Fankaaron ki azaadi

Do artists deserve to be given freedom? From what I understand, fankaaron ki azaadi ka matlab hai, allow them to take out their frustration by painting nude pictures, making lewd music videos, shooting voilent/porn themed films etc etc. Fankaar community has openly declared Zia as their don because apparently he gagged their freedom .If you have watched dramas of the eighties you would know they used to address bold subjects i.e. tapish, parchaiyaan, aangan tehra etc so I don’t agree that he gagged them. He gave them a sense of direction but he did not let them misuse this medium to pander to low tastes.

In the 70’s, pakistani culture was very westernized but the people in our media were mostly educated; they knew where to draw the line. There’s a lot of sophistication in the dramas and talk shows of that time. But these days artists just cross their limits. Take for example humayun and faisal came on good morning pakistan show. Humayun almost kissed noor and faisal passed some stupid comment. Seemed like some street-side hooligans were enjoying their two minutes of fame.

Our stage artists have also been enjoying a lot of freedom. But what did they do with it ? Did they come up with a pathbreaking play ? No . All they have done is strip tease dancing in the name of art.

So, do artists deserve to get freedom? I think they need to be kept under zia style censorship, due to their loose sense of morals and free-spirited nature.

Thankyou!! lol i''ve been wanting to say this.

I posted something like this before but not many people replied. :(

some people think saying this makes people "close minded" but if you look at it, it's reality. Pakistani entertainment is trying to become something it never was and is never going to be. And the way they're promoting "modernized" thinking, which is anything but modern.
throwing away you're own culture and bringing in trash isn't being modernized!!

Re: Fankaaron ki azaadi

^ I agree ! people who consider this modernization are lakeer-ke-faqir.

I totally agree with you. Because Zia had censorship thus the writers and directors had to bring out creativity to talk about a topic. We had some classics like Waris, Seerhiyaan, Samandar and many in those days. In fact 80's were the best of the best days of PTV, from my POV.

have you seen independent movies of Iran. You will be amazed to see how beautiful and artistic they are. Just amazing. That is because of censorship that makes the creative juices flowing

^ iranian directors ki kya baat hai.I partciularly like Abbas Kiarostami and jafar panahi.

have you seen Children of Heaven by Majid Miajidi .. Oh its is one of the most amazing movie I’ve ever seen in my life

[googlevid]2085360636693346701[/googlevid]

sorry for derailing the thread but this is an example of hwo censorship is good fro creativuty

I agree, there should be certain restrictions and boundaries in the showbiz industry..leiken ub to aisa lugta hai...jaisai censorboard walai murr gayai hain.

TLK, Thanks for posting the link. I was looking for this film.

you are welcome Lilly

Coming back to the topic, when you give artists a blank canvas to work with, its good for their creativity. Problem is when you put that canvas on the street and then anyone and everyone who can afford to buy some paint will be there to show his/her artistry. Now that is the problem right there as you might see some Picasso, but more often you will see the obscene, public bathroom wall graffiti

We have no school no institutions from where people can learn. There was a time when Radio and Theater used to provide that leaning environment and then the one with higher grades were promoted to TV. Now its like Radio/Theatre/TV are miles apart. There is no connection.

Yes, people like Usman Pirzada and Madiha Gohar are still trying to keep that connection alive between Thatre and TV but its not the same connection. Its more like a twin brother connection where no one is learning from no one.

PTV and Radio Pakistan used to have their own training academies. So, inspite of not having any educational institutions for TV /Film, we were able to maintain a high standard as the people at the helm of the affairs were qualified. But now the situation is different. Due to lack of training and education, a deluge of incompetent lot has taken over the tv industry. Because there's no censorship no professionalism these people are making big bucks. If the censorship were as strict as during zia's times, more than half of the current lot would be out of the running.

Freedom of media is a good thing, but some people don't know how to use it.
It seems that we, as a nation, has no clue, how to handle politics, media, religion or even western values. We always pick worst out of everything.

I remember Tauqeer Nasir’s first play .. that was with Roohi Bano and was aired at the peak of Zia’s regime. In one scene, Tauqeer Nasir put his hand on Roohi Bano’s shoulder from behind. I remember that I was shocked to see that display of vulgarity :hehe: .. it was an excellent play.

and no I am not an uncle, i just have a very good childhood memory :smiley:

ya... a 42 yr old man is usually a munna sa kaka...

n thx 4 the link of 'children of heaven'... awesome movie!

lilly, yes... artists n directors should not be allowed to cross the boundaries off course... but kya kya jai today's media is at the mercy of our BELOVED leaders...

A proper censorship is as much mandatory as education for the artists!

TLK, I just finished watching Children of Heaven.what a beautiful film!!!!

And I could identify with the culture as it is closer to ours, since we 're both islamic countries. We should work with their film-makers.

That is one amazing movie, I agree with both of you .. see this is the problem, our directors producers don't want to think out of the box. There are so many topics they can touch upon but they dont want to take risk

thank god, at least some one is paying attention ....

thanks

any more recommendations of Majid Miajidi's efforts??

Zero, I am trying to find an independent 5 minutes, no dialogued, independent movie made by an Irani director that I saw on Frontier Airline flight once. It was like just so involved and beautiful. Inshallah I will try to find it and post it soon

that would b interesting.. thx

Abbas Kiorastami on censorship