Faiz - A controversial interview

Re: Faiz - A controversial interview

before 1982? No my dear. No Urdu writer dared to do so till early 1980s. Till early 1980s, PTV was stuck in adaptations and translation from English. be it Qurbaten aur Faasle, teesra Kinara, Parchaiyan. serials like Shama, Shehzori talked of Urban women.

It was Noor ul Huda Shah and Abdul Qadir Junejo from Karachi TV, who came with serials like Jungle and Deewaren portraying rural Sindh's problems, and these serials were earlier telecasted in Sindhi and then re-made in urdu.

the poetry of Shah latif is almost useless to poeple of rural punjab and so is the poetry of bulleh shah to the people rural sindh

I meant each got advantages and disadvantage. I'm not expert in quantifying the impact. neither its the discussion here.

i gave you the reason and you replied to that...

You have researched on Bulleh Shah and you might know his qualifications :) Shah Latif knew knew Arabic / Persian and was very well versed with Fiqah /Hadis. His poetry contains many verses which include verses from Quran, Ahadis and sayings of scholars like Rumi. He was a musician and invented some instruments too and was expert in Raga. Sachal sarmast is known as haft zaban shayar ( poet of seven language). So this prove your claim of their illiteracy and random thoughts.

Their knowledge means nothing to modern world nor to religious community. They learnt Quran o Hadith to condemn Shariah

Just a request. discuss topic, not me, my personality or thoughts anticipation.

yes, you are right.

dekha dil ki baat zuban pe aa hi jati hai... ghalit se :)
again you are being emotional ethnically... how many novel these people worte on the issues of rural punjab?

mentioning fact is not being ethnic my dear. Its a fact that these were the first writers who bring issues of rural Sindh on national media in the form of dram only in mid 1980s. if you can prove otherwise, you are welcome to do so.

Abdul qadir Junejo wrote 'Ghar Galiyan aur Raste' dealing with problems of feudal Punjab, Noorulhuda Shah wrote 'Ajnabi Raste' raising voice against the problems of Urban lady who belonged to a feudal family. Now these are drama writers and they tried to convey problems of people they live in between.

If you are interested in a novel dealing with rural Punajb's issues, Punjabi novel 'TawaN TawaN taare' by Mansha yad and 'des huwe pardes' and ' Khas o Khashak Zamane' by Mustansar Hussain TaraR all writeen after 1980s.

PS: By no way, I'm saying that Urdu writers shown bias against the issues of problems of people living in rural areas, they could not touch these topics because trauma of partition was so strong that all famous urdu writers like Quratulain Haider, Saadat Hussain manto, Intezar Hussain, kept on repeating the stories revolving around partition. Its a natural phenomenon for a writer to convey what he / she experiences.

if we keep all this background in mind, we may not found interviewers questions biased based on hatred or for belittling Urdu and that from a Poet jiska ORhna bichona Urdu tha.

This is called division. Not knowing a language is not division. considering works of other languages writers as useless (without knowing that) is actual biasness and ethnic hatred.

For your information, Bulleh Shah's kafis when sung by Abida Parveen become part of Sindh and peopel like Abida Parveen are capable to convey message through voice and not through words.

Their knowledge means nothing to modern world nor to religious community. They learnt Quran o Hadith to condemn Shariah

This is your interpration of Sufi poetry, which we will never agree. Modern world is happy with their invention of atomic bomb, but when it comes to spirituality and sakoon, there are thousands of people in this world, who still look towards work (poetry, music) these Sufis created.

We have discussed upteen times that Sufis condemned social evils (whether promoted by culture or religion), they have never been anti-religion.

So you are implying that the answer Faiz give is a lie as your argument prove faiz wong?

"mentioning fact is not being ethnic my dear" these are your words?

For your information, Bulleh Shah's kafis when sung by Abida Parveen become part of Sindh and peopel like Abida Parveen are capable to convey message through voice and not through words.

So is about urdu poetry, there is nothing special with punjabi and sindhi poetry

This is your interpration of Sufi poetry, which we will never agree. Modern world is happy with their invention of atomic bomb, but when it comes to spirituality and sakoon, there are thousands of people in this world, who still look towards work (poetry, music) these Sufis created.

We have discussed upteen times that Sufis condemned social evils (whether promoted by culture or religion), they have never been anti-religion.

what a contradiction. They condemn social evils promoted by religion and they have never been anti religion..... think about it again!

There is always a place for difference of opinion in every field and as far as the literature is concerned we got a specific genre called 'Tanqeed - Criticism'. Only those writers and poets attracts critics, who got some substance in their writings.

Having said the above, if two persons observed different sides of a coin and state their experience that doesn't mean that they are calling each other liars. Faiz Saheb expressed his point of view, but that was not harf e aakhir, we readers of literature got a right to express our opinion and observation and this by no way is disrespect to writer like Faiz. I'm sure, Faiz had appreciated this approach. :)

Yes i agree the being disagree with someone does not means you disrespect...
but both arguments are mutually exclusive, your argument is clearly otherwise.

I want you answer, was faiz wrong or not when he said that Urdu addressed the other classes as well? where as you said that Urdu didnt addressed any other class till that interview

Its not fact that for all Sindhis poetry of Bulleh Shah, Waris Shah and Sultan Bahoo is useless because they don't understand Punjabi. If a person can understand can understand only 20% of Shah Latif's poetry in Sindhi, he can understand Punjabi Sufi poetry to a great extent. Both languages got huge common vocabulary. One just need to have a little grip of one language to understand the other language.

tooti phooti Punajbi te main vi bol leya haan:D

So is about urdu poetry, there is nothing special with punjabi and sindhi poetry

Its not about language, its about topics of poetry. As I already asked, bring me Urdu poetry that talks of rural issues or touch the thought of people living in those areas. Todate ' Aj kala joda paa sadi farmesh te' get more audience in rural Pakistan then 'Bol ke lab azad hai tere'. The problem is again not with the langauge, obviously Faiz's kalam got depth and before his poetry, poetry like 'aj kala joRa pa' is nothing more than a timepass. :)

what a contradiction. They condemn social evils promoted by religion and they have never been anti religion..... think about it aga

They talked against casteism, social inequalities, looters on the name of religion which was construed against religion.

Which religion promotes looters and castetism (Syed / Non Syed, etc), it was the prevalent interpretation of religion against which Sufis raised their voice.

I gave you my observation. If I was interviewing Faiz, I must have presented this to him and ask for his view against mine. You are free to quote me works of Urdu writers who covered problems of rural Pakistan (before 1980s).

ok, from now on one of you is wrong on this, as Faiz would not answer you from his grave...

There is nothing like answering from graves, but Faiz saheb's works are evident that he was not prejudiced against any language himself. He was one of the person who convinced Shaikh Ayaz to translate Shah Latif's poetry in Urdu.

what this post has to do with your argument against faiz's that Urdu didnt address the issues of people other then one class?

I quoted you Urdu literature written till 1980s covering urban class and you probably missed my post where I mentioned possible reason behind this (writers trauma of partition and the issues they faced in settlement). Now Its upto you to bring me examples of Urdu literature dealing with rural Pakistan (without labeling interviewer, myself or anyother person as belittling Urdu).

and i wanted you asnwer this that faiz was wrong or not, and that implies intentions of belittling urdu against you local language

A single person doesn't represent a language. This is equal to same claim as some people say/ believe that Altaf Hussain = Urdu speaking community.

I don't think that Faiz was wrong, but he didn't come up with proper examples how Urdu literature of that time had covered all classes of society. The interviewer should have courage to counter argue, but as mentioned in the article it was his first major interview and he was being sent without taking the interview by the lady who arranged the interview, so the poor fellow might have compromised in raising such questions.

PS: Where did I say that Urdu literature was of lower class or something like that in my posts. Did I say Urdu is incapable to cover any topic or any issue related to any class? If that had been my intention, I would not have quoted Urdu works which catered rural class, post 1980.

diplomatic answer... I would rather say its a contradiction...

diplomacy is not equal to hypocrisy :)

I supported my views with examples and open to hear anything contradictory (but with examples).

Again contradiction, you give the orhterwise argument that is against the view of Faiz. How can we believe this "real" appreciation for Faiz?

Faiz himself said 'Bol ke lab azad hain tere', so I got my separate view on certain issues than Faiz. Is it anything wrong in it?

leken aap k labon ko kia huwa hai phir, keh dain, Faiz was wrong, soul of Faiz would not mind...