With regards to what I see in Cafe forum I want to ask the Admins here what do they think of the audience in Cafe - their age etc. I am concern coz I know 14 years old kids who come here and there’s NO point in calling a forum a family-oriented forum when it’s NOT.
Either implement what you say or please don’t mislead people into believing the Cafe is a family oriented forum where decent language is used.
I once pmed Khannu bhai earlier regarding another thread which was as he said “Taken care of” eventually, and that particular thread opener was a moderator himself.
I am just concern where Cafe is going.
I NEVER said it’s a forum for kids only. I would repeat what I said earlier
Either implement what you say or please don’t mislead people into believing the Cafe is a family oriented forum where decent language is used.
what amkes anybody say anything isn't really any business of ours. As for discussions being clean, pretty much all swear words are automatically blanked out by the software. 'WTF' or 'faakhing' might mean something and they might not. If a mod edits these terms they will stand open to the charge of accusing someone of using bad language where that person could then claim it wasn't the case.
So in my view the mod is correct in going along with standard policy for now. If we start taking action against people on what we think they mean, then we would be on a slippery slope. Some people won't be happy with that but then some people are also quick to throw around terms like Monica and Clinton so if we start wondering what they are thinking we'd probably have to ban them for life. And none are lower in the eyes of Allah than the hypocrites.
So basically the mods in Cafe are just trying to do their jobs as best they can and some won't be happy but plenty are, so you win some you lose some :)
So you say what makes anybody say anything isn’t really any business of yours. If that’s the case I really wish I can open topics regarding the shia beliefs - questions I want to ask the shia brothers/sisters in religion forum to learn something BUT then it might turn out something else than a discussion. And the moment the moratarium says “All sectarian discussions are out of bounds, for the moment.” If I have a genuine question and if there are some people who make my thread messy and they(mods) don’t allow it saying it creates hate-mongering etc then what do i do? Can I also say to the mods there that whatever makes anybody say anything isn’t really your business. Threads are closed occasionally in there whenever there are sectarian discussions. There are people who can discuss decently but I understand some people cant’ so being a shia and not be able to discuss my beliefs with other firqs is a regret. So I do avoid opening such topics even if i got the urge to. If your theory applies to all the forums then :k: I can go ahead and open topics - what others say is not my concern and mods shouldn’t close them coz MY THREAD made them fight.
I understand I jumped from cafe to religion forum but hope you understand what I am trying to say.
Now back to what you say, well fine WTF can stand for something else :halo:
But how can Coconut argue what “faakhing” stands for? Anyone reading it can make out what he is saying. If you say …* As for discussions being clean, pretty much all swear words are automatically blanked out by the software.* then wouldn’t people resort to other spellings? WTF is arguable but how about “faakhing”
I am not trying to pick on anyone. Understand that I am a guardian and I don’t want my little bro coming to me and saying look what disgusting forums you are going to look what this person wrote etc. AGAIN
Indeed there are lots of things to learn on GS, as I said before I just wanted things here to be clean :-/
If your threads refers to nothing why do you worry what Monica and Clinton refer to. They are not bad terms and are just peoples name. ( I believe you are referring to your story that you wrote.)
I do agree with this though And none are lower in the eyes of Allah than the hypocrites.
Forget about some guppies I am surprised why even mods can make things more bitter. Allah knows best what is peoples heart and WHAT they refer to when they say/write something
I will just leave with this saying from Hazrat Ali(AS)
“Be afraid of your own anger because out of the armies of Satan man’s anger is its strongest force”
The sectarian issue is another topic so I am not going to address it. You seem to be missing the point with regard to profane language. If someone uses a term like 'faakhing' we might know what the person means but taking legislative action against a word that doesn't exist is a tricky matter. What if that person turns round and says he meant faking? And do you see me demanding action against people who use Monica and Clinton? All I did was point out that if we DID take action against what we THINK are people's intentions well some people might get banned quicker than others.
So the rules seem pretty fair to me. And that's all we are doing, applying the rules as they stand. When and if the rules are changed we can apply them differently.
Re, language - Mods will try to remove gaali galoch from posts. Waise tau ppl should be mature enough to use decent language, lekin agar logo ko help ki zaroorat hai tau fine.
Secretarian issue is another topic BUT I was just trying to apply your theory what makes anybody say anything isn’t really any business of ours. Maybe you don’t get it. If your theory is right can it also be applied to religion forum and not just Cafe or others?
So “faakhing snow” can mean “faking snow” hmmm I need to learn some english lesson in pronounication/spelling or something. Chota bhaiya ko bhe batana paray ga kay it MIGHT have meant faking. :halo: ** And do you see me demanding action against people who use Monica and Clinton?** Neither have I gone after people who make up stories which seem to relate so much to guppies since as I am told that it might be my perception only. shrugs Monica and Clinton are people’s NAME while “faakhing” if you read resembles you-know-what.
As I said earlier **As for discussions being clean, pretty much all swear words are automatically blanked out by the software. ** then wouldn’t it be likely people might resort to other spellings. Now it will be up to the mod to think whether it resembles indecent words or not.
What I wanted to say I have said, you can keep on saying “faakhing” mean something else and I will insist it resembled an indecent word and the thread itself bolded all the “F” was not a good sight. And you can keep on saying what makes anybody say anything isn’t really any business of ours.
The thing is I thought as per the rules one should always keep in mind that it’s a family forum while selecting words and gestures to express yourself with regards to the thread, in Cafe, I mentioned earlier.
When I saw these two threads it made me wonder what family forum actually meant. Can you define what “family forum” actually means? Where do you draw the line - when people have gone too far into discussions that it resembles corner room material?
When people can discuss what was on a celebrity breast etc phir yeh “family forum” and plenty of younger members kee baat kahan say a jatee hai?
LH, as I said, gaali galoch will be removed from GS forums. If we miss a post or two you're welcome to contact the mod. Be clear, tell him/her exactly what you're complaining about and wait for their action.
Don't expect mods to assume what other might be thinking, theek.
*Originally posted by Mr Xtreme: *
As far as the Janet Jackson story it could be a valid complaint that it's not suitable for Family forum so it has been moved to Review.
It needed to go to 3 pages to realise that...
*Originally posted by Mr Xtreme: *
As far as 'faakhing' and other variations, there isn't any policy on non-words as has already been explained.
Thus if anyone is saying something indecent with different spelling but same pronunciations is still okay.
*Originally posted by sabah: *
LH, as I said, gaali galoch will be removed from GS forums. If we miss a post or two you're welcome to contact the mod. Be clear, tell him/her exactly what you're complaining about and wait for their action.
Don't expect mods to assume what other might be thinking, theek.
I guess that's all, right.
Saba
With reference to F thread I didn't PM the mod s coz they were taking part in it themselves thus it meant they werent' concerned where it was going. So I opened a thread here for an Admin to reply on.
My point has been clear bolding the Fs lead to some indecent words. Rules are that guppies should always keep in mind that it's a family forum while selecting words and gestures to express themself with regards to the thread in Cafe. That's where I find there's something wrong.
[Any kid reading that thread will NOT mistake what WTF means and what "faakhing" means. ] <---And this I am not assuming. If you have to defend that go ahead defend it.
I asked for a definition of family forum but don't have the answer.
little human, just to clear any misconceptions, the letter 'f' didn't refer to any indecent words.
Next time you have a concern regarding a particular thread/post, please feel free to drop me (or my co-mods) a PM, and we'll take it from there. Thanks. :-)
*Originally posted by CareBear: *
little human, just to clear any misconceptions, the letter 'f' didn't refer to any indecent words.
Next time you have a concern regarding a particular thread/post, please feel free to drop me (or my co-mods) a PM, and we'll take it from there. Thanks. :-)
one thing confuses me here. You are making a big deal about one word 'faakhing' yet when it comes to the questionable use of Monica and Clinton by our holiest members you claim that "They are not bad terms and are just peoples name".
Don't you think this is double standards? Far from objecting to these dubious and un-family friendly comments you seem to be defending them which is strange considering you brought this thread up.
one thing confuses me here. You are making a big deal about one word 'faakhing' yet when it comes to the questionable use of Monica and Clinton by our holiest members you claim that "They are not bad terms and are just peoples name".
Don't you think this is double standards? Far from objecting to these dubious and un-family friendly comments you seem to be defending them which is strange considering you brought this thread up.
Tussi v ouie ratta lao gay asse v ouie ratta lavan gay, aie gal katthay v na pounch see
Saday nal nafrat karnay a-lay vaday javan gay
Allah janta hai kay patta sade v khani tussi likh gao gay
Enough insults from some guppies and I want to stop this discussion here before I leave. I will address what you said. Monica and Clinton are peoples name and what they mean is left on the person's mentality to interpret. Your saying in such a way as if I said that. I didn't bring this up coz an average kid probably won't go far to interpret what Clinton and Monica mean whereas an adult might. The two words don't resemble indecent words. As you put it I made "a big deal" regarding "faakhing" coz it's a Kid who told me to look at this.
Thus I can't tell him it might mean something else when the kid pronunced it to me and said look what people say.
To all others who love to assume things about me, it's NOT Anwaar NOR any other guppy who asked me to open this thread.
Strange is when someone insults me by calling names and you don't seem to notice or bother when it's in your very own thread.
Still, I want to thank the mod/admin who closed the thread, opened in Cafe, which was mocking me. Appreciate it.
Monica and Clinton are peoples name and what they mean is left on the person's mentality to interpret. Your saying in such a way as if I said that. I didn't bring this up coz an average kid probably won't go far to interpret what Clinton and Monica mean whereas an adult might. The two words don't resemble indecent words. As you put it I made "a big deal" regarding "faakhing" coz it's a Kid who told me to look at this.
Thus I can't tell him it might mean something else when the kid pronunced it to me and said look what people say.
The average kid might not interpret it but neither you or the person who said it is a kid. Yet you still claimed "They are not bad terms and are just peoples name". Why only you know. Anyway, as I said already we have a clear policy on swear words but not on 'almost swear words'. It's an issue being looked at and we'll have to consider all implications.