I spend an absolute bomb buying Faludas … I must drink/eat two/three a week, regardless of the weather. I’ve tried making it at home but its never turned out right when I’ve used that packet faluda mix.
Anyone have any suggestions?
I spend an absolute bomb buying Faludas … I must drink/eat two/three a week, regardless of the weather. I’ve tried making it at home but its never turned out right when I’ve used that packet faluda mix.
Anyone have any suggestions?
hmmm Sobi i never knew there was someone else on GS who sharez my luv for falooda
the only faluda recipe i know is
walk to my room
get my purse
take out money
ask my brother to get me faluda from baloch icecream which is less than 10 mins walk from my house
wait for brother to come back with faluda
and then eat it ![]()
have u ever had rose icecream btw? i dont mean to be a traitor or two timer, i mean i love faluda to the hilt, but rose icecream also occupies a great place in my heart
ever tried it?
traitor ![]()
Once you’ve had faluda, there aint no duja :nono:
Atleast your faluda place is 10 mins away … mine is a 40 minute drive :o
BTW, I tried rose icecream once but it was too sickly sweet.
im not a traitor ![]()
rose ice cream is one of the basic ingredients of faluda at the place i get falooda from as thats the ice cream they put in the falooda so rose icecream is actually a part of falooda n in the end its all abt falooda the one n only ![]()
if u ever come here, u shudnt forget to try the rose icecream at baloch icecream, khi, they make it like no one else
u r lucky its 40 mins drive away coz then u eat it less, unlike me… i mean for me i just have to think i want it and then its there ![]()
Sadi Sobi: i loooooooooove faluda since i was a kid..and i have tasted all sorts of faludas..from thela to icecream shop to restaurants in karachi while i was a teenager..and since i moved to canada i never found the same taste...they don't even know what is a proper faluda..hunh.
And yes, i dislike the falooda mixes as well..
Just try to find the thinest spaghetti/ noodles that resemble faluda from a grocery..also if you can find "tukhm-e-balanga" from a desi store..that would be great..
Boil the noodles..
Pour a little bit of milk in the glass..add a little bit of noodles..them add a bit of tukhm-e-balanga..then add a scoop of vanilla ice-cream..pour a bit of rooh afza (or rose syrup)..then add a bit of noodles..then scoop of icecream..and then rooh afza again..if you want you can add a bit of milk if you think its too thick..and then you add pistachios, cashew nuts, hazel nuts and other nuts..then you can add mix fruits (the canned ones)..like pineapple, apple etc..then if you want you can pour a little bit of condensed milk and rooh afza at the top..
Your faluda is ready..
Now i want faluda :(
It's time for me to try faluda.
*Originally posted by Femme Fatale: *
It's time for me to try faluda.
horror
you mean you havent even TRIED it yet? omg uve lived a deprived existence
No I haven't. Not the real mcCoy. Some aunty made something she called faluda at home and I didn't like it so I'm guessing it was far from bazaar ka faluda or how could I be the only one not to like it?
If I can convince the faluda maker in Baloch colony to immigrate to Chicago, I can become a millionaire in a couple of years.
Aah the Faludas of Taj Ice Cream in Bhendi Bazar, of Shalimar at mohamedali Road, the Thela wala at the cross roads of JJ hospital.
Aur Ramzan mein tou pucho he maat, every neighbourhood has a Faluda Stall.
Bombay meri Jaan.
Thankyou so much Qrius, I’m gonna try that recipe today ![]()
Qrius, I tried ur recipe on August 14th and it went down a treat. I'm gonna have to give it to my mum and ask her to perfect it - that's sure to save me afew quid!
[thumb=H]falooda16928_8411545.JPG[/thumb]
made it on Sunday evening…from packet…
had it with lots of ice and vanilla icecream ![]()
Daagh - recipe please......... :)
well mum gave me these ready made packets …one pack has custard powder and sugar and some essency thingee and the other pack has some black dots like things and seviya…
so i boil the seviya and black dottie things in water and drain the water and keep aside…then boil a pint of milk and pout the other mixture and stir for 10 mins or so…when cold, add seviya…
let it cool
add lots of crushed ice
and icecream and falooda ![]()
u know an alternative ...that is if u dont find the rose icecream ..just use plain vanialla icecream and pour rose syrup o (looks just like roafzaa) on it and it tastes the same !!
this is what my mommy uses to make em and it just rox! ![]()
what she uses is i believe rice noodles, really thin ones, from the chinese store (i will make sure of this tomorrow…err…in the morning) she has some frozen kulfi, which she makes at home from khoya i think, and she takes some crushed ice.
what she does is that she simple take a bowl, puts the noodles, then the kulfi and throw in some ice and then really sweetened milk on top, and then serve. it tastes really good.
i will confirm the exact recipe for you ![]()
*Originally posted by Qrius: *
"tukhm-e-balanga"
Its tukhm-e-langaah ( commonly called tukh malangah)
sadi sobi, i am glad that your family liked the faluda :-)
ashtray, thanks for the correction :-) everyone called it tukhm-e-balangah..even the hawkers and the hakeem sahab
Re: Faluda recipes …
---------------x-------------------
Now wait a second guys !!!,no one please kindly mess with Faluda,
Reading all the post here, suggests that Icecream is becoming a major ingredient of “Faluda”… and thats WRONG,
Ice creams was a compromise over Kulfi. and in its absence icecream is used and now becoming a vital ingredient. ![]()
But wrong is wrong !!!
True tast of Faluda comes out with KULFI only…Imagin if you like it with Icecream,what will happen to you with kulfi,![]()