For lack of a better term…now I don’t know how males can be, but as a former young girl child I remember having massive crushes on pop stars/actors etc. When I was growing up, the internet was pretty new, but there were still lots of fansites devoted to certain popstars. I wasn’t allowed to have posters or go to concerts, but I did spend hours and hours reading fanfiction and trying to catch them on TV. Eventually I grew out of it and since college I haven’t had any extreme feelings for any celebrities…
I saw a pic on facebook and while I’m not posting it, the first thing I thought was… “her poor parents!”…I think liking celebrities/popstars etc is normal, but what you do with those feelings and how you channel that energy…is whats determined by your upbringing and personal values etc. As a parent, what do you think is normal and appropriate? and for extreme behaviors…is it fair to even blame this on the parents? I’m talking about 8-13-14 year olds…
I don't like any of the new generation popstars and actors (because they lack talent (most of them) and all they do is dwarl around half naked and sing stupid baqwasi songs, so I'd not want to daughter to become a fan of such a commercial puppet.
I will speak for myself. I don't watch bollywood or any such thing. So My kid isn't exposed to that. Never listened to or liked mtv and such, or such popmusic. So no exposion to kiddo there either.
I don't let her watch tv programmes such as Big time rush, and Victorious and aur patta nai kya kya nikla hai. It is so superficial and not for kids.
So yes I hope my kid stays out of it.
If she likes a particular singer, then ok so be it. But no posters in the room (especially if its a guy) and no going to concerts etc.
Baaqi if she wants to read about stars on internet, then fine. But I am not going to buy xyz socks, xyz bag, xyz umbrella, xyz bedsheets etc.
For lack of a better term...now I don't know how males can be, but as a former young girl child I remember having massive crushes on pop stars/actors etc. When I was growing up, the internet was pretty new, but there were still lots of fansites devoted to certain popstars. I wasn't allowed to have posters or go to concerts, but I did spend hours and hours reading fanfiction and trying to catch them on TV. Eventually I grew out of it and since college I haven't had any extreme feelings for any celebrities...
I saw a pic on facebook and while I'm not posting it, the first thing I thought was... "her poor parents!"....I think liking celebrities/popstars etc is normal, but what you do with those feelings and how you channel that energy...is whats determined by your upbringing and personal values etc. As a parent, what do you think is normal and appropriate? and for extreme behaviors...is it fair to even blame this on the parents? I'm talking about 8-13-14 year olds...
you mean the little girl pretending to be doing it with a poster?
I see girls CRYING their eyes out when they are at concerts with their fav boy bands or justin bieber or whatever it is. I think this behaviour is very sad and concerning. You should never have a celebrity crush to the point where you IDOLIZE them.
Thinking a celebrity is good looking is fine. I like Ryan Gosling and I like to go see his movies because I think he is sexy and also an amazing actor but that is where it ends! I don't go looking up gossip on him, nor do I put his photos up anywhere. I never even did that when I was a teenager.
I hate it when I see teenage girl's rooms with pics of boy bands all over their walls or stupid male teen stars. This looks like idolizing celebrities and it is so wrong.
For me it is all fine until I see you fainting over the guys, or crying ur eyes out and screaming his name, and trying to hug hima nd kiss him and pulling on his clothes
I have had my crushes as well, on cricketers, bollywood, hollywood, pop bands…I was allowed to have posters…but I never went crazy about them like how some girls are
I know a Pakistani girl in her mid-teen who goes by last name “Drew Bieber”
90% of the time, I have seen this “bukhar” going away with time and age. So I do not believe that parents need to do something special but just to keep and eye and make sure she does not fall in rest of the 10%
Exactly what Le Pakistan said .. All through my boarding school and my parents home , I wasnt allowed to watch all these music channels or movies ..
I can still remember cricket was the only sport I was allowed to watch and it so happened that I fell in love with Waqar younus ! I wanted to stick his posters on my room walls and was desciplined so heavily by my wardens .. and later when i came home, I tried to collect a few of his pics until mom found out and she lectured me so skillfully I thought its better to never do it again !
I hated this strict regime at that time, but you know, as I grew up I realized there is so much more to life then these people that we fancy for nothing when we are kids .. Its not healthy at all for kids to fall for this materialistic, star glamorous image .. It kills half their personality .. and its sheer imcompetence on the part of the parents if they think its alright for kids to fall for these characters .. they refuse to show their kids the REAL world and REAL hero's in life ...
One of my family friends teenager is a fan of K.Minogue and once I asked her who she thinks is an ideal person, she said Kylie, I said why not your mother? and she said whats so special about mom? she is not a star, cant sing, doesnt know how to wear stylish clothes etc etc ...
I felt so distraught hearing this crap out of that 15 year old , I wanted to slap her silly .. but hey , kids are a direct reflection of your upbringing .. you teach them crap , they will spew out crap too ..
i remember when i was at school i used tto have a folder with like justin timberlakes pix cos i was big fan (still am) and my mum would scold me for it really bad but i still done it but i grew out of it as do many teens :) although there shouuld be a limit