Famous Indian Muslims before partition

As we all know that India was a sub continent before partition but Indian muslims who were famous and were in favor of partition don’t you think they will be consider Pakistanis now. In another thread people are discussing on Allama Iqbal whether to call him Pakistani or not. We should discuss this issue here but please don’t fight :slight_smile:

Re: Famous Indian Muslims before partition

i dont want to go very far back to the time of shahshahs etc. but in "recent" history my list is:
Iqbal
Jinnah
Jakir hussain
Khan Abdul gaffar khan
Bulle Shah
Ghalib

please add more to the list.

Sir Syed
Maulana Mohammad Ali Johar

Regarding your other question, how can u call People who never saw pakistan as pakistanis. even though for almost all his life jinnah was indian and for couple of years he was pakistani still he would be called a pakistani.
why stop at muslims, lets consider all the people of the indian subcontinent. lala lajpat rai, bhagat singh etc were born in pakistani punjab, but still they are called indians.
a pakistani is a person who was or is a citizen of State of pakistan.

Regarding those people nationalities we cannot call them Pakistani. But you know when you see Gandhi and Nehroo at one side and they are indians and you see people like Iqbal or Johar who were also Indians you just don't feel like calling them Indians because they were our heros in building Pakistan.:( Its just the feeling that they supported the idea of two nations and they were in Pakistan's favor although Pakistan was not built at that time. Considering that I am sure we cannot call them Pakistanis but we know they supported Pakistan's idea.

well we all have our feelings about our leaders. I admire iqbal too, and honestly speaking until i joing GS i didnt know that pakistanis also consider it their national poet.
I know it is complicated, musharraf was born in delhi but is pakistani, manmohan singh was borin in jhelum but is indian, mhd rafi was born in lahore but is indian, mujib rehman was born in india, then became pakistani and then became bangladeshi. even abdul qadir was born in bhopal but is pakistani.
infact there were some people who didnt support idea of pakistan like maulana madudi but he was pakistani.

i guess we shouldnt worry about who is who instead celebrate their work.

bro it all depends which citizenship one holds...

Mohammad Rafi was born in Amritsar but lived his childhood in Lahore.**

thanks. thats what i am trying to say here.

i stand corrected in that case

maulana abul kalam azad-

freedom fighter during the times of british rule, always proclaimed his faith in hindu-muslim unity
aamir khan is a descendant of the scholar

asfaqallah khan-freedom fighter

** Taj Mohammed Khan**, was an Indian independence activist from Peshawar, British India, the father of famous Shah Rukh Khan

i think it's hardest for indian muslims and hindus that have family members on either side of the border.

in what sense Nisha?

I think your right.

I think Nisha is trying to tell us that there are some Muslim fammilies that lie divided and who have not seen one another across the border. Moswt of us can relate to friends or fammily on the other side.

i'm pretty sure during all those wars between india and pakistan, i know if i had family on either side of the border that i would feel like i'm in the middle of the extremists on either side of the border that don't want friendlier relations between the two countries.

that was TRUE a long time ago when Pakistan wasn't doing too bad and we looked up to Pakistan but what has happened in recent years has changed all that. now indian muslims aren't that emotionally attached to pakistan. this relationship has weaned a great deal. now, if something bad happens in Pak we just feel bad and pray then move on but b4 we used to worry a lot and even miss our meals in sadness.** we are more frustrated now than b4 and we have just given up all hopes...sorry and too bad but thats the state of affairs Pak is in now...as we see it from the other side of the border...we have been disappointed!

Master Havildar Abdul Hamid (July 1, 1933 - September 10, 1965) was a soldier in the 4 Grenadiers, Indian Army, who died in the Khem Karan sector during the Indo-Pakistani War of 1965, and was the posthumous recipient of the Republic of India’s highest military decoration, the Param Vir Chakra.

he was born pre-partition.

Azim premji, founder of wipro, was born in karachi, british india

i guess whereever they live now or lived after partition is their nationality.

a couple of my IM friends/acquaintances which are from my generation, are all over the place, some are staunch patriots and go out of their way to show that they are indian and a little bit too passionate about showing that. I wish they didn't feel the need to constantly prove that they are indian to the core. then there are others that really don't see nationality as a big issue, indian or pak muslims, they are muslims at the end of the day so, deen over country for them, then there are others that don't really see a difference between indian and pakistani muslims, they feel love for people of both countries but whose family members,grandparents to parents were staunch patriots would give their right arm for india.

that's why i think it's still a bit tough and there are varied opinions on this amongst IMs. i think they would benefit the most from a south asian union

nobody has any right to question anybody's patriotism, especially of indian muslims b/c there were such great heroes from the past that were indian muslims, i just don't see why they need to prove their patriotism, they live there, work there everyday, they're more indian than i am

Mujaddid Alf Sani

ji...saHeeH farmaayaa...Mujaddid alf-e-saanii [rahmatullaahi ilaih] wali Allah aur mujaddid-edeen hazaar saal pe hii paida hote haiN...kia aap ne kabhii unke maktoobaat paRhe haiN? sirhond meN unke maqbare ke mahraab pe jo ash'aar raqam haiN vo mere vaalid ke haiN...maiN aaj tak kabhii jaa nahiiN paayaa kiuN k maiN qabr parastii ke Khilaaf huN. mere vaalid bhii the khilaaf magar na jaane kaise unke ash'aar vahaN raqam ho gaye.**

Mashallah ..

I read only one biography of Hazarat Sirhindi that was compiled by one of his shagird. Hazrat kee apni ko kitaab parhnay ka moqa naji mila.

oh achchhaa...mere vaalid ke paas poora majmoo'a thaa jo farsii men thaa...mujeh us waqt farsi samajh men nahiiN aatii thii is liye nahiiN paRh sakaa...vaalid saaHib ke intiqaal ke ba'd ab vo jildeN na jaane kahaaN gum ho gaii haiN...jab paRhne kaa waqt aayaa to kitaab na-daarad :(**