he is a very well known stage artist :) ...who also had worked in several TV dramas and Pakistani movies.
if you are not aware of him that doesn't mean he is not famous.
I'm well aware of the comedy scene in Pakistan. A lot of actors have worked in Dramas and Movies in Pakistan, it don't mean they are famous. People knew he was a stand up but he certainly wasn't famous in Pakistan before he took part in Comedy Circus.
I have seen him in plenty of umar sharif plays. It is a sad incident.
iski jagah umar sharif ki pitai honi chaiye thi. he is very rude and arrogant.
even though Umer Shareef is a good standup comedian but ya u r right he is very arrogant, rude and sometimes well in fact on several occasions he crosses the limits of cheapness and vulgarity.
in fact if any one has seen a very famous stage show "Bakra Qistoon per", he ever surpassed Moin Akhtar. well moin Akhtar used to be very sensible and witty comedian.
ps. i really didnt like moin akhtar's Layari king.
Re: Famous comedian Shakeel Siddiqui beaten up in India
[note]guys please take it easy. us nay mar khani thee or kha li. i will quote LUC here that "Rozi roti ka masla hai. You go where your job takes you."[/note]
I find it amusing when people who are bollywood fans and love Indian movies/ music/ actors and what not, suddenly become all uptight and start having issues as soon as any Pakistani celebrity goes to India to perform. Suddenly all the patriotism kicks in and bashing starts. LUC is right, they go to India to get more money and a wider audience which brings them much more fame. Being patriotic is not everything to alot of them, money is a bigger attraction. Happened with Junoon, Meera, Strings, Atif and so many others. Hum tou bus ghar par movies dekhte rahenge leikin agar koi hamare mulk se India jaye tou bus, qayamat hogayee. How dare they, where's the self respect, right? What happens to our so called self respect when we are drooling over the Bollywood stars? Saare moral checks, rules and regulations Pakistani celebrities ke liye hi hain? On one hand we don't even think twice before spending money on all the Bollywood stuff (dvds, cds, posters, concerts) but when others travel there to make more money, we have the biggest issue with that.
It's about time all these hypocrite audience shut up and stop criticizing the artists. If you yourself cannot stop investing money in their movies/music, you have no right to stop anyone from going to India.
there is a famous saying "you can only grow where you are planted"
Nusrat fateh ali khan got his fame with his talent, he didn't have to go to india to be recognized by the world. hard work is appreciated no matter what country you are in...my thing is i feel like our musician/actors don't work as hard in pakistan as they do when they go to india. if they had put the same amount of effort in their work in pakistan, people of pakistan would have given them the respect they deserve. take for example shakeel, the type of stage shows he did in pakistan (with the exception of umar shareef shows) were not only vulgar but disrespectful towards women. In my opinion, ones dignity is far more important than money. as for drooling over bollywood stars, i can only speak for myself in that matter. I personally don't watch bollywood films because most of them are copy of hollywood or have a totally pointless story. I still fail to understand why our people die over bollywood films. anyways regarding this whole issue, i think extremists exist on both sides of the border and i think india should stop playing the blame game and work towards finding a peaceful solution rather than creating war hysteria.
Extremists exist on both sides … but you dont see RSS or Bajrang Dal “terrorists” in Lahore or Karachi … coming back to Shakeel … it seems he is “saftely” back in Pakistan and ready to go back to India.
According to shakeel siddiqui it's no big deal getting beaten up in India. Aakhir india aur pakistan bhai bhai hain aur un mein is tarah ka 'people to people contact' hona chahiye LOL