Family discussions & bin Laden

i don’t know if this happens in other families… laykin, for the past couple of years, i guess ever since the events in the US on 11 September 2001, discussions in my family have taken on a very definite angle. At every major family gathering jab bhi hota hai, beshak jo bhi occasion ho, the topics are fairly consistent.

i) It starts off with the latest recap of what’s been happening in Iraq (used to be Afghanistan, ab Iraq).

ii) Iss saal sai the second hottest topic was whether or not a Canadian hockey team would win the Stanley Cup. After we didn’t :o no one discusses that topic anymore :smiley: It was replaced with the Canadian elections; since those have finished, now it’s US elections. Hottest question on everyone’s lips: will Dubya lose the election? Iss topic main bahaut sai “Insha’Allah’s” pukaaray jaatay hain… Insha’Allah some scandal will happen that makes his popularity plummet; Insha’Allah Moore’s movie is watched by everyone and people vote against him; Insha’Allah he states something stupid at some international conference which lowers his global credibility (if he has any left) and that makes him look even more unpresidential at home; Insha’Allah Muslims will vote Dems this time; Insha’Allah the Dems will get their act together finally.

iii) Where is bin Laden? This is the third most popular topic.

Anyways… at the last family gathering, i was thinking about this… i am sick and tired of these topics. But is it an obsession, with desis at least if not Muslims, to talk about politics non-stop? Okay, this may sound odd coming from a political junkie, but how many family gatherings have to focus on the connections between bin Laden and the Bush family, ecetera ecetera. i do enough US govt.-bashing on gupshup, i don’t want to do it in real life too sometimes :o

Anyone else in the same boat or is my family very unique in this case? :o

And have you noticed the conspiracy theories… I bet some of them are started in similar family gatherings, then forwarded on the net and become known facts.

Anyway, lately I have been campaigning for my green :smokin: brothers, and Nadar. It really makes the discussion on US elections interesting cos most people don’t know jack about Nadar.

AhmadJee, are you going to be voting Nader (sorry i know it’s rude to ask people whom they are voting for).

If you are, you must be the first US-based Muslim i met who is voting for the greens. More respect to you :k:

(ahem if you are not, disregard my thumbs up :hehe: ) :smiley:

Nadia, you are singlehandedly responsible for polluting your family conversational time together. What is there to discuss when all of you are worried about Bush and Michael Moore? If you wana discuss something, at least discuss it with someone who (#1) at least lives in the US, and (#2) has an opposite view than that of you.

:smack: Do you not read what I write on these boards at all?! :frowning: I have been promoting Nadar since day one. sigh

And I will take that thumbs up, THANK YOU! :-p

I wonder why Sudan and suicide bombings never comes up. That is all we discuss and the taliban, GDP growth comparisons across the world, number of patents filed from South Korea, HDI figures on the rise across the world and comparisons to regions superlaced with vitriolic religious fervor, art, history, politics past and present and Heidi Klum. :flower1:

That's the problem...everyone in my immediate family thinks just like i do. i need someone who is a Conservative supporter in my family and hence are more ideologically inclined to endorse the Repubs. But no one in my family, at least not publically, thinks differently than the views outlined above. We have our differences in the extents that we blame Muslim rulers, some of us blame them more, some lay more responsibility on the lack of initiative amongst Muslims, but at the core - there is a very strong bin Laden/Bush/Saudi/re-election focus. Despite our differences: upon one thing we are all adamant...we hate the US admin.

That's the thing. i am bored of these topics...it was fun during the hockey playoffs... cuz everyone was rooting for the Cdn boys.. but the playoffs had to end some time. So that brings the focus back to the politics. i love bashing govts. on gupshup...but in family gatherings, one would like to discuss lighter topics SOMEtimes, not always.

:bummer: acha :frowning: Sorry na! i don’t check WA regularly now… except to reply in my own threads :smiley:

AhmadJee, You have earned moi respect from henceforth :smooth: