Re: Fair and handsome cream? Do you know anyone who uses it?
See in Pakistan and other Asian countries...the fairness industry is huge. Who doesn't want to be fair over there?
Here...we have the tanning industry that seems to be obsessed with making people dark and as golden brown as possible.
Its ALL in your head buddy...the day you think you're awesome...so will others. Don't just think it...believe it and live it.
True. I do think I'm awesome. If only the older generation didn't carry that asian mentality with them. Even people here talk about being fair. My sisters are obsessed with fairness cream. They are way fairer than me and talk about wanting to be fair. It's like an able bodied person telling someone whose legs don't work I wish I could run faster. There's no sensitivity. When they were younger I used to straighten their hair when they wanted me to but where is the sensitivity now.
I have to admit with non non desi and some desi girls I do feel like I'm quite awesome and colour is nothing. White girls prefer dark boys. I was wondering if this trend was visible in fair desi girls and if darker desi girls prefer white boys. The whole opposites attract thing.
Does anyone else think that the title Fair and Handsome sounds worse than Fair and Lovely...like cheezier....and sadder?
well cheesy it is but apart from handsome what else could they make it.
It should be fair and beautiful lol or fair and pretty for all the pretty boys out there.
Darker skin, in general, ages better than lighter skin. Have you seen Black people who are like 80 and don't look a day above 40. Appreciate this about your skin.
How much lighter do you wanna be? Michael Jackson lighter? Cuz that will just draw negative attention to you.
Or even if you want to 1-2 shades lighter.....do you realize you'll have to maintain it because the sun and age will darken skin. So if you apply ubtan or Fair and Handsome or other bleaching agents like honey/milk....you will have to apply them with regularity and wear sunscreen each time you go out. If you opt for chemical peels ...they make your skin even more sensitive to the sun so sunblock is a must. You have to keep up with it...and it can be hassle.
The people who are criticizing you right now tor things beyond your control won't quit if you become fair. You can bet on them making remarks down the road about your receding hairline, weight gain, gray hair, etc and they won't let you down. I'm telling you from personal experience..because I've encountered people like that..even among family.
The next time your parents or cousins make remarks about your skin color...tell them to take up your skin color with Allah the one who created you and while they're at it, they should pray to Him for some class and consideration for others. Shut them up that way; Sometimes it works.
Thanks you. You bring up some good points. I will raise it with people who talk of my skin colour. The usual answer is what will people say, you'll stick out and think of the kids and what they'll face. I appreciate the benefits and thanks for reminding me. I am grateful Allah has given me good skin and working body.
I just want to be normal brown sanwala rang and though I'm good at maintaining my skin I'm not sure how consistent id be. I'd only want natural because of side effects.
You're right people never stop complaining. With my parents the main issue is career the rest is just an excuse to make me realise I'm not going anywhere
Does anyone else think that the title Fair and Handsome sounds worse than Fair and Lovely...like cheezier....and sadder?
It actually sounds saddddd...I picture a very feminine looking man.
True. I do think I'm awesome. If only the older generation didn't carry that asian mentality with them. Even people here talk about being fair. My sisters are obsessed with fairness cream. They are way fairer than me and talk about wanting to be fair. It's like an able bodied person telling someone whose legs don't work I wish I could run faster. There's no sensitivity. When they were younger I used to straighten their hair when they wanted me to but where is the sensitivity now.
I have to admit with non non desi and some desi girls I do feel like I'm quite awesome and colour is nothing. White girls prefer dark boys. I was wondering if this trend was visible in fair desi girls and if darker desi girls prefer white boys. The whole opposites attract thing.
The older generation will. I've seen older ladies compliment one sibling who is light over the other who is dark...and not very dark either...just darker than their fair sibling. These were little girls no more than 5 and 3 years old...but they heard it and felt it. I saw it with my own eyes. Its horrible but it represents a sickness in our society and once you recognize that its a sickness and NOT a flaw within you...you'll be fine. For someone to consider anyone less because of their skin color is WRONG. And if you allow that to get to you and change yourself because of their mentality - you're not helping. You've validated their ideas.
People - fair or not - can always be better. You don't have to compensate. I don't work on aspects of myself to compensate for my skin tone...I actually enjoy it. Find your strengths and let them shine. Your qualifications, your health, your physique, your hair, personal grooming, etc etc etc.
What?! your not that dark and its not neccessarily true some of my light friends prefer dark skinned guys and some of my dark skinned friends have to have a light skinned not all dark skinned girls prefer dark skinned guys and vice versa dont obsess over something so trivial your now talkings about how you wish you had lighter skin where there are people who have burnt faces and disfigured skin and would do anything to get skin like yours. Sooner or later the trend will die out and something else will be fashionable; i know in middle eastern countries things that were very fashionable like paler skin, straight hair and curvy figures are now all a dying trend the same will happen in pakistan and all over the world so try not to let other people Standards rule your life set your own standards and goal on everything including image.
Pcormac, don't listen to these hypocrite girls. Their blogs are full of how they die for Jason this and Justin that. They won't touch you with a ten feet pole if you're not within three shades of what Michael Jackson looked like before he died.
Go for fair and handsome and hand me some. Always remember the ever wise Junaid Jamshed who once said - goray rung da zamana, kabhi ho ga naa purana.
It actually sounds saddddd...I picture a very feminine looking man.
The older generation will. I've seen older ladies compliment one sibling who is light over the other who is dark...and not very dark either...just darker than their fair sibling. These were little girls no more than 5 and 3 years old...but they heard it and felt it. I saw it with my own eyes. Its horrible but it represents a sickness in our society and once you recognize that its a sickness and NOT a flaw within you...you'll be fine. For someone to consider anyone less because of their skin color is WRONG. And if you allow that to get to you and change yourself because of their mentality - you're not helping. You've validated their ideas.
People - fair or not - can always be better. You don't have to compensate. I don't work on aspects of myself to compensate for my skin tone...I actually enjoy it. Find your strengths and let them shine. Your qualifications, your health, your physique, your hair, personal grooming, etc etc etc.
It could have been worse..could have been fair and pretty boy or something else. I agree though it is a sad name. How masculine should a guy be in looks to be seen as attractive to women. Like having a square angular jaw, well defined brow ridge, broad shoulders and copious hair. Interesting question one can ask. Apparently it changes with reproductive cycle. When women are fertile or looking short term they preferred more masculine men at most fertile time of menstrual cycle than at times of low fertility when they prefer more feminine faces :)
Thanks for the advice. You're right I should not accept it but own the colour of my skin and be proud about it when i'm around desis as well as non desis. When im with non desis the white guys and girls say compliments about me. When im around desis i forget all that. It's good to keep in mind. Thanks for reminding me what is important. To talk about my hair and personal grooming can i make some threads here on male fashion and beauty. For physique i will make thread on health and fitness thread. I need to appreciate my strengths and only think of things that are unnatural and are worth changing. That does not include my smooth dark brown skin.
What?! your not that dark and its not neccessarily true some of my light friends prefer dark skinned guys and some of my dark skinned friends have to have a light skinned not all dark skinned girls prefer dark skinned guys and vice versa :) dont obsess over something so trivial your now talkings about how you wish you had lighter skin where there are people who have burnt faces and disfigured skin and would do anything to get skin like yours. Sooner or later the trend will die out and something else will be fashionable; i know in middle eastern countries things that were very fashionable like paler skin, straight hair and curvy figures are now all a dying trend the same will happen in pakistan and all over the world so try not to let other people Standards rule your life set your own standards and goal on everything including image.
I guess skin can be darker. Compare Ali Zafar and that skin's colour, which one do you think most girls will choose if all else was same and Ali wasn't famous. It's this identity thing. People think if you're dark you can't be Pakistani you must be a foreigner. You're totally right i should be grateful Allah(swt) has given me all my limbs and a normal body with no disfigurements.
I have heard middle eastern girls are quite open minded about skin colour and have some dark skinned guys dating arab girls so things are changing.
When i'm with white people they compliment my skin and body so i don't feel any reason to change. When i'm with desis who are obsessed with fair skin i start to get ideas. Like these threads have been good but some comments reinforced the whole white is superior thing. If you go to the rishta thread so many guys are like i want a fair girl. I mean seriously? wth. its all relative. Some girls are picky as well wanting particular height guy and a guy with wheatish complexion.
i guess u were born brown so u cant change it.. its natural chill... develope self confidence n jus be urself
Sahi kaha and actually main khush hoon iss rang se. Badalne ki zaroorat nahi. It has made me more sensitive to other people who are outsiders, made me realize what girls go through and i know when a girl likes me it will definitely be for more than my skin color
Pcormac, don't listen to these hypocrite girls. Their blogs are full of how they die for Jason this and Justin that. They won't touch you with a ten feet pole if you're not within three shades of what Michael Jackson looked like before he died.
Go for fair and handsome and hand me some. Always remember the ever wise Junaid Jamshed who once said - goray rung da zamana, kabhi ho ga naa purana.
ameen to that brother. Woh larkiyan jo goray logon ke peeche bhag thi hai don't know that lot of goray guys want to be dark. They also have issues with pale pasty skin. What about the desi girls who like african american singers.
nahi yaar MJ kuch zyaada ho jayega.
haha i'll have to turn up my charm in other ways then.
Junaid ne uss song ke baad sequel likha tha sanwali saloni (or sanwala salona). I liked that better. Gora rang ka zamana tha 1990s-2000s GB ke saath ab Obama ke baad kaala rang ka zamana hai :) lol
if i do threads on male fashion and beauty will you comment TLK bro? You seem in the know.
I guess skin can be darker. Compare Ali Zafar and that skin's colour, which one do you think most girls will choose if all else was same and Ali wasn't famous. It's this identity thing. People think if you're dark you can't be Pakistani you must be a foreigner. You're totally right i should be grateful Allah(swt) has given me all my limbs and a normal body with no disfigurements.
I have heard middle eastern girls are quite open minded about skin colour and have some dark skinned guys dating arab girls so things are changing.
When i'm with white people they compliment my skin and body so i don't feel any reason to change. When i'm with desis who are obsessed with fair skin i start to get ideas. Like these threads have been good but some comments reinforced the whole white is superior thing. If you go to the rishta thread so many guys are like i want a fair girl. I mean seriously? wth. its all relative. Some girls are picky as well wanting particular height guy and a guy with wheatish complexion.
Only recently when someone very close to me got ill i began relising how silly it is to obsess over look and other things which is why i said that. If you go visit say a hospital/ orphanage you will begin to relise how lucky you are :) . Your right in the middle east skin colour doesn't really pop up when asking about a girl or boy to get and engagement only beauty lol. i've never heard people in the middle east asking for light skin which may be why. Plus the people who are picky about your skin colour are probably not the right people for you. In islam it says the partner of a person for marriage is chosen by god as the people who are born into this world are chosen by god so who there parents are are chosen by god as well. So no point thinking about if you ex fiances because god has already written who you will marry and the amount of children you will have.