Fakhruddin Ebrahim (CEC) playing hard for corrupt politicians (well actually for NS)

In an (audio) interview with BBC, Fakhru bhai said

“Supreme court’s decision will create political anarchy in the country”

and

“whats the point of giving decision after 16 years when elections are near, it will not do any good for country”
(tell u what Fakhru bhai, its never too late to serve justice…)

and

“We should forget Past. we all have made mistakes, even Supreme Court’s judges took oath on PCO”
(forget past? cool. So all criminals have to do now is to somehow hide their crime for 15 years and they are good to go)

and

“(by such decision) Supreme court has made its-self disputable”
(so now SC is disputable but before when it was delivering decision after decision against Govt, it was “free”)

No wonder PML(N) was pushing so hard for Fakhru Bhai to be ECE. All of a sudden he has problem with SC even though he was all for SC before when all of the decisions of SC were against Govt.

He said couple of days ago that “Ecleciton commission has no constitutional option to act on SC’s decision” that was understandable but coming out hard and playing for corrupt parties… :nono:

I really had respect for him and I used to think of him as a man of principles but what principle is to “forget a crime and move forward without punishing the criminals”. Whats next? if murderer is caught after 25 years, he should be left free because it was decades agao?

Re: Fakhruddin Ebrahim (CEC) playing hard for corrupt politicians (well actually for

Strange and extremely disappointing to hear all that from Fakhru bhai :frowning:

Re: Fakhruddin Ebrahim (CEC) playing hard for corrupt politicians (well actually for

btw, there goes the hopes of free-and-fair elections.

I was hoping that Fakhru Bhai can do it but seems like I was wrong...

Speaking to media representatives in Islamabad on Monday Ebrahim lauded the apex court’s ruling but said the ECP’s rules did not allow it to proceed against politicians accused of taking bribes.

I think he is right. The ECP is neither police nor court. It can act against the elected memebers of the assemblies and the Senate only once their speakers and the chairman make a request for so.

^ that was his statement and stand 2 days ago and I have said in my post

He said couple of days ago that "Ecleciton commission has no constitutional option to act on SC's decision" that was understandable

Interview that I am referring to is given to BBC today (Monday) and because its an audio interview, there are no chances of reporting misquoting him.

Honestly speaking, no elections are 'rigging free', there may be a few areas of no-rigging, but only 'few'.

Now I know why expats can't vote in the coming election :(

Ok wait till criminals are convicted , Even those who were funded by establishment later . and Zakat Chores and chanda khores .
Till than
*Sada Zardari *

It is disappointing but i think he is trying to say that he can't do much given that so much preperations are required before elections and if he starts taking actions against corrupt politicians, it could possibly delay elections.

But if he said that past is past and let's forget it then VERY disappointing.

his exact words are

"aray bhai hum sub nai hamesha ghaltiaan keen hain. Court nay nahi ghaltiaan keen PCO ka oath lai ker? Marshal-law per thappa laga ker? Aray bhai naya daur shuru karoo, purani bateen bhool jaoo, aagay daikhoo........court nai khud ko bhi controversial ker deya aur mulk main bhi controversy barha dee"

If we take out his "aray bhai", "dekho beta" and his soft accent, basically he is saying IN YOUR FACE SC. YOU TOOK OATH ON PCO TOO.

I am really disappointed.

The next term seems to be for Nawaz Sharif, the media has gone soft on him , and the election commission seems to be following suit...

Did fakhru bhai really say that? Thats disappointing to hear from such an esteemed fellow. Pakistan is full of double standards.

I agree. Just wondering if there was half of evidence against IK as there is against NS for dealing with ISI, media would be jumping all around.

Yes. Same media that goes all ga-ga against others on "alleged" cases, is almost quiet in this convicted case. If SC verdict is that money has been given, its automatically constitutes that money has been taken too. Even though I believe SC went soft on NS and other corrupt politicians too. They should have given much harder verdict against corrupt politicians too.