Do u remember the way we loaded the games... connected to a tape-player? The volume level had to be just right. The blue bars on the border changed to black and white bars... and the sounds had to be carefully listened to ensure everything goes correctly.
A typical game used to take 10-20 minutes to load, stored on audio cassettes, and 64K of memory was a status symbol.. oh man!
Gosh! this brought back sooooo many memories... How ammi used to say "kiya sara waqt gameiN khailtay rehtay ho... utaro computer, hum nay news sunanee hai" (ofcourse this computer was attached to the TV) ... kiya dinn thay woh... :)
PS. I had originally ZX Spectrum, then upgraded to Plus. Also had the other computer from Sinclair which had 128K memory and used cartriges...forgot its name.
[This message has been edited by Pristine (edited April 10, 2001).]
So much effort went into loading the cassette, waiting an eternity for the game to load... then having to start again because it didn't work the first time.
Jetpac was the best game. Getting all of those pieces of the rocket the little dude had to get b4 flying off to the next alien planet to valiantly commmence battle once again...and then the screen freezing at the critical moments....aaahhh Yaadein.....
And there used be a “data read error”… the worst nightmere … and the display on the screen while the thing was being loaded…all most an artistic performance I would say…dancing lines and the sounds…
THose were the days …and best part was programming the thing in basic and assembler…after some time it would run out of memory and go dead slow…
the black Spectrum… I bought that from a spectrum shop near Shimla pahadi in Lahore… and proudly payed comp games and thought of myself the greatest comp wiz of the universe… jane kahan gaye woh din…
yes the black Spectrum… I bought that from a spectrum shop near Shimla pahadi in Lahore… and proudly payed comp games and thought of myself the greatest comp wiz of the universe… jane kahan gaye woh din…
Nahi bhai… he is talking about Shimla pahadi and u are talking about Jail Road. I knew Anthony, but I guess Degas is talking about Al-Khair Corporation on Empress Road. Owned by Mr. Irfan Tahir. They were the dealers of Sinclair.
Yeah I am talking about the same place… and yeah its name was Al-Khair corp… and digital corp in near the bridge on jail road… Sorry for the mix-up… but Anthony richard used to be at Al-khair too (I think)… I was too bloody young then but I still remember getting computers from Al-khair…
Originally posted by who---me:
**I wonder what ZX stands for......
anyone?**
not sure of its authenticity, but i heard it was Z-eXtention.. Z as in .. z-buffer.. i THINK its the same Zbuffer that now 3dfx inc. uses in almost all of their 3d cards or any other 3d card makers...
Somewhere there is some1 who dreams of your smile
Some1 who finds your presence worth while
So when you are lonely remember this--
That there is someone, somewhere..Thinking of you**.