it does, it will be good to move it to Culture section…http://www3.pak.org/gupshup/smilies/smile.gif
This is abviously about difference of opinion and varrying perception of the word and how one likes to view it in context. Yes, I am aware that this word is used as slur by the Brits but I choose not to let brits’ prejudice dictate my perception of this word. NExt thing you know, they might use the word “Desi” as a slur for all people of the Indian subcontinent. I simply don;t see how self-respect can be left at the mercy of others. It can’t be this fragile.
If a Brit chooses to call me a Paki, instead of feeling intimidated or resorting to vilence (two common responses), I would rather walk up, hold my head high, look the person in the eye and say, “Yes, I am from Pakistan. How can I help you?”**
singing hell to the scenes…
Hmm?
who are you Doctor Who?
And where do you live at?
Well figure out for urself,
U've met me!!
should'nt be tough!!
bhayee I meet many Pakistanis everyday!